We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Ola Park Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Ola Park Apartments to your Saves list
Mar Ola Park Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Antonio Dominguez 18, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointing Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Right now I envisaged reviewing the Mar Ola Park hotel following what I hoped and assumed would be a great stay in a highly rated and apparently well thought of hotel. It is actually ranked no.1 out of 60 hotels in las americas. But no, I am unable to review this hotel because upon arrival my party of 4 was informed the hotel was overbooked and we were to be 'upgraded' to the hotel next door. A hotel ranked 55 out of 60 hotels in las americas! We told the receptionist how unhappy we were about this but were informed we were in fact lucky not to be located to another resort!
The hotel next door was a 3 star (mar ola park is 2 star), however it was clearly not an upgrade. Studios did not even provide a kettle without a 20 Euro deposit. The receptionist at the mar ola did not appear to care about our disappointment with the situation. No compensation or gesture of goodwill was offered (free breakfast maybe?).
Therefore I rate this hotel 1 out of 5 and I will never try to book into it again because even though we had been booked since june (through travel republic by the way), I believe there is no guarantee I would end up actually staying there.
So disappointed to be writing this because for the first time ever I had actually researched hotels for good accomodation and deliberately chose and booked here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    108
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
82
141
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple in July. We had a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool which was fantastic.
Room was cleaned everyday and we were given clean towels most days, we even had beach towels to use by the pool which was great so you don't have to pack your own. The pool area was lovely and the sun beds were cleaned every morning. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant most days which was very nice with plenty of items to choose from. We also ate at the pool bar (pizza and chicken nuggets yum yum) and theres were very cheap.
The hotel was full of couples and young groups of girls and boys but they wasn't any trouble so the pool was mainly very quiet.
The location was excellent for us as we like to look in the shops on the way to the beach. Roughly 10 mins to beach, 10 mins to safari shopping centre and 5 mins to bars and restaurants.
I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone wanting a cheap, clean quiet hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were in this hotel in October lately.
1. Room - is cleaning 4 times a week, so after a weekend we had a full bin -.-. But it's quite big and comfortable with a fully-equipped kitchen <3. There's a boiler also, so it's needed to take a short shower. The main minus this accommodation was lack of air conditioning :( there's a fan, but during a night, when u have to close windows (from the street view) it's coming to be a very humidity air in the room. BTW. you have to wait until 2 pm to check-in.
2. Staff- very helpful people at reception, telling you where is what and how to get there :)
3. We had a breakfast there only - proper English breakfast :/ in buffet but you can compose what you like.
So in this price - yep, I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Take rooms with A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed in the marola after being moved from laganna park 2 couldnt stay 1 night in that place .the marola is brilliant very clean rooms staff brilliant coulndt wish for anything better for your holiday its brilliant

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week in Sep '12 and had a really lovely time. Hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the beach and there is a big supermarket just 2 mins away.

There are loads of restaraunts within walking distance, would recommend the chinese across the road and Meson Castellano.

The hotel is really clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Really enjoyed happy hour at the hotel bar where they had delicious cocktails which were buy one get one free!!!

Only downside was that there's no air conditioning in the rooms but there are fans.

Hope to return next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just home from a 2 week stay at Marola park, cannot fault this one bit, spotlessly clean everywhere even the loungers by the pool were washed down every day, lovely little touches around foyer area bowls with sweets or nuts and fruit alongside jugs of fresh water. All staff very friendly and always willing too help. The area for us was perfect lots to do around the immediate vicinity local shop just downstairs sells most things and fresh bread every morning lovely people run this too, Chinese restaurant opposite Gran familia very nice food and service ate there few times, open till 1am can get 3 course meal inc drink for 7.95e on same side as apartments small eat in/ takeaway called Meditteraneo 2 beers and a pizza 7.40e, supermarket within 5 minute walk beach you can do in 10 minutes.The marola itself we never ate in mainly because we like to eat at different times but we were told by others food was very nice, meals we ate at snack/pool bar very nice and happy hour 6.30 to 8.30 by one get one free inc cocktails 5e lovely :) .pool area lovely and gets sun all day long, rooms very clean and had everything we needed in it we couldn't get any English channels on our tv but this didn't bother us we took iPad and paid 18e for wifi in room for when we had our chill time on balcony.would definitely recommend this to any age group it's close enough to lots of bars restaurants etc but also in quiet area so for us was best of both.cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Pool view rooms better you can email hotel to request rooms as in pool view or top floor we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just home after a brilliant holiday in Tenerife, it was our first time in tenerife and these apartments were great very pleased when we arrived to friendly staff and very clean apartments, the maids were round about 12 out of 14 days for cleaning which we were impressed with also loads of towels left so could use them for around the pool, the pool area and sun beds were also cleaned on a daily basis, We never had any food at the hotel as there was so many restaurants around to choose from, would recommend when looking for restaurants to go towards the harbour as nice places overlooking the sea ( amazin around sunset time) and very reasonable prices too. Would definately recommend these apartments and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Ola Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ola Park Apartments

Address: Avenida de Antonio Dominguez 18, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mar Ola Park Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Ola Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Ola Park Apartments Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Mar Ola Apartments
Mar Ola Park Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Ola Park Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.