We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar

The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar
1612 Hunter Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3006
830-606-0093
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had the "Jalapano Wine" and it was very interesting. I must say this place is very cozy and they have a very decent selection of wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Mb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced wine! Buy elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were staying in the Gruene area and stopped at The Grapevine for their wine tasting. The bartender was very pleasant and offered 3 free tastings. They had a table with wine marked down to 50% off. I selected the only bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand but there was no price tag on the bottle. The bartender swiped the UPC code but questioned the price that was shown. So he took the bottle to the owner who was in her office. She came out and picked up a red bottle of wine from the table, scanned it, and said all the wines were $25 so the selling price would be 50% off of that amount. I should have questioned this sales tactic. The next day I learned that the retail price of this particular bottle was $13 and that was likely the price that showed up on the register! This shop has unconscionable business practices so I agree with the previous reviewer who suggested buying your wine at HEB.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for a taste - but buy the wine at HEB...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Love this place, love the atmosphere, but the wine is drastically overpriced. I bought a bottle of Llano Moscato at HEB for $9 but it was at the Grapevine for about $17. Sticker shock is an understatement...glad I didn't buy it there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relax and have a glass of wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped by here for a wine tasting after eating dinner and walking around Gruene. The service was wonderful, and the wine was so good we bought two glasses and a bottle to take home. Ample indoor and outdoor seating available. The atmosphere is casual, and it's a great place to relax and sit down with a good glass of wine! This is one not to miss!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sitting on the front porch with a bottle of Du Bois Sauvignon after a successful free tasting and people watching is as close to perfection as one can get.

Alternatively, on a warm evening you can sit beneath the trees relaxing with a glass of coffee porter beer which my husband thoroughly enjoyed. The building itself, is rustic on the outside - bright and cheerful on the inside.

The only downside is that it closes at 9 pm

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.