We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day with the Grand kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animal World and Snake Farm Zoo

Animal World and Snake Farm Zoo
5640 IH S, New Braunfels, TX 78132
830-608-9270
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two Attractions, One Admission:Mountain Lion CubsExciting Croc & Alligator ShowPetting ZooWorld's Largest RodentEndangered PrimatesMost Dangerous Snake in the WorldBirds of the WorldCarnivore Feeding ShowRattlesnake PitConcession StandGift ShopAnd much more!!Check web site for showtimes, vary according to season.
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Day with the Grand kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

it was much better than it used to be years ago, though the youngest (5 year old grand daughter) was tired from the activity of the day before freaked out at the petting zoo (the goats scared her). We loved watching the hyenas, wolfdogs and cerval feeding on the frozen rats. Can't wait to see the coming attractions!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    25
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of animals, getting better with new owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I really think the new owners love the animals and want to do the right thing. All the staff seemed genuinely loving and proud of the efforts to make this a better place. Snakes were interesting, hyenas, crocs, zebra, other reptiles. My kids loved it. Gift shop nice too. For those complaining about the 9.95 adult admission- seriously? That's cheap for any place that has this many animals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Strange place but interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great for kids and reptile enthusiasts. The Rattlers kind of freak me out but its still pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Educational and fun for the whole family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have taken my children here plenty of times over the years. They have tons of snakes and many other animals as well. Some new owners took over a few years ago and they are working to improve the place and make the animal enclosures better, which I appreciate. There are certain times of the day when they will bring out an animal and tell you all about it. When we went last week, they brought out a huge albino python and at the end of their little educational bit they let you come up and hold it or pet it and take pictures. With the python though, it took 10 children to hold it! The kids loved it and they really like the petting zoo too!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Children will enjoy the petting zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just went this weekend and had fun. There were a variety of animals and plenty of snakes. Many of the snakes hide in their cages but that could be for a variety of reasons.

The petting zoo had plenty of goats and hogs, all of which I enjoyed feeding. Pick up a coupon for free feed bags at the nearby hotels and rest stops, like Buc-ee's.

Seeing hyenas, wolves and bison in Texas was exciting. Being in Texas, they were longhorns around as well. Many exotic birds also were around and roaming around.

Who knows? You may even catch warthogs fighting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animal World and Snake Farm Zoo also viewed

New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Animal World and Snake Farm Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animal World and Snake Farm Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.