We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Country Cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Country Cafe

Caroline's Country Cafe
1000 E Highway 287 Ste 304, Midlothian, TX 76065
(972) 723-3881
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Midlothian
Restaurant details
1 review
“Good Country Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love going to Caroline's for breakfast, great food and friendly service. The grilled chicken livers with grilled onions are the best around. I have to order them, at least every other week. Go and try them out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality Home Cookin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Caroline's has excellent service and is some of the better "home cooking" that I have had. My favorite thing on the menu is the chicken fried steak.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food is mediocre at best.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The food is just okay. This was one of my dad's favorite breakfast places but it seems to be going downhill. The service is horrible. Waitstaff seem to chit chat a lot with the locals that come in. But if they don't know you they don't pay any attention to you and some are just plain rude. Definitely will not be going back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Want a home cooked meal while eating out?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Then eat here. When we first moved to this area, folks who have been here for quite a while, would always always suggest Caroline's. I have eaten both breakfast and lunch here and have not been disappointed. From their biscuits and gravy to their BLT, I have to eat something I didn't like.

It is definitely a local hangout, most who eat here, come often. But if you want a break from the usual run of the mill chain restaurants I would highly recommend stopping by and trying Caroline's Country Cafe.

It can be tricky to find if you have never been here, it sits in the back of a shopping center right off of Main St. (287 Bus. Rt.). If you are coming from 287\Midlothian Parkway, go down main towards downtown, it will be located in the next shopping center on the left just past Brookshires.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I really enjoy going to Carolines Country Cafe after church. The Turkey and Dressing Special is really good and the Kid's Meals are a great value! I have had their Catfish Dinner and I believe it is cooked as close to perfection as possible. Burgers are great also!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Country Cafe also viewed

 
Midlothian, TX
 

Been to Caroline's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.