We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such potential to be a great resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   600 La Torretta Blvd., Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Montgomery
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Such potential to be a great resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was suppose to be AAA Four Diamond Texas Resort but it seems past its heyday. Just got back from July 4th weekend and we were booked to stay through the weekend but decided to cut our stay short. We stayed in the Tower and couldn't really fault the actual room. The room was very well designed. It was like a one bedroom apt. It had a separate living room area with a tv and door that sealed the bedroom from any hallway noise. The bedroom had its own tv, platform bed and minimal windows making it nice and dark for sleeping. Bathroom was huge with a separate walk-in shower and soaking tub. The tub was dirty and remained unused during our stay.

Our complaint had to do with the pool area and food. For a resort, it didn't seem that they were prepared for the holiday crowd.There was lack of pool lounges. When we did manage to find one, they seemed to be broken. Counted maybe 6 poolside umbrellas and no poolside tables. The pools need resurfacing. Our swimsuits got badly damaged. Restaurant 157 decided to do buffets and they were very lackluster. Again, they were unprepared for the holiday crowd. I can see how this resort is sufficient enough for families with younger kids but for couples looking for a luxury resort getaway, it is not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    166
    87
    68
    52
See reviews for
255
138
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a great family weekend at La Torretta. We rented a golf cottage (see picture) and stayed for 2 nights. The cottage was away from the main part of the hotel so you had to either call a shuttle or drive over and park in the parking lot. We mostly opted for the shuttle because the drivers were friendly and super fast. The longest we ever waited for a shuttle was only a few minutes. The cottages were nice on the inside. It had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms and an additional living area with a small table for dining. It is worth noting that there was no refrigerator or microwave in the cottage, but it did have parking for 2 cars. As for the pool area, it was nice. I would not call it luxury and it definitely was not new, but it met our needs 100%. There was a toddler pool that was covered and gated off which was nice for my little guy. There was also a kids area with slides and water features, a large open pool, a pool with big slides, an adult only infinity pool, and a lazy river. While it got busy during peak times we never felt like it was way too crowded. Given that it is a resort, they offered the typical family friendly resort activities during the days and evenings. We particularly liked the s'mores at night. I would definitely consider going back for a quick weekend getaway with the family. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my college girlfriends for a getaway weekend. We are all in our early 30s and found it to be a great place to relax and have fun. There were no kids at the adult pool and service was excellent. Had a wonderful dinner at lakeside (Ian was a great server) and a fun night dancing and singing karaoke at the bar. It really was a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed from June 20 to 21, 2013. We booked from the Summer of 99 special and paid $99 for a double room and a $20 resort fee. We did not stay in the tower. The room we stayed in was part of a duplex. The room was very nice, updated, and modern. The room was clean and spacious. The other half of the duplex was not occupied so our room was quiet. I wish there would have been more seating--double room with only one chair.
We spent all of our time at the pools. I have three daughter (age 19,12, and 9) It was very nice--clean and not crowded. There are two water slides.
We didn't eat on site because we stayed in the pool too late and the restuarants weren't open that late. We would stay again and it was a great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2259 (or something close to that). It was quiet. The only downfall is you do hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I thought "what a shame, this place has the potential to trump woodlands resort, the San Luis and other local resorts, but the vibe was just so-so. The kids didnt seem to notice, though. the facilities were nice, but there were no delightful surprises. The flower beds near pools need weeding, the audio (movie night) at the poolside was terrible, the music was "top 40", the $8 smoothies could have used a big fruit garnish, the staff could have done a beyter job of picking up the empty plastic cups and straws. The staff never seemed to sincerely engage the guest, other than the tall, handsome manager who greeted us when we arrived and said "welcome" and he was "so glad to see us and spending the day here." The rooms were clean modern design, but lacked small things like bottles of water and drinking glasses in the bathroom sink area. They need to turn things up a notch, and it won't cost them much to do it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The new name change from Del Lago to La Torreta is not the only aspect changing! The resort appears much cleaner & the remodeling is speaking for itself. The suites are very comfortable & spacious. The only downside is there's still a daily resort fee & not many perks which can qualify the cost: The pool which has two great slides & a kiddie area does not open until 10a. Also the teen lounge closes to early.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Dr-GDillion,
Thank you so much for your rave review of La Torretta! I am delighted to read that all of our hard work is being so well received. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again in the future and again thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you like to golf very reasonable prices and good course. Hotel was being remodeled and very spatious and very nice would enjoy it again very soon.Will be taking the entire family to this resort and enjoying another relaxing get away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTorrettaResort, Manager at La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Harry F,
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you had such a wonderful experience at the golf course. I am delighted to hear that you are planning to bring back the whole family for another stay, please let us know if we can get you anything for your stay.

In Hospitality,
Jaimi Fore, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd., Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356
Location: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is a resort destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.