We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great german food n nice little store” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oma's Haus Restaurant

Oma's Haus Restaurant
541 S State Hwy 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130-2840
(830) 625-3280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great german food n nice little store”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great food I was a little scared at first to try new foods but thank goodness I did. It was amazing. The dip was great along with the schnitzel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    23
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Hearty and Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It may not be an authentic German Brat but that does not matter to me. Texas knows how to make great sausage too. I had the "Grilled Sausage Sampler" (Bratworst, Knockworst and Smoked Sausage). I washed it down with a pilsner and a sideorder of potato pancakes w/applesauce and I was a very happy man. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. A second pilsner came rather quickly. They have five different kinds of strudel. The strudel was a great end to a hearty satisfying meal. Now if you could have knocked off $2-$3 dollars off the entree and put prices on the menu II would have given Oma's Haus Restaurant 5 STARS. I do not get to the hill country that often for business but when I do, I'd come back for the same meal and strudel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“If you like roaches ....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We left hurriedly after several large roaches were spotted, pointed out to the staff, and receiving only a shrug.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still stuffed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great German food and atmosphere. We selected the family style for 4 people and were served enormous amounts. Friendly staff. Red cabbage, veal, pork, sausage, various potato dishes all very tasty. Not long of a wait (10 min?) and the place was packed. Glad we went and would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love the strudel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had already eaten lunch somewhere else, but we stopped by on our way home to pick up some whole strudels. Some of the best strudel we've ever had, and this time we got to meet & thank the nice lady that made it. We've eaten here in the past, Jaeger Schnitzel was my dinner choice and it was always good. Next time we'll try and get here for a meal too, not just the strudel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oma's Haus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oma's Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oma's Haus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.