We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get me outa here!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Del Sol to your Saves list
Hacienda Del Sol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 5, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get me outa here!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Myself and my friend both in our early 20's have just returned from a week in Las Americas and to be perfectly frank, will not be returning to these apartments, they are definitly not 3 star. We had read the previous comments but had reassured ourselves it couldnt be that bad, well it is. We arrived on the Fri nite at 11 and it looked awful from the outside, really old apartments, got inside to reception(if you would call it that) and after waiting more than half an hour got our key. First thing we seen when opening the door was cockroaches crawling on the wall. Went to reception and got the rep to come up and get rid of it but it crawled back out a hole we had in our window!!! Had our room fumigated the next day and came back that evening to the room full of dead cockroaches. We then had to spray our room ourselves everyday and get rid of the dead cockroaches in the evenings. We had no air conditioning and could not leave our door open as in the evening there was a least 10 of them crawling outside the door. Had to put a towel across the bottom of the door each nite. We had finally accepted the fact we wernt getn rid of them when we had another visitor - a lizard!!!! yep they were everywhere.
Pool area is very small and unless your up at 6 or 7 in the morning it is impossible to get a bed. also on one occasion a small child had an accident in the pool and it wasnt cleaned until the next day.
Myself and my friend enjoy a good nite out but also enjoy getn a good nites sleep, well it is not possible in these apartments, the noise goes on all night, singing, music, doors banging, people having conversations across balconies etc etc.
The only positive side to these apartments are the staff at the bar are very friendly and the food is lovely. Could not be faulted.

On a different note, anyone wanting to go to the waterpark, it is very very expensive, and you also have to pay for the rubber rings at 11 euro each. We arrived at 11 and they were all gone and we therefore only got on 3 rides for 24.50. the only attraction is the dolphin show, its amazing, not to be missed.

Did not like the night life in Tenerife, it is very rough!! We stayed down the irish end most nites which was slightly quieter but alot safer.

All in all if you a party animal then this resort is for you, but otherwise i would not recommend it and most definitely would not recommend the apartments. Will not be returning.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    113
    79
    33
    65
See reviews for
34
106
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Hacienda Del Sol for a week begining 26th July 08 and absolutly hated it. I had read the previous reviews about the cockroaches but decided to to see for myself and really wish I had listened. When we arrived 3am on Saturday we were booked for 3 people and only had 2 beds and were told by our Rep and hotel staff there was nothing that could be done untill the morning, so there we were 2 in a bed in the sweltering heat.
we were moved to another appartment on the saturday morning withe 3 beds. All was ok during the day untill we got back in the evening. we found 2 cockroaches in the kitchen cupboard and then they were coming from every where. Door frames, skirting boards, kitchen, bathroom you name it we see them.The security guards came up and sprayed the room whickh made it worse because it unsettled them. They were sliding down from door frames and dieing on the floor. all we could do is catch them in tissue and get rid of them. we must have cought 25-30, no lie !.we spent all night Saturday and all night Sunday doing this as we were told we could not be moved untill Monday morning. so that was 3 days with no sleep. Monday afternoon we were moved to another hotel and found NOT 1 cockroach.I do not think the Hacienda is fumigated against cockroaches as it is literally running alive! there is no way i would go back to that cockroach city.
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE OF THIS AS I DECIDED TO MAKE UP MY OWN MIND AND COMPLETLE REGRETED IT.
IF YOU DO GO THERE, DO NOT LEAVE CLOTHES OUT AND CHECK YOU ROOM EVERY DAY AND NIGHT !!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — COCKROACHES
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed at the Hacienda Del Sol in June 2008 with my girlfriend. I'm 20, shes 19. We loved the holiday and although the accomodation was basic we had a great time. We didnt spend much so we weren't expecting much. The reception Staff were sound they never moaned about people having a good time. The best part of the hotel was the bar ;) We spent most of our time during the day at the pool, at the bar (The Den), drinking and having a laugh. Bar staff are brilliant Den, Brian, Steve all legends. Dancings are good, with some top djs at tramps including Judge Jules when we were there and you could throw a stone to the main strip.

THIS IS NOT A FAMILY HOTEL, dont go expecting luxury, go expecting a good laugh and serious drinking (and cockroach killer)

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

My friend and I have just got back from a week in the Hacienda del Sol. We are two 20 year old university students so we do enjoy late nights out and are very used to rowdy halls of residence. I dont want to sound boring, but...

