We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was on a business trip staying at Rushton Hall. I found it incredibly beautiful and serene sitting in the great hall and around the corridors.

Slept very well indeed and the spa was lovely, they even had spare swimming shorts for me.

The local pub down the road was very accommodating too!

Definitely worth checking out if you fancy a relaxing weekend break or a spa experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    190
    58
    49
    26
See reviews for
83
419
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere cold and dark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at Rushton Hall in August 2013 and whilst there is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, it just didn't quite measure up to my expectations.

Our room was old and tired, the furniture in it was clearly beautiful 20 years ago but its current state was tired and tatty. It just didn't feel particularly loved or looked after.

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside but on the inside it doesn't quite measure up to other country hotels.

There was a fashion photo-shoot going on at the hotel whilst we were there which really disturbed the ambiance of the hotel. The people working on the shoot were quite distracting and noisy and their heavy smoking was wafting in through the open doors.

Unfortunately our experience of breakfast wasn't very good. We may have been a bit late to arrive but the selection wasn't very appetising and the fried breakfast really wasn't to our tastes.

I think my bad experience of the hotel was more of a personal preference than anything being very wrong with the hotel as other people seemed to be enjoying it. The staff were very friendly and the spa was very good. The girls working in the spa were very good and my massage was one of the best that I've ever had.

I would say that overall the hotel is of more a 3 star standard and that is the main reason for my negative review. I went there expecting luxury and left feeling really disappointed. If I had gone in with lower expectations then I doubt that I would feel so let down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked a room via Secret Escapes and arrived around two hours early. Check in was from 15:00 onwards. On arrival we were told that our room would not be ready before three a clock. We did not see that as a problem but we were told that we could not go into the Spa as it was fully booked. The concierge at reception wasn't to forthcoming with a solution. Not a good start as we like those spa hotels just for the relaxing experience.

We went to the bar to have a drink and after an hour we took a stroll around this amazing hall. The grounds are very well kept and also it wasn't the best of days weather wise we enjoyed the walk very much. We went back to reception to check in and we were taken to our room which was on the second floor in the eaves of the hall. A nice room with ample space, all mod cons and a spacious bathroom. As you are given a bathrobe we changed and went into the spa. Good size pool with hot tub, lots of relaxation space with loungers inside and outside. The sauna was adequate but on the small side and the steam room was a long bench. All in all a nice place but you could do so much better.

The staff was very attentive, friendly and looked after us. We had a good breakfast which was done fresh and the produce the kitchen used was very good. As the weather was very nice we went outside into the courtyard to sit in the sun and have our coffee there which was no problem and our waitress looked after us.

We will be back for more of this magnificent Hall in the future that's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in a superior room. The room was very comfortable and well equipped with a lovely bed. Unfortunately there was no view as the view out of the windows was blocked by the roof of the pool which made the room quite dark. Also the bathroom has energy saving bulbs which take a long time to reach full brightness, we found that we had to turn the bathroom lights on 10 minutes before using it. The room has air-conditioning but there is no explanation for the controls. A call to housekeeping had someone arrive to set the controls, but a note in the room notes could have saved the inconvenience.

The hotel stands in beautiful grounds which are nice to stroll around.

The spa area is nice but the choice on the café menu is very poor. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice.

Unfortunately, after I had left for work and whilst waiting for a spa treatment, my partner received some bad news from home which was extremely upsetting for her. The hotel staff were extremely sympathetic and helpful and looked after her until I could get back which was very kind of them. I would like to record my thanks to them.

Room Tip: Ask about the view when booking if this is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything people say about quality of hotel, it's staff,ambiance, rooms all true - first rate.
DId get missed at breakfast and waitress did not deal with our complaint very well. But without further complaint by us a more senior staff member came over to us before end of breakfast to hear what had gone wrong. Management is on the ball.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Rushton Hall is a magnificent stately home and you cannot fail to be impressed by the fantastic setting. We had booked via secret escapes, so had a good deal with regard to price. Our room was comfortable, although the decor was traditional and a little old fashioned. There were two windows, but both had a pitched roof immediately outside, so we had no views! I was very disappointed with the spa facilities; bathrobes and slippers were provided, which was great, but there was no exclusivity or feeling of luxury in the pool. There were children deliberately splashing and couples getting intimate in the water, and it was extremely crowded. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special; have had more choice at B and B establishments. The prices in the restaurant looked out of our price range, so we walked to the local pub and had an enjoyable meal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! We were in this area to explore local National Trust properties and frankly this hotel felt like we were staying in one, it is all oak panelling and chandeliers - gorgeous! We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Desborough Road, Rushton NN14 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rushton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushton Hall is a Grade I Listed 4 Star and 2 Rosette Hotel, surrounded by the cities of Kettering and Market Harborough. Guests will find this convenient location is just minutes from Wicksteed Park, Stoke Albany Golf Club, Rockingham Castle, Rockingham Speedway, Rutland Water, Telford Way Industrial Park and Kettering Business Park. Beauty and elegance abounds to enhance the guest’s experience. From beautiful gardens for an afternoon stroll to the sparkling pool for a quick dip to relaxing with spa services, this hotel offers a variety of luxuries to enhance any getaway. All rooms are individually designed in keeping with their country house décor. Bed sizes vary per room and all rooms are ensuite and feature tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers and turn down service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushton Hall Hotel Rushton
Hall Hotel Rushton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.