We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give 5 stars but nope!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 6 Mission

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Studio 6 Mission to your Saves list
Studio 6 Mission
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Plantation Grove Boulevard, Mission, TX 78572 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Mission)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mission
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish I could give 5 stars but nope!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would give this a 5 star in the past but the only thing is that the pool use to be sparkling clear blue thatyou would just love to swim in.But now it looks as is the water is a muggy green. This is the only thing that made me decide to bring my family but once getting here really suprised me the pumps to pool are not running. The price is great and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel needs to be reclassified as a Studio6. It is quite a surprise to a seasoned Motel6/Studio6 long time customer. As others have described it is a small efficiency apartment, I can only say it is close to an Embassy suites room but with a kitchen. Spanish decor seems to be slightly worn and not maintained well, however that being said, it is a very nice room for the money. It is located in a residential/light commercial area, a technical school and residential tracts surround the hotel.

Room Tip: We are traveling with a small dog and have a room adjacent to the dog walk area, which is kept very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bungalow Suites has recently been bought by Accor hotels, the same company that owns Motel 6.

PROS:
Great value at $63/nt.
Beautiful tropical landscaping.
Nice heated pool, hot tub & BBQ area.
Four rooms in each villa.
Kitchenette packed with all essentials.
Huge armoire with plenty of drawer & hang up space.
Located in a very nice & safe area.
Free laundry machines & a small but adequate workout room.

CONS:
Both of their websites and reservations are a disaster, presumably from the change in ownership. We reserved (and the hotel confirmed) a room with king & queen bed at $85/nt. I called their front desk a couple hours before we arrived to confirm our reservation and specifically our king/queen room. They confirmed it was ready. When we arrived I was told all the rooms had two double beds and the rate was $63/nite. Also, they now do not have breakfast and room payment in advance is required.

No daily maid service.

Some of our dishes and pans hadn't been rinsed off let alone washed.

Rooms are a bit outdated (i.e. TVs, bathroom faucets, tub,..).

SUMMARY:
We highly recommend this hotel because of its unique Mexican-resort setting and it is an excellent value. However, it is not for everyone. But if you are looking for something outside of the Marriot/Raddison/Dury box, give Bungalow Suites a try. We will be back often.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Love the charm of the Bungalow Suites village. Reminds me of visits to villages in Central America where I would stay a quaint casa style lodging. Our room(s)...a living room with sofa, chair tv, desk office chair and a round dining table with a window view. A kitchenette with fridge, hot plate, full sink, microwave oven, coffee pot, pots, pans, dishes. Nice size bathroom with a huge soaking tub. A separate bedroom with a large armoire and king bed. The flooring is rustic tile (not a true saltillo) and furniture and cabinetry is rough and rustic. The facilities would be wonderful for a multitude of purposes... NOT for the PERFECTIONIST....stay at the Mcallen Renaissance if that is your criteria. The Bungalow is relaxing, fully appointed with essentials and a bargain. With complimentary breakfast and evening reception the Bungalow Suites are as close to an all inclusive resort facility as you will find in the McAllen Texas area.

Room Tip: Reserve through the hotel website directly for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had to travel to mission texas in an emergency and needed a place to stay, I happened upon the bungalow suites quite by accident, and boy did I get one of the nicest surprises ever. The suite was great like an efficiency apartment also you should know that I dont really like to stay in a hotel alone but I felt very safe in this location. my room was clean and fresh everyday I plan to go back with my family again to stay on my next trip to the valley. thanks again to the wonderful staff at Bungalow Suites for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 171 and while there was some paint touch ups that needed to be done around the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We are on a lengthy road trip touring the US South and South West. This hotel popped up on Expedia as we searched for rooms near McAllen Texas. We like to have the opportunity to cook some of our meals. I read "older" reviews on trip advisor and reviews on expedia and hesitated to book.

Eventually contacted the Hotel with a question about the kitchenettes, received a very quick response from Hotel Management and decided to book a King Unit for 3 nights. The room price was excellent using our CAA membership and included a hot breakfast.

We travelled further than anticipated, called the hotel to see if we could check in a day early, not a problem. The hotel is located away from the commercial "strip" of the highway 83 in Sharyland Plantation giving it a quiet and rural feel. It is a series of connected bungelows some one story, some two stories. There is a lovely pool and hot tub area, the guest laundry is free, hot breakfast was adequate with a Southwestern Flair. The staff were friendly and accomodating.

Our King suite was roomy and comfortable. It consisted of a sitting area with dining table, desk, love seat, chair TV. Good lighting for reading, excellent free wireless connection, many TV Channels both English and Spanish. The bed room had a second TV and lots of storage and was spacious. Sitting area bedroom connected by a galley style kitchenette- well equipped with pots and pans, cutlery, dishes for 2, 2 burner hotplate, no dishwasher, no oven.

The unit was showing its age with a little wear and tear around the edges but was clean and the bed very comfortable.

We loved our stay. I have a sense that there has recently been a management change, but I feel our experience does NOT reflect the negative reviews about this hotel presently on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

Danet Garza is the most unprofessional GM that I have EVER delt with. Staff is clueless DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio 6 Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Mission

Address: 3700 Plantation Grove Boulevard, Mission, TX 78572 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Mission)
Location: United States > Texas > Mission
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mission
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Studio 6 Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 8 acres of tropical south Texas land. The Hawthorn Suites features 102 one bedroom suites with endless amenities. Resort style property, unique surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Studio 6 Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Mission Hotel Mission
Hawthorn Suites Mission
Mission Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio 6 Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.