We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location TERRIBLE staff and management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cardones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Los Cardones to your Saves list
Los Cardones
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Santiago Puig S/N | also knows as Colonial Village, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location TERRIBLE staff and management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nicely hidden away from main strip, compact bungalow and studio village! Rooms slightly outdated but had all appliances needed. Staff were rude, unpredictable and lied; 'free wifi', that we could easily extend our stay for an extra day as evening flight. turned up to open reception at whatever time suited the staff. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Los Cardones between 27.06-04.07. The apartments are good, very clean, and beds are really comfy. Only problem we had was that when we arrived, the reception was closed. There is an emergency contact number, but neither of us had roaming as it is expensive, and as freshly arrived to Tenerife, we did not have euro coins to use a phone box. We then decided to go back to the reception area and sit down outside hoping that someone will come. That's when I realised that our keys and a map was left for us on the top of their post box :) on our way to the room, the reveptionist decided to turn up and told us that he was expecting for our call( haha). There was nobody at reception at check out, so we had to leave keys in their post box. Check out was at 12, and our flight was at 6 o'clock. We couldn't leave luggage at reception as there was nobody there, and the previous day the receptionist did say that he will definitely be there, and we will be able to leave the luggage there. Luckily people from Tenerife are very helpful. Just outside Los Cardones there's a stall "Gooozy Travel" that sells tickets for all activities, we got all our tickets from there, they ( Pablo and Tina) have us very good prices, and we also left the luggage there for few hours until our airport shuttle arrived. When asked the receptionist for wifi, he entered the code himself into our device, and said that all hotels charge €30/week for wifi, he made us feel like he was doing us a favour. And wifi only works near the reception, it doesn't work in the rooms. Anyway, there is free wifi just across the road from Los Cardones in the restaurant called Los Angeles. Their food is lovely, we had breakfast there every morning. We also had food from El Americano (3mins from the hotel) and La Barca and can reccomend both. There is a not at reception which says that room is only cleaned 4times/week, towels changed 3times/week and sheets changed twice/week. Our sheets were never changed in 1 week, but that didnt bother us much. I can highly reccomend the 4hour teide quad tour, it's amazing, you go above the clouds with the quad bike. We also tried jet sky safari , parascending, the boat trip, we went to Siam and loro park, and we enjoyed them all. Overall our holiday was very good, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hard to believe places like this still exist. Rented bungalow 27d for 10 nights. Spotlessly clean accommodation. Peaceful location - yet everything "just around the corner". Lovely pool-again-so clean. Great maid service. Oh so helpful Fabre - on site Manager - nothing too much trouble. Special mention on the bed linen- so soft! The pillows, so far removed from the usual lumps. Comfortable mattresses. Free book library too. Flat screen TV. Modern easy to use Safe in room. No wonder this place is in demand - bookings for next year already. A very secure and safe place to stay, at the foot of the steps to the left an excellent Italian - Sugar & Spice". Opposite - Los Angeles for a terrific breakfast and very good value. Tucked in corner across road to left - very good shop/baby supermarket. Left and across road about 200 yards take a right. Marias - had a 16euro pedicure from Kimberley, excellent job and made to feel very welcome. Terrific Mexican restaurant "Santa Fe" - right out of apartments, left at the casino and right - tucked away down steps in a corner. Gazpacho soup best ever tasted, margeuritas sublime and melt in mouth fahitas. Tip- Place to steer clear of Vilaflor restaurant on seafront, not nice. Let's just say we were a tad ill on their glass of sangria and let's just say the staff - apart from the lovely Chinese girl out front - are frighteningly hard nosed.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a lovely place and what a lovely welcome we received after an horrendous 14 hour trip! So thank you Fabrizio you made us feel so welcome and could not do enough for us, a he could see how stressed we were.
Positives.... accommodation great, location great, swimming pool great and all very clean. Negatives..... apartments needed updating and I personally would have liked either a bar or small shop where you could get drinks whilst lazing round the pool.
Saying this I would not hesitate to stay here again and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 with my partner in a studio apartment. The apartments are located 20 minutes from the airport by taxi (costing €25). Located just around the corner from the main shopping street and on a street with several other shops, bars and restaurants, yet extremely quiet at all times. The pool is clean and quiet. Apartments are cleaned every 2/3 days. The apartment had everything we needed (including bug spray which was needed only once). Note: Use the back gate as a short-cut to get to the main street/beach (5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, massive rooms (although a bit dark!) quiet & relaxing place! No bar around the pool but a 24hr supermarket right across the road so you can stock your fridge up!! Will be using again next yr!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in December for a week in a studio apartment, the apartment was spacious and had everything we needed. The complex is in a great location next to bars, shops and restaurants. The pool is a decent size and there is plenty of sun beds to choose from no matter what time of day you go. We enjoyed it that much we have recently booked to go back early September.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Cardones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cardones

Address: Av. Santiago Puig S/N | also knows as Colonial Village, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Cardones 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central complex of Apartamentos Los Cardones is located right at the heart of Playa de Las Américas, just in front of the ocean and only a few minutes walk from the Beach. The complex is located in the most exceptional area of "Playa de las Americas" in the south of Tenerife, surrounded by gardens with a splendid swimming pool with sunbeds, sunshades, and a solarium where you can enjoy a pleasant dip.We also offer you our Reception where we can concern ourselves with your special requests and offer you a wide range of services (excursions, car hire, luggage room, late check out, transfers from and to the airport, postal service, 24-hour medical service, etc ...).A complex which allows cats and dogs (up to 5 kilos) and the opportunity to relax and enjoy our magnificent climate of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Cardones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cardones Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Los Cardones Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cardones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.