We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers & Fries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filling Station Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Filling Station Diner
310 E. Washington St., Navasota, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Navasota
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.navasotagrimeschamber.com/Community/Restaurants
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.navasotagrimeschamber.com/Community/Restaurants
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Burgers & Fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had been craving a good, juicy, thick burger that we did not have to cook. Found it! We had a cheeseburger with avocado and fries. The burger and fries were hot and fresh and the meat patty is nice and thick, not paper thin like other places! The burger had good flavor and the fries were great too. We will eat there every time we pass through town from now on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Sevice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food here was good and priced well. Mitch the owner greeted everyone and made you feel welcomed. I had the Chipotle chicken sandwich with fries and my Mother in law had the Chicken salad sandwich Muffelatta and both were good. My fries were cold and Mitch replaced them with a dinner salad at my request and apologized. We would go back to see what else his menu specials had to offer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Glad I finally stopped in for lunch. Business lunch with coworkers. All food made fresh daily and u can really tell. Daily specials which I had. It was wonderful. We all loved our selections and it was a good deal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I ordered a one-egg breakfast plate. Over-easy egg, toast, bacon were all perfectly cooked and delicious. My husband had the buffalo chicken salad and said it was good. Only complaint: things weren't quite spic-and-span clean. Communal salad dressing container was a bit sticky, bathroom seemed like it hadn't been seen a deep clean in a few weeks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tried it once, Will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We travel Hwy 6 frequently, and decided to detour into Navasota to try something different for a late lunch. We are not likely to make that decision again.

The menu is limited, and the waitress made multiple trips back to the kitchen to see what items were still available. I settled for a hamburger, which I rarely order, but we needed to get back on the road.

One advice to anyone who stops here is to take in a calculator and run up your bill from the menu prices as the Filling Station is one of those places that will not present an itemized bill. We were instructed to approach a small dark closet-like alcove to pay out. The alcove was so dark, I could not see anyone in it until right in front of it. A money-changer in the dark pulled out a slip of paper and totaled our bill, without me being to see any of the line items. I really do not like that approach!

Earlier I had observed the money-changer walk out to a table that a waitress had cleared. The waitress had deliberately left the tip on the table. The money changer from the alcove strolled by the table, where she scoped up the tip and slid it into the back pocket of her jeans. Her movements were so fluid that I presume she had done that scoping many times in the past.

I am a retired engineer, but if I worked for Internal Revenue Service, I would be very interested in the bookkeeping at this establishment. An audit might find very minimal records of business transactions at this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filling Station Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filling Station Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.