We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 South Shary Rd, Mission, TX 78572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Mission
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is in a great location for a visit to the RGV. Particularly if you are planning a birding trip. The hotel is quiet and well run by a friendly staff. The breakfast is good and begins at 6 AM, which helps in getting an early start on the day. We stayed here for 4 nights and will return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, US
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express on Shary Road offers quiet, clean rooms that are reasonably priced and include breakfast. The hotel shuttle provides free transportation to-from the McAllen Airport, and the staff at the reception desk are incredibly polite and very accommodating where their guests are concerned.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are coming to the Rio Grande Valley. There is a Walmart adjacent to the property as well as fast food chains all within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I came into town for a batchelorette party for my best friend from high school. We had many folks come over to our rooms to visit and the hotel services was very accomodating. The pool is also a very clean and nicely temperatured even early in the morning. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet. I would recommend this hotel to my friends who come to visit the south Texas area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here in Mission, for a weekend get away with my family. We reserved a junior suite..which had two queen beds with a sofa sleeper (at $92 each night). Perfect for a family of 6. The room and bathroom were very spacious with lots of room to move around in, also included a fridge an microwave. Room was very clean and beds were so comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Thanks to Amy at the front desk..for making check-in and checkout pleasant. Breakfast was good..different meat each day, eggs, pancakes, pastries, juices, coffee, etc. Forgot to mention the pool..which was well kept and a great way to beat the summer heat. All in all we were very satisfied with this HIE..and plan on making this our home away from home each time we return to Mission. I recommend this hotel for everyone with or without family, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Hallways are very long. If you don't like walking or people with disabilities ask for a room clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here on July-2 for 1 night stay for a family reunion. The staff was really friendly and made us feel at home. We are not from the area and needed directions to get to mostly everything. Cynthia the front desk attendent was more than happy to assist us in anything we needed. They also have a happy hour after 5 which was a nice surprise with drinks and snacks on the house. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, thats the quitest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel is average. Beds are hard and the bathrooms are very small. Service is poor although the staff is very nice. My room had a very loud AC, my understanding this is how most of the rooms are. Have a pretty good free breakfast but gets very crowded real fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear eosopon,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel.
We stayed at this HIE for 10 days while on vacation in the Mission, TX area. The staff was always friendly, and helpful. The room was CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. The hot breakfast every day was very good, and saved us a bunch of money. The maid service was excellent- great to come "home" every afternoon to a fresh room! It was hot, 100 degree weather, but that just made it funner for the kids to go swimming in the outdoor pool. The AC in the room was fine for us. We made reservations a week in advance and were able to obtain a rate that was very reasonable.
We will DEFINITELY be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area

Address: 901 South Shary Rd, Mission, TX 78572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Mission
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Mission
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mission/McAllen is the newest hotel concept to serve both business and leisure travelers, now featuring free wireless high-speed Internet. We are located at the intersection of US Expressway 83 and South Shary Road in the heart of the Mission, McAllen, and Sharyland Trade Zones. We are located across the street from the exclusive Cimarron Golf Club. The hotel offers easy access to all points in the Rio Grande Valley and Northern Mexico. Our hotel consists of beautifully appointed one-bedroom suites, executive suites, or traditional rooms with one king or two queen beds. Relax in our swimming pool and 'Texas-Size' Jacuzzi, or exercise in our fitness room. Our 24-hr. business center with PC, printer also may be used as an Executive Boardroom for up to 7 people. Ask about our Citrus Room for your next meeting, which has a capacity for up to 70 people. The staff members are bilingual in both English and Spanish. Our over sized rooms include a coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and board, full length mirror, vanity bench, large work desk, two line telephone, voicemail, free local phone calls, and a 25-inch television with expanded cable. We look forward to seeing you here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mission/McAllen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area Hotel Mission
Holiday Inn Mission
Mission Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Mission-Mcallen Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.