We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly Needs Make-over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Conquistador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Conquistador to your Saves list
H10 Conquistador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hull, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Badly Needs Make-over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is not now a 4 starplus hotel (4 years ago) - more like 3 star plus since H10 group of companies took it over and has been run down. General cleanliness good but corridors to rooms not often hoovered. Rooms small unlesss you pay for premium room.
We shared ours with a colony of Pharoa ants and could not leave a piece of edible material anywere without it becoming infested.Food of good quality but when cooked and served on COLD plates it was cold when it reached the table. Soups usualy tepid even when restaurant just opened. Selection of salads poor as was cereals for breakfast. Senior waiter had never heard of porridge - hard on the Scots! Excellent pianist for dancing but poor entertainment. Pool area good but have to pay for towels (1.50 euros)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    854
    282
    97
    46
See reviews for
671
1,479
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for location as i wanted a sea view, which we had and was lovely and quiet. The room itself was adequate, could have done with more storage space.

We paid for half board but on the first night had to join the queue for our meal and after trying to find a seat queued again for our food. We were very disappointed and left our meal. However, the hotel did swap our evening meal for lunch instead. Lunch was at the poolside bar, very quiet and relaxed, more our style. There was a good variety for breakfast but again was fairly busy.

The pool area was always busy. There was entertainment such as water polo, fashion shows etc which was good.

There was entertainment in the hotel every evening, very Butlins! Fine if you wanted a late drink. We tended to stay in the lounge bar but felt it still lacked atmosphere.

Staff at the hotel were all helpful and the hotel sent me champagne for my birthday which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Excellent location and first impressions were favourable. The check in was very efficient and the room was one of the rooms due for refurbishment on the second floor and of a reasonable standard. The rooms from the third floor up have been refurbished. The food was okay and typical hotel fare and if you avoided the early rush then there was no problem in getting a table or having to queue to be served.
In the morning the towels were out very early reserving sun beds but it was possible to get a sun bed however you could find yourself in the shade for some of the day. The smaller of the two pools was heated.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed at the Conquistador for a long weekend. The foyer is very impressive on arrival, nice and clean and staff were welcoming. However, taking our bags up to the first floor was difficult as there were only two lifts out of the four working and every lift that arrived was jam packed with people, too lazy to walk! In the end the belboy took us up in the service lift. The carpet along the corridors definately needs replacing as it was full of marks and stains and looked very tatty. Our room was clean and tidy but the furniture was very old and dated. The wardrobes doors were creaky and there was no chest of drawers to put anything. The decoration was plain and quite old. Bathroom was clean and as expected. A VERY SMALL AND VERY BASIC ROOM.

Buffet breakfast was great, lots of choice of everything from cakes, breads, cereals, cooked breakfast to cavier and champagne. There was several counters loaded up with food so no queing for anything, which was great.

Sunbeds - There were loads of them and if you got up early enough you could bag a sunbed in a sunny spot for the day, but if you left it too late you only got the ones that never had any sun at all. Cushions and towels could be hired for 1.50 euro per day, which was very reasonable.

Location was great, sea front is a stones throw away along with Los Christianos and Veronicas bars and clubs.

Overall this hotel was okay to stay in although dated.

Our only disappointment was that 4* hotels don't seem to be that plush anymore and you could probably stay in a 3* hotel and get better rooms. There was no fridge, tea facilities or any extras, just a small basic room which is not what we expect from 4*.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Spent week 1st-8th November at the Conquistador. Found the hotel to be very good value. The pool area was uncrowded and the location was excellent. The restaurant had plenty of variety of foods and we had no fault to find with the food at all. We had a late check out on day of departure and were given good showering and changing facilities before our departure. We found all the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We ware for one week in this hotel. Arriving at 22h00 there was no possibility to have dinner. A long queue on the reception desk and unfriendly personal. You have to pay for a room safe!
The location is fantastic, also the swimming pool. Unfortunately there’s a very noisy airco on the roof of the hotel!
You have to pay every day for towels, mats and internet.
The restaurant is an average student mass restaurant. Spanish wines are OK and inexpensive.
We will not come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

A beautiful hotel in a great location pool brilliant and sunbeds always available good size clean rooms and maids service excellent. Pity about the food it was terrible everything was luke warm they seemed to cater mainly for German and Spanish taste. we had to queue for meat or eggs to be cooked it was like a cattle market The overworked staff were understandably grumpy. The reception were sour faced too.
But we had a lovely holiday and would go back again this time avoiding restaurant and eat out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Conquistador

Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea on the Playa de las Américas, and with direct access to the promenade, the H10 Conquistador was recently revamped with a luminous and cutting-edge interior design. The hotel has also strengthened its commitment to gastronomy by opening a new à la carte restaurant, La Vita e Bella, serving select Mediterranean specialities with an Italian flavour, and a new coffee&tea shop - Mike's Coffee -, which boasts a wide selection range of teas, coffees and assorted homemade cakes and cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your H10 Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Conquistador Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tenerife Conquistador
h10 Conquistador Resort
Conquistador Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Conquistador Tenerife
Conquistador Tenerife
H10 Conquistador Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Conquistador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.