We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Micasita Cafe Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Micasita Cafe Mexican Restaurant
615 Interstate 30 W, Mount Vernon, TX 75457
903-588-2175
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Texas, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great Tex-Mex that you can count on from day to day. The service may be a bit slow at times but it gives you that added time to enjoy your food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Poor to average food quality and overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The chips are stale and the Tex Mex is poor to average in quality. Considering the location, the price are extremely high when you consider the restaurant is housed in a renovated roadside diner attached to an ancient motel in a small town, Mi Casita is definitely are not passing on their low overhead to customers, they could get away with that if the food was great but it is not. Drive 15 miles further east to Mount Pleasant and try Two Senoritas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scroggins, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Former favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have enjoyed eating at Mi Casita for several years, untll after their renovation. They have changed their chips, not as thin and crispy, and the taste is different. I will keep trying to find a favorite on the menu, but right now, I am disappointed.
Service is still excellent, and prices are right on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We were so happy we stopped here.The food was great...Our waitress was awesome..we will be back everytime we are passing through..Thanks Mi Casta much success to your restraunt..I highly recommend this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fast service, great food..... , good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I first dined at mi casita
Years ago when the place was much
Smaller. The owners have built it
Into a great place to get great Mexican food fast and at affordable prices.

They normally Have given us a menu , chips and salsa ,
And taken our drink order within a minute
Of the time we sit down at the table.
HONEST! The food comes out good, hot and quick. The owners are still as involved in their biz today as they were
15 years ago.there is plenty of help in the restaurant so they just don't get bogged down with food orders

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micasita Cafe Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Mount Vernon, TX
 

Been to Micasita Cafe Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Micasita Cafe Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.