We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Midland

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Midland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Midland
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4130 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703-7718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Midland
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel had to have been built back in the early 70's. Unfortunately, it does not appear that any remodeling has been done to this place since the original construction. The entire place just looked and felt old and tired. Aside from everything looking worn, I will say the room appeared clean and housekeeping did a great job during my stay. The room came with a mini fridge and microwave. The fridge kept my drinks cool (not cold) and the microwave was out of service with an E-9 error the entire week. It is amazing how much they can charge a night for rooms in this condition. Unfortunately, there are not many available options in Midland due to the recent old boom and all the contractors flooding into the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    15
    22
    43
See reviews for
18
6
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Phone didn't work. No cup replacements. No coffee set up. Even one pillow didn't have a pillowcase. Supposed to be non-smoking room Smelled terrible.

Just plain ugly and bad.

$200.00 a night!!

Stay at MCM Grande in Odessa instead !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Midland, Texas is experienced another boom because of the high oil prices. This La Quinta along with many other Midland motels are taking advantage of the situation with high prices and a poorly maintained motel. I am a bit shocked that La Quinta still allows this motel to be branded under their name with the terrible conditions here.

This motel will not survive under the current management when the oil boom is over.

The good side was that my room was very clean and everything worked well.

The bad side

Pool walls covered in mustard algae. Disgusting!!!! All outside trash cans overflowing with trash on sidewalks. Parking lot never cleaned. Several of the staircases have police tape blocking their use because they are not safe to use.
Upon check in it took the clerk between 10 and 15 minutes to check the person arriving before me into a room. (she was having difficulty finding him a king size smoking room, finally gave him a non smoking room and told him it would be ok to smoke in it because she thought someone had smoked in it before) The redeeming thing she did was apologize to me for having to wait so long. That did help me give this motel a better evaluation.
The breakfast would have been acceptable if they had not run out of food. The waffle batter dispenser ran out and there was still 45 minutes left in the service.

Customers will remember their experience here and avoid this motel in the future. Midland has had booms and busts relating to the oil business. This dump will never survive a "bust". The current owners must be laughing all the way to the bank with the ridiculous rates they are charging and not maintaining this property.
Avoid Midland by stopping 100 miles away where the prices are less than half and the properties are being maintained.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 104 (king non smoking). I have no complaint on this room. Clean and everything wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The pool is disgusting. Poor kids wouldn't even touch pool. General hotel looks run down, unkept. Definitely regretting this one. I've stayed at La Quinta's before but this is more like a cheap dirty motel except it wasn't that cheap. I'm very disappointed. Hoping that we can change hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let's start with Safety:
I agree with rdwarrior_12, stair case is taped off with broken steps missing. Huge safety concern if a fire related issue was to occur. Hotel is not taking action to fix this safety hazard. Would recommend not staying on second floor.

Cleaning:
Hotel is not clean on the outside or inside. House keepers do a good job tiding up the room. There is only one so much can do to maintain a room due to worn out dressers, chairs, bed, bathroom, etc. Only item up-to-date is the LCD screen TV.

Maintenance:
My hotel room door does not open, I have to forcefully open and close the door. In the bathroom the tub is constantly running. Last but not least, only half of my lights work in the hotel room.

Overall:
I really don't feel like this hotel is worth $170+ a night to stay here. They should have updated their rooms before they started charging this much due to the oil boom in Midland/Odessa Texas. If they are charging $170+ a night they should take a portion of that money and repair the stair case mentioned about in the "Safety" report. I really feel like this hotel is in it for the money and not for it's customers. I will ONLY stay here again if this is the ONLY La Quinta I can get a room at. Thanks for reading my report, hope it helps out.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the first floor closet to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lots of bagged trash stored under the stairs and in the hallways.

Two set of stair cases "roped off" with tape due to steps broken in half or missing step- no concrete rebar visible. Does not look llke action is being taken to address these issues.

This is a safety hazard in the event that an evacuation is required due to fire, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Midland

Address: 4130 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703-7718
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Midland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Midland
Midland La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.