We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apartments california” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartments California to your Saves list
Apartments California
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Noelia Afonso 2, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
birmingham uk
2 reviews
“apartments california”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

just spent a week here 27th july was a bit worried when the reseption said it was a 18 to 30 hotel but had no problems enjoyed a pleasent week room was clean and comfortable any problems were attended to very quickly and would recommend this to singles and couples looking for reasonable priced holiday very central for both las americas and short walk to los christianos

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at Apartments California, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time in writing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your week at the California. Actually, the property is not featured in 18-30 programme and indeed its location is excellent: near to a great deal of leisure amenities of Playa de las Américas. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again either at California or at any other Coral Hotels properties whenever you decide to return to Tenerife.
Nacho Álvarez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    75
    39
    7
    13
See reviews for
14
81
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at this apartment in 2nd may, we were pleasantly surprised at the standards of apartment. Rest Rooms, windows and glasses are cleaned every day by janitorial service providers . High quality green cleaning is provided by janitorial-proposal.com at an affordable cost. Apartment looks very neat. Staying in this apartment could not get any better value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Apartments California, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review on the California Apartments. We are extremely happy to know that the standard of the property was up to your expectation. We trust that whenever you come back to Tenerife, you will stay with us again either at the California itself or at any of our Coral Hotels properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Had a week self catering from 16th April and although was a cheap break (less than £200) we were very pleasantly suprised at the standards at the California Apartments and would recommend them to anybody.
Studio (Room 208) was ideal for a couple, well equiped and very clean. Room serviced every day,except one, which wasn't a problem. Safe available for a small charge of 16 Euros and although there was no hint of any security problems felt it was a good option.
Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Bar food and prices excellent.
Pool area cleaned daily, with plenty of loungers, (1,50 Euro charge for cushion).
If you can't retain your room the departure facilites best we've seen - baggage room, and individual shower/changing rooms which were spotless and obvioulsy recently refurbished, with plenty of clean towels.
Good location, close to main centre and plenty of local bars and restaurants. Approx 25 Euros for a taxi to/from Airport..
Overall a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view as sun over pool from around 10.00 to 19,00 each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Apartments California, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Martin, Thank you for your writing your interesting and certainly helpful review on your stay at the California. We are most happy to know that the standard of the property was up to your expectation and that you had an enjoyable holiday with us. We trust that this means that when deciding your next break in Tenerife, you will decide to stay with us again either at the California itself or any of our other Coral Hotels properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

we stayed at this complex in april 2012 we have never used this hotel before but have been to tenerife 1 year earlier so we had a good idea of the area. we stay in room 7b and were quite surprised at the facilitys and how clean the room was as we didnt pay a fortune for our one weeks break (£230) altho this is not in the heart of las americas it took us about 10 mins to reach at a casual pace . there is a choice of beaches you can access from this hotel .as for supplies there are plenty to choose from with a hippo market just across the road selling most things but if you turn left out of the hotel and goto the bottom of the road and left again there is an iceland but its in euros remember this as quite a bit of price change to the pound . across the road from the hotel is probaly one ofr the best chinese restraunts we have been in and so helpful give it a try.also when eatting out there is plenty to choose from we fround the highland bar good value at £9.00 for a three couse meal sunday lunch try the corner bar again great value .in closing i like many people have read alot of plus and negative comments we as a family could not fault this hotel for the price compared to some we stayed in i hope this helps
best advice you only sleep in the room all said and done

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Apartments California, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Martin, Thank you for your writing your interesting and certainly helpful review on your stay at the California. We are most happy to know that the standard of the property was up to your expectation and that you had an enjoyable holiday with us. We trust that this means that when deciding your next break in Tenerife, you will decide to stay with us again either at the California itself or any of our other Coral Hotels properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the California Appartments again at New Year, as usual, could not get any better value for the money. The manager, Nacho made sure our stay was excellent and valued our opinion. We found the staff extremely helpful and the cleanliness of the appartments is first class. The rooms are spotless and nothing is too much bother for the cleaners. Use these appartments at least twice a year and thoroughly recommend them.

Room Tip: Always try for a higher floor as it is less noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as three girls in our early 20s for 5 days in April. We only paid £40 each for a 5 night stay so didn't have high expectations. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The apartment was very spacious and gad everything we needed. It was extremely clean and the cleaner came in everyday and gave us clean towels. The staff were very polite and helpful and the bar food was good and very cheap. The apartments were central, just a 5 minute walk to the strip and bars. The only downside was that our apartment was on the ground floor so we found that at night some cockroaches made their way on to our balcony. Our apartment came equipped with some cockroach killing spray and my friend was brave enough to go out and spray them. The cleaner got rid of the dead roaches in the morning. Other than that I would completely recommend these apartments and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Director Comercial at Apartments California, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear guest, We would like to thank for taking the time in writing your review about your stay at the California and are happy to know that the accommodation fulfilled your expectation and even surpassed it. As for the cockroaches, unfortunately and due to the climate and the property´s location near to the sea and being surrounded by gardens, it is impossible to eliminate them entirely, despite of the fact that we fumigate the interior and exterior of the building according to official regulations. Our cleaning staff is of course always at our guests´disposal in order to assist them in these issues. We hope when planning your next trip to Tenerife see you again either at California or any other of our Coral Hotels properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very good location - close to 3 beaches, shops, bus stops, 5 min walk to the restaurants and shopping area and the disco bar area. Dino supermarket is just on the other side of the street.
We stayed a week in a smaller 2 floor building, no view form our second floor balcony - ask for a higher floor (morning or evening sun) if you like spending time in a balcony.
Old buildings (and furniture), but nicely repainted and kept tidy and clean- good service: towel swap every day apart from Sunday.
Beds on a harder side, bath tab plus shower into the tab, no hair dryer (possible to rent for 10 EURO a week), no shampoos or lotions, just soap. Weak shower pressure.
Little kitchenette with a fridge, all the possible dishes, a kettle, a coffeemaker, a toaster, cooking plates. Not a sign of cockroaches!
We didn't hear the neighbours, or they seem to be of a quieter sort.
The reception bar seemed to be quiet too all the time we passed by at night, during a day a lot of guests were at the pool area - all sun beds occupied at all the times.
The receptionists are very helpful with directions, bus services, excursions, etc.
We are pleased in the whole :)

The place itself is nice for those who don't mind being in the middle of the tourist fellows all the time. Very nice white sand beaches! water temperature is bath-able (around 20C) in April!
Nice promenades to the nearest "villages". Just enough shopping for a non-maniac and all close a walking distance. Out of restaurants would recommend: Mason Castellano, (Casa del Mar with a view!), La Rana, La Taverna del Puerto :)
Siam park together with the Teide trip is a must! For the Teide trip I'd rather not take excursion: take a local bus at around 9 in the morning (1,5 hrs drive thru serpentine roads and lovely landscapes), get off at the cable car or a national park base and walk around "the desert" apart from getting up the vulcano itself, then take the same bus back at 16.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor (morning or evening sun) if you like spending time in a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments California

Address: Avenida Noelia Afonso 2, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments California 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Apartments California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments California Hotel Playa De Las Americas
California Tenerife
California Apartments Tenerife
Apartments California Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.