We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better but you get exactly what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa de las Americas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Save
You added Hotel Ocean Ponderosa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be better but you get exactly what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is great. Staff could be a bit more friendly, food is very repetitive and not that nice nearly the same every night. This hotel is a good hotel if you looking for somewhere to just sleep a clubbing holiday. Cockroaches in the toilet all though it was dead by the time we found it.. We was there for a week and our towels got changed once and rooms got cleaned twice furniture in the room needs changing as it's chipped etc. next time I will be defiantly looking for something better then this. Out of 10 I would give a 10 it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    84
    85
    64
    122
See reviews for
96
105
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

room was basic which i wasnt bothered i was here for the nightlife not the decor nice and cheap didnt pay much food was repetitive like most 3*** hotels you would visit all inclusive drinks was ok not a far walk from the strip all in all was satisfied would return again but maybe not go all inclusive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Food does not get rating, bar closes at 11pm, you can wait upto 25mins to get served, they run out of spirits daily, staff are not helpful and they refuse to eat at the hotel, rooms are cleaned once a week, all inclusive in for 6.5 days, not 7. There is not fruit apart from bananas, oranges, the chicken is like a weapon, you can't eat it, if you like pasta and chips, then this will work for you.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Poor food quality, most days at lunch and dinner chicken or meet balls, only the sauce changes
Terrible fish fingers, juices only from machines.
When i wanted to write in the complaint book, they told me that don´t have any !!
the director told me directly that if i called the police, it whill put me out side the hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was very worried about coming to stay here after reading all the bad reviews. Me and my boyfriend stayed her for one week and I have to say I was very surprised as we had a massive apartment a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and sea. it was very good for the money and good entertainment for young people as we are only 21-25. the only bad thing we found is that there wasn't allot of facilities for people who where self catering, we found ourselves eating out most nights. I think this is a very good hotel we wasn't in there allot mostly enjoying the sun but we would defiantly come back! not far from the sea front either witch was good. had an amazing time so don't be put off by the other bad reviews!!!

Room Tip: the rooms on the corners are the bigger ones with a big balcony and own living room and separate bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Didn't know what to expect after reading all the bad reviews..was so pleasantly surprised though. stayed here for a week all inclusive with my mother. We arrived at the hotel in the evening time and were quite hungry so headed off for dinner after check in! The waiter arrive over and asked if we would like wine, I chose red and my mother chose white. After a short time the waiter arrived back with to glasses and a jug of white and a jug of red each. We were stunned and delighted. We had rice and.chicken with salad for dinner and ice cream for dessert. There was always a great selection of pastries for breakfast which I really enjoyed. I found the food lovely as did my mother and we never went hungry. Staff were always friendly and polite. We used walk into the.centre every day for a spot of shopping and a cocktail and it was
So enjoyable. Overall I do recommend this hotel. Rooms were lovely too and we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmansworth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is an A in the title. Hotel A Ponderosa. It took us less than one day to discover that this meant "awful". The food was terrible: meat balls and fish fingers most days. Soggy rice every day and chicken so tough you could sole your boots with it. Please give this place a wide berth if you want a good holiday! Ivan W.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ocean Ponderosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.