We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife said it was the best piece of meat she had ever had in her mouth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-B-Que

Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-B-Que
1125 N. Loop 337, New Braunfels, TX 78130
(830) 627-0627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 201 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Honored as the Best of the Best in the barbecue business and home to the world-famous Big Chop, Cooper’s of New Braunfels is sure to satisfy any BBQ craving. We are located in historic Gruene, just a mile off of I-35, making us a convenient option whether you live nearby or are passing through. Our picnic-style concept allows you to pick from 13 different kinds of meat at the pit, then come inside and select your side dishes such as mac ‘n cheese, cole slaw, potato salad, hot cobbler and more.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“My wife said it was the best piece of meat she had ever had in her mouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

She really said that. Texas Barbecue places are a dime a dozen in Texas, and there is practically a "Bill Miller's" on every corner in San Antonio. But this place was very different. Please see the pictures to help understand. You first walk into a room where they actually grill the meat. It is sold by the pound, and the prices are on the wall or readerboard. you look it over, point out what you want and the cook plops it on your tray in a sort of messy mass. Then you go through a door into the resturaunt, holding your meat. A new guy takes that tray, gives you a clean tray, he weighs the meat and wraps it like a butcher at a meat market. You then pick out some sides. Different sorts of sides--like Jalapeno Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon in it.
What else is different? Well, all the beans you can eat are free, giant cook pots are at two locations. All the bread you want is free - stacks of that. Hot pepers, gratis, onions, gratis, help yourself. Picnic tables. Live music sometimes. Beer available. It is very good meat, folks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, consistent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Good variety of quality BBQ. Select your meat direct from the pit. Sides are extra but beans, onions, pickles, jalapeños are free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, Dull Sides, Lots of Dough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had lunch with a couple buddys while visiting the area. You go through a cafeteria type line where you will be greeted first by a friendly fellow manning the bbq pit who you tell what and how much ( meat is sold by the pound ) bbq you would like. He will hand carve and plate up your choice or choices on a tray that you then bring forward to a couple other meat carvers who will trim up the fat, slice up the meat and wrap it up in butchers paper, weigh it up, put a price on it and hand it back to you. I chose a half pound of beef brisket and two pork spare ribs. You then move forward where you will find a variety of hot and cold side items. I went for some jalapeno macaroni and cheese. There were some great looking deserts which I did not try. Next the cashier . I must note that the price for pound for the meats is clearly marked on a small chalkboard by the pit, but I was a little shocked when the total came to $ 23.00 which did include a small fountain drink as well. You then can help yourself to a sauce/ onion/ pickle bar and there is a table with all the bread you would like for the taking ( white or wheat ). You then seat your self at one of many very long picnic tables. The brisket was fantastic, juicy, tasty and had a great bark with lots of flavor. My buddies agreed. The pork ribs in my opinion were a little over cooked with to many spices going on. They were not terrible, just nothing to write home about. The mac n cheese was watery and just plain no good. My friend had a pork chop, that he said was great and another tried chicken that he really liked. The thing we all thought needed some work here was the side items, between four guys none of really thought ours were that great. I am also a firm beliver in you get what you pay for and quality costs, but feel that for the over $ 100.00 we spent combined, we did not get what we paid for. Nothing wrong with picnic tables, paper plates and serve your self drinks , just not at these prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“The High Cost of Bullneck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

No long dissertation or comparison for this review. You can find that in a number of places such as the Texas Monthly that will give you a review of the top bbq locations in Texas. The long and the short of it is, this place has good bull neck (my old uncle's term for meat). If you can't find a slice of brisket, a meaty beef rib, a smoked pork chop, or a sausage link that you like here, please do not pass Go, do not collect $200, but do go back to New York City where you must be from.

The only issue I have, and it is not peculiar just to this place, is that a bbq meal, many times served on butcher paper, or paper or plastic plates and with plastic utensils, in a cavernous barn or a little old shack ought not to cost $20 dollars a person. Yet with meats prices at $12 or more a lb. the bill for two at places like these is $30 to $40. I know someone is going to say, "then go to Bill Miller's if you don't like the price". That's an option, thank you, but with this mentality, how would you like to pay $50 or $60 a couple for your bbq meal . . . a distinct possibility when people vote with their wallets to continue an inflationary pattern. Think about it. If you won't pay an inflated price, vendors cannot sell their product and will not continue the inflationary practice.

Just some food for thought . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Complimentary beans are great. Have actually gotten the big pork chop before. A lot of meat and definitely took the rest home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.