On the odd occasion that we DID want a good nights sleep, this was not possible - Constant loud music throughout the night until 6 in the morning, slamming of doors, shouting across the hotel to people on other balconies. It didnt stop there either - at the pool, people were spitting and swearing at each other constantly. Disgusting. We are most definately not stuck up, but we did not return to the pool for the rest of the holiday. We would much rather pay 8 euros everyday for two sunbeds on the beach.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel for people with children, or older couples that are looking for a quiet holiday. OR for that matter, people that do enjoy a good nights sleep.

However, the hotel itself was fine. we did not have a single cockroach, the maid cleaned the room every day except one, lots of little supermarkets around, close to the beach.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — the other people that were staying in the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Just back from a weeks stay at the hacienda with a friend, we were 19 and 20 and was looking for something right in the heart of it all. Well what more could i ask for, the night life was only a stone throw away and there was plenty of restaurants nearby, American dreams being one of the best but stay clear from the chinese opposite the apartments, think it was local cat rather than proper meat.

The apartments were basic but are only a 2* and they had everything we needed in them. The bathroom was quite small but your only really in there to get showered and out.

Wasn't really in the apartments at night to experience the noise, think i was probably one of the ones making it, but lets face it, the apartments are advertised in the brochures as young and lively so what do people expect.

Your in spain people and in the heat cockroaches are expected, especially in the canaries. I personally didn't see any but it's not like they're giant monsters gonna eat people alive.

Bar staff and receptionists are all lovely and the food at the bar was really quite nice if you were looking for something quick.

Overall, really enjoyed Tenerife, it was quite expensive but was all worth it. If you are looking to stay at these apartments and are looking for a fun filled atmosphere i would definately recommend them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We booked a week in the Hacienda Del Sol apartments. Having read a real mix of reviews, we were prepared to give it a go and give it the benefit of the doubt, unfortunaly we found that the apartments put a bit of a downer on our holiday. We found that the apartments are very basic providing only the necessities, with little room for moving around getting ready to go out etc. The apartments look very nice from outside despite needing some paint. They have some very pretty gardens with a water feature and plenty of trees. Unfortunatly this meant that the walkways were often messy with leaves and attracted cockroaches. Of an evening our ground floor terrace was over taken by them, and meant that we have to find towels etc to seal the underneath of the door.

Despite understanding that Las Americas is a great place for young single sex groups, we were supprised to be woken up every single night, by arguments and slamming of doors between 5-7 am. The pool wasn't well protected and was often an attraction to drunk people at this time of the morning. We may however have been subject to more noise as our window wouldn't shut properly.

The bathroom is very small, with an impossible shower and a very small bath. The towels were changed during our stay however the corridors to the rooms were not cleaned and the floors were littered with cockroaches that had been killed in previous days.

The hotel staff were helpful however unable to offer any facilites once we had checked out of our room at 11am prior to our flight at 8pm.

Las Americas on the other hand is a great location, really spread out providing a real range of things. There are some very nice restaurants right on the front next to the beach, which offers public toilets and plenty of sunbeds (although sunbeds cost). Watersports are also avilable on the beach. The night life is booming, however you need to think on your toes to stop yourself being dragged into every bar.

We really enjoyed the resort, with trips to the mountain being unmissable, however Hacienda Del Sol cast a grey cloud over the holiday, making it the last place I would return to.

  • Liked — loCATION
  • Disliked — Didn't feel very clean
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Booked through OTB self catering and paid very little for accomodation. myself, husband and two kids aged 10 and 7, arrived very tired at 4 am totally shattered room was dirty, no sheets for the sofa bed which appeared to be covered in body fluids.when we tried to get sheets from the wardrope, we found a soiled sheet covered with many dead bugs room looked onto pool and poolside which still was littered with empty glasses and litter and drunks asleep on sunbeds. lilos and litter still in the pool. no air con, room felt grimy, we simply couldnt sleep there, we checked out after 2 hours,we paid 400 euros to stay at spotless tropical playa. my advice is avoid. My husband calls the hotel the swamp..

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Address: Avda. Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 5, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacienda Del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hacienda Del Sol Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.