We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Midland at this time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Midland

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Midland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Midland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Midland
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4130 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703-7718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 hotels in Midland
Dallas
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Avoid Midland at this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Midland, Texas is experienced another boom because of the high oil prices. This La Quinta along with many other Midland motels are taking advantage of the situation with high prices and a poorly maintained motel. I am a bit shocked that La Quinta still allows this motel to be branded under their name with the terrible conditions here.

This motel will not survive under the current management when the oil boom is over.

The good side was that my room was very clean and everything worked well.

The bad side

Pool walls covered in mustard algae. Disgusting!!!! All outside trash cans overflowing with trash on sidewalks. Parking lot never cleaned. Several of the staircases have police tape blocking their use because they are not safe to use.
Upon check in it took the clerk between 10 and 15 minutes to check the person arriving before me into a room. (she was having difficulty finding him a king size smoking room, finally gave him a non smoking room and told him it would be ok to smoke in it because she thought someone had smoked in it before) The redeeming thing she did was apologize to me for having to wait so long. That did help me give this motel a better evaluation.
The breakfast would have been acceptable if they had not run out of food. The waffle batter dispenser ran out and there was still 45 minutes left in the service.

Customers will remember their experience here and avoid this motel in the future. Midland has had booms and busts relating to the oil business. This dump will never survive a "bust". The current owners must be laughing all the way to the bank with the ridiculous rates they are charging and not maintaining this property.
Avoid Midland by stopping 100 miles away where the prices are less than half and the properties are being maintained.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 104 (king non smoking). I have no complaint on this room. Clean and everything wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    15
    22
    34
See reviews for
16
4
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The pool is disgusting. Poor kids wouldn't even touch pool. General hotel looks run down, unkept. Definitely regretting this one. I've stayed at La Quinta's before but this is more like a cheap dirty motel except it wasn't that cheap. I'm very disappointed. Hoping that we can change hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let's start with Safety:
I agree with rdwarrior_12, stair case is taped off with broken steps missing. Huge safety concern if a fire related issue was to occur. Hotel is not taking action to fix this safety hazard. Would recommend not staying on second floor.

Cleaning:
Hotel is not clean on the outside or inside. House keepers do a good job tiding up the room. There is only one so much can do to maintain a room due to worn out dressers, chairs, bed, bathroom, etc. Only item up-to-date is the LCD screen TV.

Maintenance:
My hotel room door does not open, I have to forcefully open and close the door. In the bathroom the tub is constantly running. Last but not least, only half of my lights work in the hotel room.

Overall:
I really don't feel like this hotel is worth $170+ a night to stay here. They should have updated their rooms before they started charging this much due to the oil boom in Midland/Odessa Texas. If they are charging $170+ a night they should take a portion of that money and repair the stair case mentioned about in the "Safety" report. I really feel like this hotel is in it for the money and not for it's customers. I will ONLY stay here again if this is the ONLY La Quinta I can get a room at. Thanks for reading my report, hope it helps out.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the first floor closet to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lots of bagged trash stored under the stairs and in the hallways.

Two set of stair cases "roped off" with tape due to steps broken in half or missing step- no concrete rebar visible. Does not look llke action is being taken to address these issues.

This is a safety hazard in the event that an evacuation is required due to fire, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stay at a different motel each week and this motel is without a doubt the worst overpriced motel i have ever stayed at !!I would not stay here for free !The breakfast was a joke one kind of cereal? The employees made me feel like i was keeping them from taking a break ! Nasty mould in the bathroom in room # 235

Room Tip: stay at a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Took extra notification to change the sheets, Did not acknowledge that I should not be charged State Tax, even though I presented the proper form at time of arrival. My bill clearly indicates a State employee. I tried to have bill corrected via phone that Friday, & then Saturday when mgr. would be there. I tried to reason with desk person but he refused to give me proper full names so I could present my situation since this person was no help only abrasive and brash. I decided not to continue and will take other measures.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Midland

Address: 4130 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703-7718
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Midland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Midland
Midland La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.