We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Springs Restaurant

Clear Springs Restaurant
211 Old Tyler Rd, Nacogdoches, TX 75961
936-569-0489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Nacogdoches
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Greenville, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This was our 4 th visit. It is overall very good. Love the Cajun dishes. My only complaint is the green beans. Sometimes they are so spicy it's hard to enjoy them sometimes not. Onion rings are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed after the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Driving through Naco we chose Clear Springs based on these reviews. Maybe we ordered wrong but didn't feel it was worth the cost.

Fried catfish was well fried but lacked flavor, beans were bland, hush puppies burnt and slaw too sweet. The crawfish jalapeño soup tasted like any other cream soup with frozen crawfish tails added with some pico on top. It was not made with a seafood stock. The étouffée was more like a creole sauce. Too strong on the tomatoes and big chunks on bell peppers and just wasn't good. Daughter had ordered it as part of a combo meal but took a bite and then offered it to us. We each took a bite and chose leave it too.

Service was very slow.

3 entrees and a bowl of soup was $75. While we don't mind those prices normally I do expect a better experiences.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nacogdoches Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Clear Springs is a must go to if you are new to Nacogdoches. The restaurant is located near downtown in an old warehouse. They offer traditional American/Southern food - burgers, steak, catfish, chicken fried steak, fried shrimp, an some unbelievably good onion rings. They also offer healthier choices such as grilled chicken and fish, and some rather large and tasty salads. Oh, and their ribs are yummy!

The atmosphere is fun, the service quick, and the staff is friendly. It's a place I recommend to all who visit Nac.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We go to dinner here just about every time we are in town. Great home cooking style food at a great price. Very friendly and the atmosphere is so cute. Definitely some place to try when you are in town.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slaton, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I went to the Clear Springs Restaurant in Nacogdoches, TX and the atmosphere was great! I had the blackened catfish and that was by far the best blackened catfish, I had eaten. The cooks in the restaurants where I live could go there and learn how to cook it. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this restaurant for sure if you are ever in Nacagdoches, TX.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Springs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clear Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Springs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.