We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the professional moaners!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa de las Americas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa
Save
You added Hotel Ocean Ponderosa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the professional moaners!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Right where to start!!! After reading the bad reviews I was in tears after booking this hotel! Me, My partner n our 18 month old son had booked a 1 bed apartment and my sister her partner n their 1year old had booked another 1 bed Apartment we seriously considered just not going!!! On arrival staff were lovely, we got apartments next to each other very spacious n clean big balconies, lots of hot water clean towels, the food was ok not the best but I've eaten worse it's more repetitive n they don't label it but it was ok for the price we paid, only down sound is the slope the hotel is on abit hard work with a pram! Overall it's a nice average hotel for the money n I have paid more N stayed in worse places than this we would go back

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    84
    85
    64
    122
See reviews for
96
106
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to the hotel at the end of may 2012, very clean pool, clean area around. Rooms were clean never saw anything horrid or any bugs. Housekeeping staff came and done our beds and towels every day or atleast every other day. Cleaned everything thuroughly. Food was good, buffet food and was very ncie. I am a very fussy eater and liked everything. 3 star hotel so dont expect a 5 star, the rooms were lovely, staff were friendly and put a lot of alchohole in your drinks. Treat them the way youd like to be treated. Bus right outside and it doesn't cost much to get a trip into christianos for markets or shopping. Have a lovely time if you book, i enjoyed the whole holiday :)

Room Tip: If you want a view just ask, reception help with whatever you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

all i can say in all honesty, this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in and thats saying something. if anyone says any different there probly bogus reviews. place is filthy, smelly, staff rubbish, pool has floaters (and thats the 1 out of 3 that was open), sunbeds broken, rooms had bare electrics, lights not working, no lock in safe, i could go on for ages but its depressing me thinking about it. went with 8 mates on a stag weekend so perhaps we kina put up with it but if i`d been there with my family, i`d have left or demanded alternative as it is dangerous...... yes DANGEROUS!!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

we stayed here all inclusive for a week. after reading the reviews we was very unsure and tbh dreading staying at the hotel! when we arrived staff were friendly enough, rooms are clean, towels are changed twice a week but when asked was changed more frequent. the rooms are also cleaned twice a week. food was not bad either there was always something to eat for each meal. only down side was the other hotel guests tbh on stag do's who where aggressive to staff, sick in the pool and noisy but they was dealt with by the manager. all in all a great holiday for the price.....you get what you pay for. we had a very enjoyable holiday and so did the kids

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Where do you start about this place?
The rooms were small and dirty, the bathroom was filthy with the toilet resembling something from Trainspotting. There was a supposed kitchen area which had 2 hobs that were rusty, the fridge didnt work (not ideal for keeping water cold) the balcony was probably the best part of the room but the sliding doors didnt lock. several lights didnt work again not good when you come in late.
As far as the staff, the manager was disinterested on his most helpful day and got much worse.
We asked for the safe key for the room to store passports money etc, the manager said there was a safe but no key!! Not very safe then was it?
We didnt see any housekeeping staff while we were there although we were only there for 3 nights no towels were replaced or offered til we were just checking out (bit late by then)
As we were a group of 9 men on a stag weekend it became part of the stitching up of the groom to be but if we came as a family i would of been livid at the state of the place.
Luckily we were room only as the other guests we spoke to said the food was barely edible.
One of the pools was roped off we assumed they were waiting for whatever died in the pool to drift to the side before they fished it out and reopened it!!!
It felt like a really cheap hostel not a '3 star' hotel.
I would recommend this hotel as a fabulous place to stay for families and groups alike.............. IF I WAS MENTALLY DERANGED!!!
Steer clear of the Pooderosa!!

Room Tip: Hotels elsewhere have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

was at this hotel from 8/6/2012 til 12/6 the hotel was not bad , ok for girls/ ladz weekend! food wasnt upto much, staff wasnt to bad apart from the head honcho! overall, satisfactory, for the money! good location for the strip etc...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start.!! Worst hotel ever, please don't stay here. We was a group of 4 lads and we can slum it, but this takes the biscuit.!! Rooms are a nice size but cleaned only once in the 6 nights that we were there. Breakfast is the only decent meal. Lunch and diner was awful. The poor staff were rushed off there feet, there is only one on at a time. This includes serving the bar area aswell as waiting on tables. The pool was filthy and hardly cleaned. The staff wouldn't put the footy on the big screen even though you can watch it in your room. Joke.!!! All I can say is, you get what you pay for.!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ocean Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Ponderosa

Address: Ave Venezuela s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean Ponderosa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Ocean Ponderosa Hotel
Hotel Ocean Ponderosa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ocean Ponderosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.