We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a fantastic hotel, friendly staff, quality rooms and the food was worthy of a Michelin Star.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, what a fantastic hotel, friendly staff, quality rooms and the food was worthy of a Michelin Star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the staff were friendly, the location was superb an added bonus was having the spa facilities on site. room was of a high standard and the food was excellent.
Recommend using the Secret Escapes web page for good discounts

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    190
    58
    49
    26
See reviews for
83
419
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The approach to this building is just simply stunning, as is the grand corridor leading up to reception. In fact all of the public areas are steeped in that wonderful feeling of making you think about who walked the gorgeous oak floor boards before us. We were only staying for one night so were hoping to sample as much that the hotel could offer. However, (sadly there is more than one), we were told on check-in not only that they didn't have the twin room available that we'd specified (through 'Secret Escapes') but also that we weren't booked in for dinner and that the restaurant was full. This is the first time I have stayed in any hotel, from seaside B&B, to Middle Eastern 6 star, where I have not been able to dine in the building. We were offered to try room service but this seemed a bit sad to resort to a very unexciting menu in our room when we had come to celebrate our joint birthdays. The very helpful receptionist (Carol) did endeavour to grab a table for us at the local pub to no avail so we had to take a taxi to the next town and found dinner, which was ok. Even a Prem Travel Inn take the time to call their guests the day prior to the stay to ensure that they know how to find the hotel, one would have thought that a hotel such as R Hall would check with their guests if they require a table for dinner before filling it up to capacity? a quick phone call? So then we found our room and offloaded the bags, off to find a place to relax and have a drink? Not quite as easy as we'd hoped for. We walked passed a large empty lounge and then onto the grand hall but were told by a waitress "we're full in here with afternoon tea reservations, always are" - "we ask people who are waiting for their rooms to wait next door" (meaning the empty characterless lounge with no bar in it). So off to the Spa we went where we found an acceptable snack menu for lunch and enjoyed an hour or two checking out the facilities there and had a swim, all very pleasant. (althoygh remember the coffee shop closes at 5pm in the Spa, so no drinks or snacks are available of any sort other than the water machine even though the Spa is open until 9pm)..
On to the pre-dinner drink hour, we decided to try the grand hall again (this seemed to be the only bar available for guests). We noticed that some guests were handed bar snacks with their drinks, we weren't offered anything and the waitress drowned our drinks with the mixers rather than pouring some and leaving some in the bottle. We had a 30 minute wait for our taxi so I asked if we could have some bar snacks? (I was more than happy to pay for them) I had to ask a 2nd time as they didn't arrive and was told that "they are normally only served to diners". Talk about rubbing salt into the wound lol. (This was the same waitress that had turfed us out of the grand hall earlier in the day). There are some great things about this hotel, the friendly receptionists and handyman, the superbly run Stableyard Spa (their therapists are ssssoo good), the swimming pool and gym and the quietness and cleanliness of the place and our room was beautiful, spacious and well appointed. So I have thought about our stay overall and I think I am correct in summising that the trend here is to get bums on seats, especially in the dining rooms and the residents can be a little bit forgotten about, that's certainly how it feels.

Room Tip: (Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best view).If you book through a 3rd party, phone ahead an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Myself and my sister stayed at Rushton Hall for 1 night on Sunday 27th October as a relaxing treat. We arrived at Rushton Hall early and had a treatment booked. We went straight to our treatment and the staff in the Spa were so friendly and helpful. After our treatment we checked into our room, this was a little bit early but the staff were so helpful and friendly that we were able to get into our room. We had the Drydons Walk room which was a lovely spacious room with a large bathroom and large bedroom with 2 double beds. We used the spa facilities which were a bit busy but still very relaxing.

We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu was too expensive for us but did hear from other people that the food was amazing. We were going to walk down the road to the pub (which we read some good reviews for) and it wasn’t too far but it was raining, so we set up a table in our room and ordered room service which was a better price and was lovely.

Overall the whole experience at Rushton Hall was amazing. The very friendly and helpful staff (thank you), the lovely facilities, the interesting building and the tranquil experience. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the showers in the bedroom. I came back from a swim and went to have a shower but the pressure was so low and it wasn’t very warm that I had wished I used the showers by the pool.

I would definitely recommend Rushton Hall and we are looking forward to booking again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at Rushton Hall for one night at the end of August 2013 with my partner. We booked with secret escapes where we got a fantastic deal which saved us at least £90. On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff who took us to our room. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which are situated above the spa and gym facilities, but still very comfortable and spacious. We used the gym facilities which were all fully functioning and up to date, and we also used the pool and sauna/steam room. Everything was very clean and cannot fault this aspect of the hotel at all. We did not have a chance to use a spa treatment but if we return we will be sure to take up this opportunity. My partner and I chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant on the evening as it was a bit pricey for us but about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel is a pub/restaurant (Thornhill Arms) where we had a lovely meal. I would advise to pre-book the table if you do eat here as it was very busy. We had breakfast included at Rushton which was lovely and presented very nicely! We also had a short walk around the grounds of the hotel which was nice and relaxing and there is ample parking around the hotel as well. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and wish we could have stayed another night. We will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Rushton Hall for a champagne afternoon tea to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

The food was fresh and varied (scones, cakes, sandwiches) and we also had the choice of tea or coffee as well as the glass of champagne (Laurent Perrier). We found the staff to be attentive and quick to ask if we required more drinks without interfering with our quiet couple of hours on the comfy sofas.

If you are looking for good food in beautiful surroundings, a drink or two and to be spoilt for a few hours it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for one night. The rooms were nice and spacious. But the carpets, were part smelly and not presentable. Breakfast was served to us. But not really nice. The hotel location was really nice. We had dinner outside. I travelled with my parents plus my brother. The lighting was soft and comfortable. We had problems with the hot showers. There was not sufficient flow and pressure. I used the Jacuzzi plus swimming pool. To be honest, I do not thing that I will travel back to this hotel.
Dressing gowns plus slippers were provided. The Staff members were friendly. The Lake view room was nice and had a very nice scenery.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked a superior room for 2 days last week. Hotel is in lovely setting, Spa facilities are good. The restaurant meal was excellent but pricey. The room (william winstanley) was a let down. We could not see how this was a superior room. The heating did not work throughout our stay, even though we were told it would be on the evening we arrived. We were given an electric convector. We happened to need a sewing kit and shoe horn but neither was in room. When requesting we were asked to pay £2.50 for sewing kit!. There was no toilet brush in bathroom (advised not part of facilities). Breakfast was very good, but spoilt because asked for £2.50 extra for espresso. This was similarly requested if chosen for the set afternoon tea. All in all good but marred by small things (reminiscent of flying with low cost airlines).

Room Tip: ask to choose room form selection, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rushton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushton Hall is a Grade I Listed 4 Star and 2 Rosette Hotel, surrounded by the cities of Kettering and Market Harborough. Guests will find this convenient location is just minutes from Wicksteed Park, Stoke Albany Golf Club, Rockingham Castle, Rockingham Speedway, Rutland Water, Telford Way Industrial Park and Kettering Business Park. Beauty and elegance abounds to enhance the guest’s experience. From beautiful gardens for an afternoon stroll to the sparkling pool for a quick dip to relaxing with spa services, this hotel offers a variety of luxuries to enhance any getaway. All rooms are individually designed in keeping with their country house décor. Bed sizes vary per room and all rooms are ensuite and feature tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers and turn down service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushton Hall Hotel Rushton
Hall Hotel Rushton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.