We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Haus Restaurant

Alpine Haus Restaurant
251 South Seguin Ave, btwn San Antonio & E Coll, New Braunfels, TX 78130
+1 830-214-0205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For a fine dining experience, come to Alpine Haus Restaurant, in New Braunfels, Texas. We specialize in Bavarian style cooking with influences from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. All the traditional Schnitzels, Rinder Rouladen, Sauerbraten, Rinder Goulash , Schweinebraten, Huhnerbrust Geschnetzeltes, and of course many different sausages round out a diverse menu. We also offer an extensive collection of German beers and wine with pairing information to help you make the best complimentary selection for your meal. Bring your friends and family to our restaurant for amazing food and an authentic German experience, located in a 164-year-old historic building in the heart of downtown New Braunfels.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I travel often and we love to find great food of good quality, and atmosphere (helps) all at a reasonable price. We also realize that you get what you pay for so we are not necessarily looking for the “cheapest” place to eat. This restaurant is a European jewel set in Texas hill country. I had the sausage sampler it was served with split pea soup and German potato salad all simply prepared and delicious. My husband had the veal Weiner schnitzel served w/ German fried potatoes and a dinner salad. We each had a different scrumptious German beer and we finished our meal with one of the most delicious desserts we have ever had the Black Forrest Cake. Everything freshly prepared in-house. If you make it to New Braunfels do not skip this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    26
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Went for weiner schnitzel, but no veal available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Family of 5 ate there in June 2013. Excellent service, prices good, food good, but they had NO VEAL. We were 1 hour from the end of lunch hour; they were also serving that evening. Seems odd to have run out. We had chosen them specifically because they had veal on the menu

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA ROCHELLE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SOUS CHEF IS IN LOVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In the folks german it means that the Chef has oversalted the soup. In this case the gravies on both the rolladen and pork roast. In two meals that were better than most this was the only let down. The rolladen were as good as Grossmutter made but the dumplings were a bit flowery and lacked consistency. The sauce which could have been great was over shadowed by the high salt level. HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE FOLKS BEWARE!
The pork roast were slices from a pale loin which created a blaw over salted pale sauce when it should have come from a browned roast.
The mature matronly service staff was charming and efficient, atmosphere
delightful, prices civil, wine list lacking a good crisp dry white but adequate.
Now if the sauce chef will get divorced and lay off the salt it could be great.
Danke Schoen

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've only had German food once before, and were not really fans, but decided to give this restaurant a try based on the wonderful reviews, and are very glad we did. Everything was wonderful, we all ordered something different, and ended up sharing everything to get a taste of it all.
We did call and make a reservation just to be sure there we no issues when we got there. It wasn't busy, and the hostess didn't even check out reservation, but it's probably a good idea to go ahead and call ahead just to be sure. (we arrived just 7pm on a Thursday).
While everything says 'fine dining experience', we found it to be a casual dining dining atmosphere. Jeans are perfectly acceptable.
The building was small, and sits off farther back than the rest of its neighbors on Seguin street, and we ended up missing it on the first pass. There is plenty of parking behind the neighboring law office (next to restaurant).
We weren't sure what to order, but everything we got was wonderful.
We had:
Rahm Schnitzel - chicken. Schnitzel topped with sour cream gravy. DELICIOUS. perfectly cooked, wonderful taste, with sauerkraut and German potato salad.
Hühnerbrust Geschnetzeltes - Sautéed chicken breast in a spinach cream sauce, with Spätzle and red cabbage. This dish is perfect. The red cabbage is to die for. We weren't sure what "Spätzle" was but it seems to be like small dumplings, like chubby pasta. It was delicious.
Sausage Platter - Bratwurst and Knackwurst, with potato salad and red cabbage, with spicy mustard. Also wonderful.
The red cabbage all by itself was great, the sauerkraut was quite strong, and we decided to try mixing things, and were amazed by how perfectly they both mixed with everything we had. I don't think they were meant to be condiments, but it was sooooo good.
For desert we had one of everything:
Black Forest Cake, Apple Strudel, and Alpine Delight - Pecan crust pie filled with chocolate and topped with wipped cream.We all shared a taste of each desert, just to be sure weren't missing out and I'd be hard pressed to choose just one of these. Though if i HAD to rank them it would be the Delight first, then the Strudel, followed by the cake. All very rich and satisfying.
We also had 2 bottled Dr Peppers, iced tea, and 2 glasses of Schmitt Söhne Spätlese wine.
All of this and the total bill was $88. (2 adults and a teen). Not cheap dining, but an excellent value for the fine quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No reservation, still received excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

At first, when we arrived, we were told there were no spots available because we didn't have reservations. When the lady saw how disappointed we were, she went back and asked the chef/owner if they could squeeze us in, he said yes and they sat us down. Our server was quick and timely with our order and our food was delicious. Highly recommend the knackwurst, the zigeuner schnitzel, and the alpine delight!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Haus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Haus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.