We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel to stay in Midland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 W. Wall St., Midland, TX 79701 (Formerly Hilton Midland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Midland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“OK hotel to stay in Midland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Room got no refrigerator. Fortunately we brought our own portable. Staying three nights for Rock the Desert. Used my HHonors points. They give us free breakfast buffet. Room is clean. Underground free parking is another plus. My son enjoys the tv. Free wifi works well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do have a great central downtown location! I apologize we don't supply fridges in the rooms; however, we have them available upon request. Please check with the front desk when you next check in and they can have one delivered to your room, when available. I apologize for the inconvenience, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    92
    52
    32
    27
See reviews for
42
33
23
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for a class reunion. The hotel is centrally located for activities at the civic center downtown and the rooms are very clean. The underground parking garage was being used for renovations so only half of it was available during our stay but there is plenty of parking beside and behind the hotel. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was good and they do provide a senior discount, however afternoon service for lunch was slow even though there was plenty of staff standing around. The Starbucks in the hotel lobby made a great place to meet friends for coffee. In the evening the bar was the place to be with plenty of activity, including a DJ for music. They have a very nice banquet room on the second floor that was perfect for our reunion. The pool area is in the center of the hotel on the 2nd floor and provided a quiet place to relax and swim. The hotel staff was helpfull and provided good service throughout our weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review of our hotel! I'm so glad you had such a good weekend and enjoyed your reunion. They are always lots of fun! I'm glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the bar, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. It's great to see so many people enjoying those areas and seeing all those smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for the Tall City Blues Festival. The rooms were beautiful, clean and well furnished. the only drawback to hotel staff is they seemed less than enthusiastic overall. i would suggest putting a towel in the tub, as they are very slippery. we would stay again, but probably not eat there...restaurant staff was rude and argumentative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We appreciate it. I'm so glad you had fun at the Tall City Blues Fest, it was a great weekend. We have recently completed a massive renovation and are so pleased you liked the new look, and updated rooms! I was sorry to hear you had a service issue in the restaurant, I have passed that information along to the Director of the Food and Beverage department. I sincerely hope to see you at next years Blues Fest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There were a couple of restaurants within walking distance. Not much else to do as far as entertainment. Starbuck's in the Lobby. Nice pool area. Very Clean, spacious rooms, convenient to downtown, friendly staff. Didn't get to experience the restaurant & bar within the Hotel, but they both looked very nice and inviting. Will try to next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! Please feel free to ask the desk about entertainment options on your next trip to Midland. There are actually several things within walking distance, and we can always arrange a shuttle for you. The service we use is less expensive than the cab company. I do hope we will see you soon. I think you will enjoy either of our lounge areas and I'm sure you will love the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This downtown hotel is the best bet in Midland and has been for decades, but beware that the oil boom has made all hotels in town very expensive for what you get. I wouldn't pay less though. Go ahead and stay here. After years of tough times, they are handling this boom with friendly grace. They deserve the good fortune. This hotel building is an old 70s building, but they have done a good job of keeping things relatively updated. I thought the air conditioning was inadequate, but others felt it was fine. The rooms and bathrooms were large and very clean. The work space was excellent. Plenty of outlets, good chair and a real desk. Wifi was good. The towels and linens were OK, not great, but just just fine for a business class hotel. Added benefit from an old building is that the shower head was more vigorous than newer "greener" hotels! There is a kind of hidden bar on the third floor, with a patio that was very pleasant on a summer evening after sundown. The staff are friendly in a small town Texas way. Helpful and kind. Beware that transportation is an issue in Midland. Don't rely on taxis. Really. Rent a car. The Wall Street Grill about a block away had an excellent steak and a happy atmosphere. After twenty years, still the best in the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel! We are very proud of our renovation and are so pleased you enjoyed yourself! I believe that what we lack in the sparkle of "brand new" we make up for in exceptional service and hospitality! I so appreciated your remarks in regards to our staff. I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice hotel - clean, friendly staff. I only stayed one night, but it was a good stay. It was obvious the hotel was older but had been nicely renovated/upgraded. A good value for the price I paid, which was a corporate rate. There was a problem w/ the ice makers on some floors, but the staff was very responsive once the issue was reported.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you had a nice stay with us. We work very hard to take care of our guests and it's nice to be noticed. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is booked for our All Classes reunion every two years. We are suppose to get the Reunion rate, however some paid as little as $100. while others paid $175. per night. I don't know how this was determined. I did hear some people are going to stay elsewhere next reunion because of this. The hotel is the center of all the activities for the reunion. The Staff was great and very helpful. They offered free valet service which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
JanM,
I have spoken with our Director of Sales and all guests who were in town for the reunion received the same rate. We set a block of rooms aside for you as negotiated by your reunion chairperson. I assure you that all of you are charged the same, as Ms. White did when you addressed this concern with her. I am sorry about any confusion, but it is not our policy to offer different rates within a group. I hope this clears up and questions you may have, if not please feel free to call the hotel to speak with us directly. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to the next reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza

Address: 117 W. Wall St., Midland, TX 79701 (Formerly Hilton Midland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Midland
#4 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Midland Hotel Midland
Hilton Hotel Midland
Midland Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Midland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.