We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as is was two years ago/staff all excellent , but we all miss Yvonne the PA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Tenerife to your Saves list
Best Tenerife
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Dominguez Alfonso 6, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as is was two years ago/staff all excellent , but we all miss Yvonne the PA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We have spent ten years going to Tenerife the last six at The Best(formerly Tenerife Princess)....sadly since it changed hands about 2 1/2 years ago standards have dropped food is now only fair, must admit finally got two drawers in which to put undies instead of living out of suitcases!! this only on 2nd week of holiday !!.
The very good PA Yvonne who was liked by all Brits Dutch Belgians and most of the Germans...she was fair and told people re saving loungers from 8am and returning to use them at 3pm that this was not a fair practice Maybe this is why she was sacked .
We went back this year to be able to see our friends 2 lovely German couples and dutch and 20 English/welsh so we could say GOODBYE Yes we are not going back there. Will stick to Thomson Gold in Spain from now on the food there is edible.
The staff at The Best are really super and we will miss then all very much
Bette & Peter Cheltenham

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    503
    220
    78
    46
See reviews for
473
485
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bearsden scotland uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

have stayed many times in this hotel as both tenerife princess and now best tenerifebut sadly this i fear is my last visit .we had everything from single beds pushed together for a double to cold food and wrong orders served at the pool restuarant and continental breakfast coffee that was undrinkable despite the pool bar coffee being excellent.to change lunch for dinner was so much hassle we gave up trying.problems are acceptable in any environment it is how you deal with them that matters.i advised the hotel pr of my problems and said that the staff were not the same happy .bunch they used to be.the chefs used to sing in the evenings when show cooking and friendly smiling faces were the norm now it is only some of the staff who look happy at their work.
she took my details and left and i heard nothing fromher either in writing email or verbal until today seven days later. rception did eventually organise our bed for which i was grateful but it was all too much hassle. the animation team at the hotel were excellent and always happy at their tasks which of course transferred to their participating guests. a good hotel in excellent location but if it continues on the smae track it will be a quiet place. it saddens me after so many viists to write this but they should be made aware of their short comings.when i requested the late reception desk on fri 22nd jan to organise an extended check out at a cost it was not possible until 1000am on day of departure .again more rules and no finalisation available . i said it was difficult to achieve anything in the hotel and he suggested i stay at another hotel next time.not quite the way to encourage your regular customers to return.i have also completed a hotel questionaire to go back to head office.

ian whitelaw

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed in the Best Tenerife from the 14th of January to the 24th of January. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and we didn`t have long to wait for our room as we had arrived early. We were put in to an apartment of the hotel at the ground level. The room had a balcony was quite spacious. We had asked for a double bed but were given 2 single beds which we joined together. The pool was very good & the heated pool was in fact heated which was brilliant. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, we stayed Half Board basis so Breakfast & Dinner was included, Both were buffet.......The only complaint I had about Breakfast was that the Tea Coffee machines were cold, they must be set for that temperature . I drank my Coffee in Cafe`s nearby instead. The shower head in our bedroom used to flood the bathroom every morning so we placed a note for the Cleaners to change shower head, this wasn`t done so a few days passed & we left another note and this time it was replaced. The Mattress in the hotel was very very bad on both beds, they would need replacing... Also the Flushing system in the hotel was very noisy we could hear the other rooms flushing at night. The corridor from our area was in bad need of repair as in the tiling was broken on the ground and was cracked and left on the carpet & no one in maintenance ever repaired. Saw 2 Cockroaches in the restaurant at breakfast but the Waiter quickly got rid of them. The bar drinks are more expensive here than the other hotels across the road. The entertainment at night was ok not great. Happy Hour was 4 to 5 which we thought was a bit too early so we found another hotel across the road with happy hour from 6 to 7. All together this was a great holiday & will definitely return, please Change the Mattresses.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

this hotel is excellent ,i stayed here when it was halfboard.i have now booked allinclusive ,with my grandchildren on 28th may 2010.superb hotel the staff where excellent they couldent do enough for us. and i know we are going to have a nice holiday in may this year take my advice book here top class.s mackintosh

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We just returned from there and have nothing but nice things to say about the Best Tenerife. We did a last-minute vacation for 4 nights with 6, 4, and 1.5 year old children. Had the meal plan (media pension) with breakfast and dinner that included all food but no drinks.

The room we had looked over the pool area and out towards the ocean. The hotel is about 3-4 blocks from the beach (Playa) that takes you through a great commercial area that is a fun walk in itself. We spent the mornings at the beach, ate lunch in the commercial area restaurants, and returned to the hotel for afternoon swimming until dinner. The pool area has a great bar/restaurant that we used for lunch a couple times and enjoyed the food.

There are five pools. The´"kids" pool was not heated and was too cold. The large pool was also not heated, and one of the hotubs was being repaired. That left the smaller heated pool and one jacuzzi that was semi-heated. By in large, the one pool was great for all purposes in the winter. It is walk in (no steps) which was perfect for our toddler to sit and play at ankle-depth. The other parts were no deeper than 2.5 ft (0.8 meters) and was not too deep for either of our other kids to play at leisure. They had a blast and swam constantly for four straight days.

The food in the main dining area was very good and everyone had what they wanted to eat each meal. The staff is very pro-active and keeps the chow well stocked and presentable for the 1.5-2-5 hours that the meals run. My only complaint is that the coffee was from an instant machine. After the first couple days I went light on breakfast coffee and got a ´real´cafe from one of the bars in the other parts of the hotel.

The staff was very responsive and actually extended some courtesies to us we knew were not standard (e.g. letting us try a pair of shoes to ensure the daughter liked them). The housekeeping staff did a fine job and our room was real nice. The beds were pushed together plus we had a crib so we were as cozy as you could expect for two adults, two kiddos, and one baby in a common sleeping arrangement. The balcony was a nice place at night, and even with the club music, the kids slept well.

Oh, one thing else, every night there is a ´mini-disco´ for kids. They do a great job getting them involved before the other entertainment each night. The kids slept like the dead after all the swimming, eating, and dancing each afternoon and evening.

We love this hotel. It is not brand new, but it is very well run and was a great family vacation. We´ll definitely stay here again if we return to Tenerife.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgerdi, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Hotel is quite old but renovated.
Specious room but two single beds in double room. It is worth only to take room with a view on a pool any other is not recommended ( busy street, buildings).
Food in the restaurant is absolutely fantastic!
Beautiful swimming pool area with nice entertainment show every evening.
Actually just in the city center.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

There are so many fantastic things that i can say about this hotel .
The hotel and the staff that works in it are amazing , They are really amazing peple and i wish i could just go back there and stay forever . Food in the hotel was cool , i can really say that , it was so tasty , hot and there was a huge choice , absouletly huge !
The room was so good as well , it was cleaned everyday , it was quite big too , I thought it was fantastic . Everyone in the hotel were so helpful and so nice , no matter what you asked them for . In one word the hotel was AWESOME . Everything about it is just Perfect xxxx

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Tenerife

Address: Calle Dominguez Alfonso 6, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Tenerife 3.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Best Tenerife is located in the South of Tenerife, on the well known beach of Las Americas and only 300m. from Las Vistas beach. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Restaurant and Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Best Tenerife
Tenerife Princess Hotel
Hotel Tenerife Princess
Best Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.