We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE UP RIVER ROAD CAMP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up The River Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Up The River Camp
Save
You added Up The River Camp to your Saves list
8690 River Road, New Braunfels, TX 78132 (Formerly Rainbow Camp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE UP RIVER ROAD CAMP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I just love this place. Michelle, who is awesome and builds a relationship with her campus guest that go on a regular month, wasn't not there this weekend but her staff was fantastic, as always!
I LOVE THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: All campsite here are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is very clean the service was excellent the store was very well-stocked the karaoke was great entertainment and the floating was wonderful great variety of things to do on the campsite and the people that work there are very friendly and very knowledgeable of the area

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first visit. My wife and I managed to get a spot for our camper and our daughter and son-in-law camped next to us in a tent. It was Memorial Day weekend, so it was VERY crowded, and we felt like our neighbors were on top of us. The other campers overall were well behaved and the staff were very nice and helpful under the circumstances. At night, the entrance gates were locked, which made us feel safe. Unfortunately, it rained several times during our stay, which made the campsite a muddy mess and basically ruined much of the weekend. Out of the three days we were there, only one was decent enough to hang out by the lake. While the weather is obviously not the campground's fault, perhaps some gravel needs to be laid down over the site to help minimize the mud when it rains. Simply walking to the restrooms was enough to have mud excessively caked to our shoes. My wife had to wear plastic HEB bags over her sandals just to get around. The mess effectively ruined the experience, particularly for those in tents. The community bathroom stalls had curtains that did not provide much privacy and the stalls were not the cleanest, considering the holiday crowd (someone drank too much alcohol and barfed on one of the commodes, others took massive dumps and didn't bother to flush afterwards, etc.) I chose to use the more private stalls by the campsite's shop, which thankfully was kept relatively clean. It surprised and disappointed us that they charged for the use of the showers. That's an amenity we felt should have been covered by the cost of the site. I understand this is a business, and they're obviously there to make money, but it felt too cramped with so many campers so close to each other. While this may be a nice campground on less crowded days, I would not recommend staying here on crowded holiday weekends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelle P, Owner at Up The River Camp, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have no control on the weather, but we do try to control the issues the weather brings. Our camp sites are the same size as all other camp grounds. Due to the fact you put a trailer and tent with two vehicles is why you felt crowded. And of course it was Memorial Weekend. Also, we monitor our restrooms every hour to make sure they are cleaned and stocked with paper. As for as the showers, we charge a minimal amount to control the usage of the water. We appreciated your comments and we strive to be the best, family friendly and clean campsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been going to this campground for 20 years through 5 owners. I was shocked by some of the previous reviews. The owners are wonderful, We book a minimum of 3 weekends a year and often more, Every year they are trying to update and improve the camp. The restrooms are clean. They do promote family values and unfortunately it is sometimes hard to control the crowd especially on holiday weekends but believe me they will come down and they will call the cops if campers get out of hand. My kids and grandbabies come every year and it has become a family tradition. We would like to encourage more families and let the rowdy kids go down the road to Mountain Breeze which caters to the younger crowd. You'll love he mountain goats that come down about 9 am every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The place is clean with excellent river access (Great Fishing Spot) and good facilities. The staff are really pleasant and very helpful. We come to the Guadalupe River a couple of times a year and usually stay at a different camp each time, this was our first stay with Up The River Camp but we will definitely be coming back and making this our regular camp site.
Overall, this is a nice peaceful spot for couples/ families. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This is by far one of the best campsites we have ever stayed at. The views were exquisite, the owners were friendly and accommodating. We stayed here in a travel trailer with a toddler and two dogs. Full hookups available! Internet at certain places on the site! Not good Verizon cellular service. Next door is a charming bird that wakes you up in the mornings and likes to snuggle! Great fishing, billy goats that climb the canyon, and fun times in the river! We had Thanksgiving here. Very thankful for such a special experience! Could not have done better anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

When I read the reviews I was hesitant to stay here BUT, I decided to make a reservation and decide on my own. My husband, 2 grandchildren, daughter, son in law and I went and enjoyed the stay. We had a shady spot and could see the river from our campsite. The people at the front desk were very friendly and really helped. The neighbors around us were also friendly. The park was clean and the bathrooms were clean. You can expect some noise because you are on the river and people were enjoying themselves. It was not excessive. We sat in our lawn chairs on the river and enjoyed swimming, floating and just watching our grandchildren play. Oh, as far as tubes are concerned, you did have to rent the tubes here but that was not a problem and I did not here the "F" word the entire time I was there. I do believe that the more families come to this camp the better it will be. Discouraging them from coming will only hurt the camp. We had a great time and will return again. I do hope other families will take the time to visit and enjoy this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Up The River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up The River Camp

Address: 8690 River Road, New Braunfels, TX 78132 (Formerly Rainbow Camp)
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground on the Guadalupe with cabins, RV's and a house that sleeps 11. River Outfitter with kayaks, rafts and tubes, convenience / camp store for all your needs and karaoke on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Camp Hotel New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up The River Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.