We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent grounds & staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Interstate 35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent grounds & staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is AMAZING. Great saltwater pool for my little kids! River access for boats but also to swim & play or just lay out beside. Beautiful! Lawn is well manicured, gorgeous hardwoods create a beautiful canopy! Nothing on either side or acriss the river. Very private feel.Centrally located. Serve Starbucks at the bar; complimentary coffee also available that I thought was good enough to drink black. Breakfast is pricey but delicious. Staff was super kind and helpful night or day! The group I was with had several catered meals through the hotel and the food was very good! Rooms aren't the best for the price but definitely sufficient and comfortable. Housekeeping very helpful & friendly. Love it! This was our second visit in the last 3 years. Hope to see them again in another 3 if not sooner!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    58
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
92
54
9
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulf coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

For a hotel this pricey the beds are very poor. I weigh 270 and it lacks sufficient support. I felt like if I lay near the edge it would dump me on the floor. The staff accomodated by shifting us to a different room, but the bed was the same. I could not sleep in it for more than a few hours at a time because of the hammock effect. I will stay in a different hotel next time. This review pertains to room 417 and room 108.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Extremely nice hotel but pricey. Very pricey hotel but worth it if you want seclusion, very nice accomodations with a view. We booked a 2 room suite & the balcony view was awesome overlooking the pool & river. However, the fold out couch was small and of course not very comfortable. I think it would be a better option if the hotel did away with the couch and just put in a bed. But the staff was super friendly, the room was great and breakfast options were reasonably priced. It was very clean and the kids liked the pool. The river is probably not a swimming option though due to speeding ski boats cruising up & down. Our daughter wanted to kayak but we decided against it due to the river traffic. Just didn't feel too safe. Very close to the local attractions. We would stay here again though due to the quality of the grounds and accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4- great rooms - on the river. Close to everything. Played in the river- went to Gruene- tubed the Comal and hit Hamilton Pool- Schilterbauhn of course. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Awesome views.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We checked into the Courtyard River Village not knowing what to expect, but knowing that we wanted a full-featured hotel, close to Gruene Hall, and close to the river so we could tube. We got all three in this hotel. It's a nice hotel (nothing elaborate), but definitely all the amenities of a hotel (as opposed to a B&B). It's situated about 40 - 50 yards from the Guadalupe river, so you can go to the rivers edge and swim, tube, or take a chartered boat ride. It's also within 5 miles or so from Gruene or Rock-R tube rentals on the Comal. Don't expect a resort atmosphere, but definitely fits the bill for a weekend trip to the Hill Country!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I really want to say this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The grounds are immaculate, besides having grounds and not just concrete! Balconies overlooking the river. I understand the pool is saltwater. The staff have has always been extremely courteous! Price a little steep but as long as it goes back into the excellent upkeep, I'll pay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is just a few miles away from Schlitterbahn -- very convenient. There are also several restaurants within a short distance -- IHOP, Chili's, Sonic, to name a few.

The hotel has an outdoor pool and a small beach area that leads right into the river. We didn't go down there but could see it from our hotel room.

We had to change rooms a couple of times, which was a little frustrating. I booked two rooms and asked that they be next door to each other. The front desk person put us in two rooms that were technically next to each other, but the door to one of the rooms was around the corner. So we asked to move one room so that the doors were across from each other. Then later on we kept hearing this loud noise below our room and found out that the laundry facility was underneath our room and it would be running all night. No bueno. I asked to change rooms again and we got moved up to the 4th floor. At last we could finally settle in and relax.

The rooms had the world's tiniest hotel room fridges I've ever seen. You could barely fit anything in it, and it took forever for it to get cold. There's a microwave in the lobby by the front desk kiosks and "gift shop/snacks" area if you need it, but It would've been nice (and much more convenient) to have a microwave in the room.

The hotel had a limited selection of TV channels, and my son was upset that Disney Channel was not available. They did have Nickelodeon and the Cartoon Network -- but those channels switch to adult programming in the evenings. And since this hotel is on Central Time, those shows start even earlier. Something to think about, Courtyard management.

We didn't eat breakfast here and we only ordered a couple of sandwiches one night from the restaurant/bar area in the lobby. The sandwiches were underwhelming. We ordered reuben sandwiches -- not very difficult to make, but the server did not warm up the sauerkraut or drain it well (it came from a can) so when we got back to our rooms to eat, the bread became very soggy and almost inedible.

I don't know if I'd stay here again. We got a great rate for two rooms -- it would've been the same price for one room in San Antonio. I might check out reviews for other nearby hotels before staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 220 -- it's above the hotel laundry facility. Rooms ending in 01 through 17 have balc...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village

Address: 750 Interstate 35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Braunfels River Village Hotel New Braunfels
Courtyard New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.