We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hidden find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Oak Bakery

The Red Oak Bakery
596 S. Castell Ave., New Braunfels, TX
+1 830-214-6911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $50
Cuisines: Organic, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Description: We are a 100% dedicated gluten free bakery serving sweet and savory goods, handcrafted from local, Organic and sustainably raised ingredients. Every item is made from scratch and in house. We take great care in sourcing ingredients from facilities dedicated to protecting consumers from cross contamination. Our goods are made from minimally processed and whole food ingredients, guaranteeing that your sweet or savory treat is safe, wholesome and most importantly delicious.We serve locally roasted Organic, Fair Trade French press process coffee as a complement to our baked items. Also serving Organic, Fair Trade loose leaf teas and Buddha's Brew Kombucha.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Awesome hidden find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I try and eat gluten free as much as possible and decided to give Red Oak Bakery a try for our morning coffee and pastries. The food is amazing, the bakery very warming and welcoming and the staff incredibly friendly. If we were given a blindfold test, I'm not sure I could tell the difference between these treats and a regular pastry. The coffee was very good - french press. We even went back Sunday morning for a second time to get something for the road, but unfortunately they were closed. We will definitely make this a regular morning stop on our trips to New Braunfels.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great place. Come early, because often the sale out. I almost tried everything. My office is only half a block from this bakery.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes-- like the real thing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is a godsend for someone like me, who has celiac disease but LOVES baked goods. It is a dedicated facility meaning absolutely no gluten even enters the building. I’ve sampled all of their cupcakes, a few of their scones, their OJ cake, and a chocolate cookie. The cupcakes were out of this world good—I almost couldn’t believe they were gluten free. The scones were pretty good, and the OJ cake was FANTASTIC. The only thing that wasn’t up to par was the cookie with nuts in it. It was dry and kind of lacked flavor. But the cupcakes more than make up for any shortfalls of that cookie. The flavors are so intense and perfectly balanced—coconut and lime, chocolate fudge and chili, even the vanilla one was outrageously good. I will continue to go here on the weekends (I think they’re closed Monday-Wednesday) and support a local bakery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
“Red Oak Bakery is one of a kind, no other can compare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When you experience the ambience of this quaint, old fashioned bakery with a flare of old world ingenuity and new age thinking, you realize this is your last stop for "gluten free" breads, pastries and desserts. The quality of these "gems," the organic all-natural ingredients used surpasses any other bakery. Even if you are not glucose intolerant, you can't pass up the Red Oak Bakery experience. If you aren't familiar with specialty pastries and desserts, the owners will teach you. They bake fresh daily and to your order. The prices are perfectly matched with each item on their menu. Fresh organic coffee. Be prepared to enjoy your goodies either inside the bakery or outside at a table under the old red oak tree. You will leave with a good feeling inside, for many reasons :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My daughter found this and we made a special trip for breakfast as she is gluten intolerant. They are very friendly and accommodating and all of their selections were great. Also a positive is they are reasonable considering it is speciality items.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Oak Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Red Oak Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Oak Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.