We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off sleeping in an outhouse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edelweiss Inn to your Saves list
Edelweiss Inn
1063 I-35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Better off sleeping in an outhouse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place looked great from the outside. I was expecting a little Austrian charm to spice up the adventure. It certainly did not meet any expectations.

Location: The hotel is approximately 100 ft away from the IH-35 interchange/turnaround and overpass. This tends to amplify the sounds of the steady traffic. If you're a light sleeper, I wouldn't count on much rest.

Building: This is a two story establishment. I looked, but did not see any elevators. If you get a two story room and have ample luggage, expect to get a good work out going up and down the stairs.

Room: The king sized bed was obviously well used. The box springs consisted of two standard sized box springs, with the king sized matress on top. While I don't fault them for that, as it functions adequately, it did lead me to investigate the quality of the matress and other furniture. All of it is at least 10 years old, well worn, for the most part functioning.

Bathroom: Very poorly ventilated, bring your own air freshener. The caulking around the tub and shower have not been done in quite awhile. This leads to the highlight of the trip: cockroaches appearing from behind the showerhead, in the middle of showers.

Pool: What pool? There was a hot tub out there, but it didn't exactly look inviting.

Service: Absolutely horrible.

On a side note, this place is neither German nor Austrian ran. Such disorder would never have been acceptable. You can find better places to stay in the area at comparable prices.

Final thoughts, as a safety inspector, it would probably take me all of an hour to have this building condemned.

Room Tip: There are some places that are not exactly on the internet in the area. I'd recommend driving ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    2
    52
See reviews for
19
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was by far the WORST experience we have ever had in any hotel we've stayed in. First off the owner of this hotel is so disrespectful and rude, not only did he not give good service but the place itself was nasty. NOT ONCE in the three nights did we get room service to clean even though we specifically asked so. The owner got upset even if you asked for anything, like towels... giving attitude and threatening that if we had anyone other than the people staying in the rooms even for a little he would call the COPS? I'm still Confused on how an owner can't handle customer service on his own. After our horrible experience we checked out and we payed cash at the end... couple of days later my bank account notified me that there was done an extra $355 charged on my credit card for the hotel. I then called the owner and he gave me dumb/crazy reasons for the charges that were done.. some being because we had friends in the room during the day. He then hung up the phone on me and said for me to figure it out on my own with the people that were in my room. This was done after we had already payed and checked out... so i recommend to all of you NOT TO EVER STAY HERE. The cheaper price will become a lot more expensive in the end.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

HORRIBLE PLACE. First of all, the pictures dont show their "weekly rates" banner strung along the front of the building. The lobby smells like an old musty home. The "landscaping" along the front are cheap plastic pots with dead plants in them...or those close to death. The only color is the awful, gaudy, over the top fake flowers littering the checkin area. I swear I thought I walked into a funeral parlor. The man I will assume was the owner has to have been the rudest person I have ever had to deal with in customer service. And I have dealt with a lot of people!

Since I lived in New Braunfels for a number of years and was coming back for a family holiday, I had a nostalgic memory of this german styled inn. I booked online and was blown away when I arrived at how this place has just been run into the ground and has turned into a cheap and sleazy place. My advice? Steer clear.

Oh, and I politely offered my feedback on improvement and the guy tells me he doesn't care what I think and if he wanted my opinion he would ask for it. :) OPPS! Probably not a cool thing to say!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, two year old son and I were new to the area and were working to get established in New Braunfels. We decided to stay at The Edelweiss inn due to its lower price and weekly rate while looking for a home.. For the first few days everything seemed okay despite the room being absolutely filthy, covered in dust and a carpet sticky with god knows what. But by the end of the first week I noticed raised welts appearing all over my little boys body, welts on my arms, as well as on my wife's back and legs. Upon doing a little research on the appearance of the welts, beg bugs became the primary suspect. So one night I came "home" at 4:30 am, walked in to the dark room, pulled back the covers on my sleeping wife and son, and the moment I shined a flashlight I saw a small hoard of bed begs feasting on my wife and son.. I was so upset and shaken that we slept in the car. And despite only staying a few days out of a full paid for week, the management would not refund any money. If you decide to stay here know this; the bed bugs will bite you, they will lay eggs in your clothing and in your luggage, and if you're not careful you will take them with you back to your own home. Please spend just 20 more dollars and stay at one of the many many other hotels just right down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Room was okay. There was lamps but no light bulbs, no jacuzzis in room only a small broken one outside in parking street, dirty towls, and VERY RUDE manager. Had a friend staying in other hotel room come by and manager tried to charge for extra people then continued to scream and accuse us of being terrorist. Never coming back and I don't recommend anyone staying there until the previous owners are gone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Watch out for the extra charges on your account. The desk clerk is a jerk and will charge bogous extras once he has your card information. When you ask to speak to the manager he will hang up on you. The housekeeping lady will come to your door at 10 am to ask if you're going to be checking out even though check out time isn't until 11 am.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Spend the extra cash to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had plans to stay the night in New Braunfels since we were going to the Wurstfest and if we are going to a festival that involves drinking all day there is no need to drive afterwards even if it is just an hour away. So that being said, this was one of only a few options for the busy weekend but it was one of the least expensive places that allowed dogs. As we were driving down my girlfriend looked up the reviews for the place although I had already booked the room. The reviews were so bad that we were already wondering if we could cancel the reservation. When I got there I asked if I could see the room first. That was a no because I was told that they do not show rooms after dark. It didn't really make sense. I said that I just wanted to see the place first and the guy pointed to the window as if I should just look out the window. Yes, it does look cute as a building designed to look like an old European wood timber construction. I had to clarify, "room" and the guy showed me photos from a binder. The antics were annoying me and I wanted to cancel the reservation but turned out that I should have provided 24 hours notice. My card was already charged. So we checked out the room and now I understand why the place has such low rating aside from the rude staff. In brief I'll just say that we checked out within 10 minutes of walking in. The place was not just old furniture but dirty with stains and the dog was constantly sniffing at everything. Well, its a step up from camping but not worth the money or discomfort from an girfriend distressed from the idea of staying a night. So even though that night was paid for, we checked into another hotel. Now I need to dispute charges from Edelweiss Inn since I was charged for two nights when I only paid for one and checked out early.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Inn

Address: 1063 I-35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edelweiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel New Braunfels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.