We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 W. Interstate 20, Midland, TX 79701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Midland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice, quiet hotel. Everything was clean and very quiet. The hotel is set back from the highway, so noise is not an issue. There is an older hotel next door, but the parking lots are seperated, no issues there. Breakfast was great- fresh fruit, cooked oatmeal, parfait, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, etc. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajpat78, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I understand the selection of restaraunts is low, but Midland is growing right now. Hopefully in the near future more restaraunts will be available nearby the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
10
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Country Inns and Suites in Midland is located on I-20 on the south side of Midland. The location is convenient to the airport (only 15 minutes away) and also to Centurion and to Plains tank farms on the south east side of town. Restaurants and other amenities are scarce in the area but the hotel is nice enough and provides a nice hot breatfast and has coffee 24-hours per day. The Petroleum Museum is very close by but is not a particularly interesting attraction. Downtown Midland and the nicer part of town are on the north side and not along I-20.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty nice. The hotel is set back plenty far from I-20 so there is no noise problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

It is not a pet friendly hotel. Do not attempt to go there if you have pets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Our extended family had to travel to Midland from the East Coast & Midwest for a funeral of a close member. The travel agent for my husband's company booked this hotel for the visit he made before our relative passed away, and when we all returned two weeks later for the funeral, we used the Country Inn again.

I cannot say enough in praise of the staff! They knew the reason for our stay and they went out of their way in every way to make our stay comfortable and as pleasant as it could be under the circumstances.

While at a nearby restaurant, I picked up a stack of takeout menus to bring back to the hotel for them to hand out as needed. The next day, the manager sent a tray of snacks (from the vending machines) and water bottles to our room with a kind note.

The rooms are more than adequate for families staying for any reason. Our daughter & her husband used a suite and their 2 yr old napped on a bed while they were able to work on their laptops in the sitting room. The hotel has folding cribs, too.

There are two closets in the suites, and a nook with a counter that holds the coffee maker, and microwave & fridge underneath. So you have some counter space to set up snacks or food you have brought in, or store food such as snacks for kids, etc. There is also a little cabinet under the microwave so you can keep things out of sight of kids if you want (but that is in their reach).

The breakfast is great --- not gourmet level but the sausages and bacon are fine, the egg dish changes daily, and there is a full selection of fruits, cereals, bagels, etc. There are 2 or 3 kinds of coffee.

While we were there, several high school sports teams came in and stayed for their golf, softball, & tennis tournaments. We thought, oh no, there will be running up & down the halls and noise all night -- no such thing. My compliments to the coaches and teachers of West Texas on their fine young ladies and gentlemen. The hotel fed these teams their breakfasts earlier or later than the rest of the guests so they would not take over the dining room.

The lobby is set up as a sitting area with a fake fireplace & books on the shelves that you are welcome to read, and borrow to be returned to any Country Inn later, if you wish. Our family used this area more than a few times.

They are conveniently located if you are coming into town from the airport, just take rte 20 east. There is a sandwich place a long block away (can be walked) and a huge Walmart is a short drive if you need to pick up anything.

I don't know if I will ever return to Midland, but I know where I will stay if I do! And I am going to look for Country Inns & Suites in other places, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you very much for those kind words! I am thrilled my staff went above and beyond for your accomodation. We pride our self on trying to give the best customer service possible for our guests. I am also happy that we along with the school staff were able to maintain order with the school kids.

The staff of Country Inn & Suites are sorry for your loss, and we wish you and your family a brighter future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed for a night on the way to Big Bend National Park - really impressed throughout from the warm Texas welcome from the front staff offering us a fresh brewed coffee and cookies while we checked in through to the comfort of the rooms and general atmosphere of the hotel. Big bedroom, really comfortable bed, and all the usual facilities. Excellent breakfast with great choice. As we arrived in the dark and left early cannot comment on the area around that was mentioned in previous reviews but we had no issues in that regard and felt quite safe leaving our SUV in the car park . Certainly for our purpose it was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for your response. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward on having you as a guest in the future.
P.S. I hope your trip to Big Bend National Park was just as perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010 via mobile

Lock, double lock and bolt your room door or else the staff will let strangers in your room. Stayed at the property on 8/8/10 everythin OK until 3am when someone with a keycard tried to enter our room. When we questioned the front desk clerk she said that man, who she knew was drunk, said he" was supposed to be in our room and he had same first name as my husband". Security is non existent and staff was not concerned about incident.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is right off the freeway, which was convenient for us. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable, but we were right next to the stairway. We could hear people pounding up and down all night. Part of the problem was that a girls' soccer team was staying there the same night. They contributed to a lot of the stairwell noise and slamming doors. (And they also wiped out the cookies in the lobby every time they went through.) It would have been nice to be put in a room away from that group. The breakfast is good, with waffles, sausage, eggs, etc. One TA review said that they had Texas-shaped waffles, which we were really looking forward to. Alas, the waffle maker was round. The employee manning the breakfast buffet was friendly and quick to refill things when we asked. The hotel next door is rundown and scary, but we just parked away from it. I don't plan on being in Midland often, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas

Address: 920 W. Interstate 20, Midland, TX 79701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 2 miles from downtown off Interstate 20. We offer complimentary hot breakfast, free long distance calls, large fitness center, business center, and more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Midland, Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.