We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Village Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italian Village Ristorante
3211 W.Wadley Ave., Midland, TX 79705
(432) 684-6595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 236 restaurants in Midland
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Midland, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can count on having good food and great service at this restaurant. The veal is really the best in town and, in a city that is sorely lacking in seafood, the Chilean sea bass is wonderful. The atmosphere is a wonderful change from the endless chain restaurants. Another huge bonus is that you can make a reservation, unlike the chain restaurants. Anyone who dines out in Midland knows that in many restaurants here these days a 90 minute wait is not unusual. At the Italian Village you will not face that and can be assured that you can enjoy a leisurely dinner. The Italian Village Ristorante is a little Midland gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    8
    8
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food! Wait staff was wonderful, I love great restaurants where the owners are there!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I finally made it to this great restaurant, it was definitely worth the wait! I had the lasagne it was wonderful!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awesome Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an awesome experience. Great service. Had a lunch with friends. Looking at the place at first I was not sure as to what my impression would be. They honestly exceeded my expectations. The food was great and the service was very good. A feel of a European Italian small restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average/good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The waitstaff and hostess were wonderful. The atmosphere is perfect for an intimate evening. You don't feel rushed, and you can talk to your dining companions. The food is not superb, but it's good for Midland.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, tx
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't understand the appeal of this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The only meal I have ever enjoyed was the stuffed pork chop, and it is only a dinner special so you never know when it will be served. This place wants to be fine dining with its quiet atmosphere, all male servers, low lights, slow courses and expensive menu. Reservations recommended for the weekend. However it falls short. People sow up in jeans and t shirts and wear their ball cap. The food is not that good: my pork chop was tough, another's veal was tough, and another's chicken (the special) was tough. The spaghetti and meat balls were fine. Vegetables were tasteless and rubbery. Tiramisu is same as Olive Garden and any other restaurant. The server and I almost got into an argument twice. He refused to let me put my glass where I wanted, then refused to tell the specials until the 'appropriate time'. We sat there unable to choose our meal because we didn't know the specials. When told, they were regular items on the menu. Midlanders want fine restaurants and good food, but I will seek it elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Village Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Italian Village Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Village Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.