We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest? Not for the weary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1505 Tradewind Blvd, Midland, TX 79707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Midland
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rest? Not for the weary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott 3 times for business. The first time there was a loud noise all throughout the early morning. I still don't know what it was. The second trip was much better with no problems. My most recent stay was 03/31/13. I checked in very late and was hoping to get some much needed rest. The wind was howling through the sliding glass window (2nd floor). I tried to close the window better, but was unable to keep the sound out. The a/c fan, even though I had it turned "on" was only intermittent. My hope the a/c would drown out the wind noise did not happen. The shower door did not close all the way so water soaked the towel on the floor. Check out time was noon. At 10:40, housekeeping is knocking at the door and unlocking it. So much for my much needed rest.
Hotel prices in Midland are ridiculous due to the booming economy. For the price I paid, it was not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
9
8
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My stay at the Courtyard Marriott was okay but the prices are crazy high when there is any type of convention in town. Staff is usually friendly and the check-in process went smoothly. The room was clean and not bad for a Marriott. There are dining options and shopping within the area making it a nice location. Just beware the price gouging during conventions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, TX
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked this hotel for a one night stay...when we got to the hotel to check in the woman had already messed up a guests reservation and ended up giving her an out of order room. When the guest ask why was it out of order the employee said because there was vomit on the bed. How discusting is that? When it was my turn I gave my husbands name and she told me my room was cancelled for a no show the previous night. I was furious. When we finally got it all worked out she told me my card would not be charged again...we went up to the room and our TV was not working so I called the front desk and that was a joke bc I got no help on how to fix it so my kids were stuck watching netflix on their ipods...in the morning we went down to breakfast and while we were eating so was the "on the clock" receptionist two tables down from us...when I approched the front desk to verify my card would not be charged the woman got up to help me and assured me it would not be charged...well when we got home and check our bank statement online the Marriott charged us a total of $392 for ONE night when our rate was only $159 per night...I would not recommend this hotel to anyone service was terrible and our stay in midland was a hassle....I wish I would have listened to my husband and stayed at the Hampton like he insisted in the first place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Over priced? You bet, bet EVERYTHING in Midland/Odessa is overpriced with the current oil/gas boom. I paid $365 per night for a king room! (by comparison the Travel Lodge was $285/night for a queen).

This hotel is relatively new and does not show any signs of wear.

Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. I was provided a room RIGHT NEXT TO the elevator

The elevator has a loud buzzer inside that sounds with every push of a button. This is before the DOORS CLOSE, so the adjacent rooms get the benefit of the constant buzzing.

At 7 AM, I was awaken by a pounding sound that was similar to a nail gun. About every 20-30 seconds as "thump" resonated through my bathroom ceiling.

I reported both to the front desk. They were ambivalent to my situation and did not offer to change my room.

Breakfasts were OK. Typical residence Inn breakfast buffet: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, biscuits and gravy. Fruit, cereal & oatmeal were also available. Custom prepared eggs are available - IF you can find someone from the kitchen to take your order!

The coffee was hot, but not the greatest. It had a slight "burned" taste to it (maybe they haven't cleaned the coffee maker out with vinegar to remove the crap that collects in the machine).

The dumpster of the adjacent restaurant (next door business) is emptied on Friday mornings at 7 AM, so don't plan on sleeping in (or get a room at the south end away from the pool).

I down rated this review because of the noise in my room, inability to sleep in and the front desk's lack of concern.

Room Tip: Get a room at the SOUTH end, away from the neighboring restaurant & nearby highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This courtyard is one of the nicest I have stayed at. Friendly staff amazing breakfast very large rooms. Its located near the loop and shopping centers close to the mall and the airport. It has a great bar with a large wine selection. Will definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel was located at Loop 250 near shopping and restaurants. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Great morning breakfast - unlike other hotels it was staffed, clean, with real plates and glasses, nice eating area, and well stocked. Got a good price on the Marriott website which made it an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We went to visit relatives. Yes, we knew there is an oil boom but $300 a night? We're talking Midland - not Santa Barbara. We ended up staying with elderly relatives because that was just greed. We were staying two nights - $600 ridiculous. Avoid Midland now if you can. What goes up comes down.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa

Address: 1505 Tradewind Blvd, Midland, TX 79707
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Midland Odessa Hotel Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Midland Odessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.