We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1489 I-35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I recently took my 2 grandchildren, ages 10 and 14 to New Braunfels. We stayed in the Comfort Suites and had a great time. The people at the front desk were great and very helpful. The breakfast was also wonderful and lots of things to choose from. My grandson loved the Texas shaped waffles. The rooms were large and beds were comfortable. The room did smell a little musty and I noticed they used Fabreeze in the hallways which did help. No complaints and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
35
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel is a bit outdated. Although the room was facing the highway, we had no problems sleeping. Hot breakfast is offered by the hotel but I didn't see the location to make the waffles like there are at the other Comfort Inns I've been to. Hotel is near Schlitterbahn and between Selma and San Marcos. An okay hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN USA!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Room was good sized and had a fridge and microwave. The hotel is right on HWY 35 and was too noisy to open the windows. The furniture was worn and a bit soiled but needed cleaning. No elevator or staff to help with luggage upstairs. Appeared clean, but saw a large 3" dead insect on the floor so I left it there...looks like it had been there for awhile. Nothing spectacular about this hotel in this city. It did have a lock box for your valuables at the front desk. Breakfast was very substantial.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

It is what it is - it is a Comfort Suites, not a Hyatt. But it does a good job - check-in was really friendly, rooms were quite spacious, clean and comfortable, wireless internet was fast. No complaints. I paid off season rates and found it to be an excellent value. At in-season rates of $150, I might have looked around a litle harder for something more charming. No elevator might have been an issue if we had had tons of luggage.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

The only, and I mean only thing that I can say bad about this place is the same thing that I can say about all the New Braunfels hotels - and it is this. The windows won't open! They are sealed shut. I don't know if this is a city ordinance or what, but it really bugged me.

OK, that being said, this was a very nice place to stay. The bed was
a high quality, very comfortable mattress. I hear that the manager is meticulous, and replaces the beds ridiculously often. These people have pride in their place!

The staff was friendly. They even had a manger scene in the lobby around Christmas, which made the place feel like home to me.

Every morning they have a free breakfast for guests - they call it Savory Sensations. This is a full breakfast, including, for example, scrambled eggs mixed with sausage, orange juice, delicious coffee, sweet roles, apple juice, cereals, milk, etc... They even have a waffle iron to make waffles in the shape of the great state of Texas!

I really enjoyed my stay, and I'm sure I will return.

Hopefully when I go back, they will get the windows to at least open a couple of inches.

That's it!

  • Liked — The breakfast every morning is awesome!!
  • Disliked — Windows won't open at all
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed here recently for one night during Wurstfest in New Braunfels. The hotel is clean, has a great location and provides more than your typical motel / hotel. Check-in was quick and easy and they offered free cookies. They've got free internet and hot cooked breakfast (sausage biscuit sandwiches - all you can eat) in the morning from 6am - 9am if you can wake up that early after a night out. The room was clean and everything worked fine. From the hotel, it's a quick shuttle or drive to Gruene, Wurstfest or tubing. We will stay again next year.

  • Liked — Location, quick check-in, free perks
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We checked into the Comfort Suites and everything seemed alright excep that the room was a bit muggy. After unpacking and turning on the air conditioning, we went out to eat.

When we came back that evening the room was still muggy and slightly warm and I turned up the unit all the way to cold 10. I had promised the children that they could watch a pay per view movie when we got back but found out the the cable box was broken and no movies were available for our stay.

The beds were VERY uncomfortable (like sleeping on wood) and the pillows were very small. Around midnight, we realized the room was never going to cool down and called to ask to change rooms.

They quickly changed us into another room and the air conditioning was nice but the lights between the beds did not work and they apparently did not prep this room since there were no towels.

All in all, it was okay but feel like we spent too much money for our visit. We had recently stayed at the Hampton on Padre Island and that hotel was GREAT. We loved it and I wished that I had booked the Hampton in New Braunfels.

We plan to go back during the Christmas Season and though the people at Comfort Suites were really nice and accomodating, we won't stay there again unles they update some things.

  • Liked — Larger rooms than most
  • Disliked — Out of date furnishings, air conditioner not working, pay per view movies not available.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1489 I-35 North, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a gold award winning property from Choice Hotels. The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, outdoor pool & spa, free high speed internet, fitness center, guest laundry, and meeting space. We are easily accessible from IH-35 and only minutes from Schlitterbahn, Gruene, and river tubing attractions. If you are in the mood to shop we are a short ride from the outlets in San Marcos and also a short ride to everything in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel New Braunfels
Comfort Suites New Braunfels
New Braunfels Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.