We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near centre of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cardones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Los Cardones to your Saves list
Los Cardones
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Santiago Puig S/N | also knows as Colonial Village, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place near centre of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Would go here again. Had a two room apartment near the pool which was quiet. Regular cleaning of the room and friendly staff. No fitness club or restaurant but plenty of eateries near by. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Los Cardones is in a great location, it is clean and friendly. Looks almost like a little Spanish village, it does have a charm of it's own.
Beware the irregular short opening times of the reception. If you arrive after lunchtime you will most probably have to call the telephone number located outside reception in order to gain access to your accommodation.
Our self catering studio was fair though the mattresses were uncomfortable. I was rather surprised to see a washing machine though we didn't use it.
The pool is small but you are only a few minutes walk from the seafront.
There are plenty of bars, restaurants and small supermarkets around. You really are in the middle of things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at Los Cordones for Christmas. We had a studio for me and hubby and a 1 bedroom apartment for nana and the teenager. Yes it is a bit dated but clean enough and the beds sooo comfy. You had everything in the room you could need down to a lemon juicer ( have not seen one of those for about thirty years) full size ironing board, iron, washing machine, microwave, kettle, hair dryer etc.. Ok so the washer didn't know it had more than enough water in and started coming out the door but I figured out when to move the dial to rinse so mastered it. When we got there the room had no balcony what!,, so straight down to reception and he gave me the key to the room next door which did have one. reception is only open a few hours a day but you can still pick up the wifi outside on the chairs they have placed there probably for this reason. It was so quiet, no music round pool which was not heated but some brave souls went in anyway. I found the staff friendly enough but unsure about the bloke who came round with the maids barking orders at them they were only in a few minutes so although clean enough I think it could have been better when I looked under the beds but hey you get what you pay for you want four star luxury then pay four star prices. It was cheap and right in the main strip for the Patch, next to door to La Siesta. There is work near the hotel but no noise where we were at the back end of the complex. No rush for loungers and all the guests were pleasant we all spoke to each other how unusual in this day and age. Guy on reception loves to chat and has a good command of English, much better than my Spanish. The view from the room was of a run down ex bar and crazy golf course but no doubt it will be redeveloped. connected to the apartments is a place where divers stay about 20 to a room or something but it is cheap for them and they helped nana and the teenager get in when they could not get in ( there was nothing wrong with the key just an OAP and a teenager both being useless).
The gates are locked at night but you do get a key to the gate to let yourself in. Very very quiet at night no parties when we were there which is what we want, yes we come in at 2 and 3am but you have to respect your neighbours. There is a number in the reception door so if there is an emergency you can call someone. Would I stay here again, yes it was central, quiet, had everything you could require although basic and a bit dated, think it could have been cleaned a bit better but I think the cleaners were not permitted enough time per room but the sheets and towels were clean which is the main thing in my book. There is a safe it was about 30 euros for 10 days but you did get 10 euros back, the tv was mainly foreign with only a couple of English channels but hey ho go to a pub if you want to watch telly or stay at home. A cheap oasis in an area of expensive swanky hotels straight out of the gate to an abundance of bars and restaurants and with a taxi rank too just turn right 1 minute away, but watch the prices some of them ask at night cos they add an extra 4 to 5 euros on to shortish journeys, ask for a written receipt and the price will drop, anyway we were told this by a local English bar owner and it worked for us. If you want a reasonable quiet place, not too bothered that it is a bit worn around the edges then I would recommend Los Cordones oh and I never heard of anyone being broken into or having anything nicked ... Bonus when you read some of the reviews about some accommodations in Las Palmeras. There is no bar or restaurant at the complex but in a way a bit of a perk cos I made food and brought drinks and we were able to consume them round the pool and there was no one there to say " you can't eat your own food or drink blah blah you have to order them from the pool bar" ...... Smile so much cheaper

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just back again from the Los Cardones and again have to say what a great place to stay, I would highly recommend the Cardones as everything is so central, great restaurants and some new ones to try out would still rate Sugar and Spice just below one of the best and also the Lebanese facing the Columbus hotel round the corner. The Los Angeles just across the road is great for breakfast and they have great music at night, it is run by Franco and Debbie who are great.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just back from holiday in Tenerife. Stayed at the los Cardones a lovely wee hotel. The complex consists of bungalows and mines was fine, 2 sunlongers. 4 chairs and table. All essentials in the kitchen couldn't have asked for more. Cleaners in most days. Reception not open all the time but there is a number if you need them. The hotel is so quiet and really central, a 10 min walk either way veronica's or the strip. The strip is so good lots of pubs and different acts every nite. But a must if you go is Jeff Layton who plays in the Brahms and Liszt on a sat nite. Will be going back there next year lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

this complex is amazing.its very private but near all the action.very clean.the bungalow we had was brilliant.we have booked again for this november.i would recommend to everyone.ideal for families as well as groups

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Positive Aspects
1)A comparative oasis of calm, compared to Las Piramides, where I stayed 10 years ago (nights rendered sleepless by heels clumping along corridors, noisy upstairs neighbours, doors slamming, loud conversations etc). There was very little noise on site at Los Cardones - most noise comes from outside the complex (bars and restaurants if you're near the main entrance, some voices heard from the pedestrain alley-way at the side of the site, but nothing too extreme)
2)No noisy pool-bar on site - thank goodness!
3)Pool adequate for size of complex and plenty of loungers.
4)Our upstairs studio (64S) had a good sized balcony and was very good for proper self-catering - 4-ring cooker with oven, kettle, toaster, microwave and sufficient pots and utensils.
5)Hot water always available and WC, shower and fridge all worked fine.
6)Sheets/pillows/towels clean and of good quality. Regularly changed. Very good mattress.
7)Good bright lighting in the studio.
8)Good supermarkets within 5 minutes' walk. We went mostly to SuperDino. You can also get buses to most places from the same location. (Don't forget to get your BonoBus discount card if you plan to use buses a fair amount. A whole family can use the same card - no need to get one per person. A shop opposite SuperDino sells them or you can get them from a main bus station. See the TITSA website for details.)

Negative aspects.

Very few, really. And only minor ones.
1)True that reception doesn't seem to be open very much and, had some guests not been coming out of the complex when we arrived, we would have had to phone up the number at the gate. Otherwise, we had very little to do with management, which is usually a good sign that we are contented.
2)No air-conditioning, just a fan.
3)Bring a universal plug or 2. We found that the sink didn't have a plug at all and the bathroom one didn't fit very well. Luckily, we are seasoned self-caterers and they were on our holiday list!

Summary.
We had upstairs studio 64S. All in all, excellent value for money and would happily go back to Los Cardones.

Room Tip: Ground floor studios in our little block are probably a little larger, but some of them are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Cardones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cardones

Address: Av. Santiago Puig S/N | also knows as Colonial Village, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Cardones 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central complex of Apartamentos Los Cardones is located right at the heart of Playa de Las Américas, just in front of the ocean and only a few minutes walk from the Beach. The complex is located in the most exceptional area of "Playa de las Americas" in the south of Tenerife, surrounded by gardens with a splendid swimming pool with sunbeds, sunshades, and a solarium where you can enjoy a pleasant dip.We also offer you our Reception where we can concern ourselves with your special requests and offer you a wide range of services (excursions, car hire, luggage room, late check out, transfers from and to the airport, postal service, 24-hour medical service, etc ...).A complex which allows cats and dogs (up to 5 kilos) and the opportunity to relax and enjoy our magnificent climate of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Los Cardones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cardones Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Los Cardones Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cardones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.