We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Restaurant + Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lakeside Restaurant + Bar
600 La Torretta Boulevard, Montgomery, TX 77356
936-448-3020
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakeside Restaurant + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 67 Restaurants in Montgomery
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Resort over Memorial day weekend.There was 5 of us and we all ranted on how great the steaks were. I have been to many steakhouses and this one was one of the top of my list. The only downfalls were for memorial day weekend and two be so short handed on staff I didn't understand. Will definitely be back !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food. Take your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went there for a 65 birthday. We were one of four tables on the day after Memorial Day. Great food. Spinach and artichoke was super. Service was a little slow but we were not in a hurry. Only suggestion would be for,them to keep a few bottles of champagne in the fridge. We had to wait about ten minutes for it to chill. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake views at sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location and design are wonderful. We were eating off of a banquet limited menu and cooking for 12 likely threw the chef off a bit. My steak was very gristly and under-cooked. I'm sure they do much better for smaller parties off the regular menu.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome bar tender and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The main dining was full and we couldn't get a reservation till 9pm, but the staff suggested we go to the bar and maybe something would come open and if we wanted we could eat at the bar using the full menu. Well, the bartender was awersome he gave us great suggestions of what was good and what we wouldn't like after we told him what our taste were. Told us all about the stuff in the area and gave my wife a cheese cake for her birthday.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant North of The Woodlands (by far)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice! We've been staying away from this location for years because Chez Roux was so outrageously expensive and overpriced. Then I started seeing these new reviews popping up and thought we'd give it a shot.
So...nice! This is a very, very good restaurant - by any standards. By Lake Conroe standards this is easily the best restaurant on the lake. Big fish in a small pond, but still...
The only reason this isn't a quick and easy 5-star review is because of the service, which, as noted in other reviews, is just a little slow. The room was full on a Saturday night and they just couldn't keep up. We decided to relax, we'd been forewarned by other reviews on other sites, but I really like to have a glass of wine (or two) while I relax on a Saturday night. Waited and waited for our guy to come back after dropping off our bread, finally resorted to snaring the next waitperson walking by and asked if I could borrow her corkscrew (we did the BYOB, prepared to pay the advertised $15 corkage fee). I didn't get very far in opening my own wine before our waiter (Ian) ran up and opened the bottle. He took great care of us from that point on.
Menu selection is not broad - 5 steaks, 4 seafoods, 2 pastas, but a nice array of soups, salads and appetizers, and everything's ala carte so there are also 6-7 side dishes at $5-8 each.
Soups $5-8, appetizers $5-12, sides $5-8, entrees $15-30. Corkage fee $15 BUT the wine steward is the incredibly nice and generous restaurant manager (Heath) who spent a lot of time with us talking wine and insisted on waving the fee. Thanks!
We had two salads, two entrees, two side dishes and one dessert. All but one were excellent, and I mean excellent by any standards. Excellent and far exceeding our modest expectations were the salmon, the flounder, the chopped salad, the ahi tuna app, the creamed spinach and the bread pudding. Not special were the sautéed mushrooms, but probably because they came lukewarm and got cold before we got a chance to appreciate them.
Truly special was the salmon entree, the ahi tuna app, the creamed spinach and the bread pudding. All were done differently than you'd get anywhere else - different style, different flavor, and really amazingly good. Different in the best possible way. We can't wait to go back and get all four of those dishes. I would bet that any committed or even snobby foodie could get those four dishes and know that they'd had a truly great meal. Hey, it happened to me, and I'm committed AND (somewhat) snobby.
The chopped salad is really just a tiny tossed salad but the dressing is amazing. The sautéed flounder with crabmeat and shrimp is pretty good but not special, and the tiny piece of fish covered with 3 small shrimp and some shards of crab is overpriced, but still delicious.
We're still talking about the creamed spinach and the bread pudding, the best of the best. Amazing, capable of standing up to any side or dessert in Houston.
This restaurant, like the rest of La Toretta Resort, is owned by the bank that foreclosed on the Saudi guy that put in a hundred mil or so trying to make this into a world class resort. His failure was in aiming too high - long-time residents of this area know that there's no market for ultra-high-end dining. Happily, and a bit surprisingly, there appears to be a market for very good high-end dining, as this surely is - the dining room was full and we talked to several people that have made this a regular stop. They all agreed that Lakeside Restaurant is a welcome oasis in the desert of dining that is the Conroe/Montgomery corridor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant + Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Restaurant + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.