We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Blanco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oro Blanco to your Saves list
Oro Blanco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 12, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in the Oro Blanco 16th Oct for 1 week. There was 2 of us and we had a studio but this was space enough, the room looked like it had not long been painted and was clean. The maids were in nearly every day to tidy up, towels were changed once.
Good location for going down the busy strip where most of the lively bars and clubs are. You do have to walk past some strip clubs and ladies of the night but we never got any bother. ( we were female).
There's a decent sized pool which was clean and had a kids part and the pool bar makes decent snacks for a few euros, only downside happy hour was only for an hour every night.
If you're out and about to eat there's plenty choice and very reasonable, we had a chinese buffet for 7 euros, food was nice and fresh and the Aberdeen Angus steak houses do a 3 course meal for 8 euros which was really nice.
Unfortunately didn't get to the beach as it was cloudy most of the time we were there.
If you're looking for apartments that are cheap and cheerful and a good location then the Oro Blanco's good value for money. There was a lot of families there but to be honest hardly heard any noise at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    222
    147
    50
    49
See reviews for
128
165
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co down
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

At 1st we where a bit shocked by the decor,but decor isnt everything it is a central location for gr8 nightlife 10 min walk,but be aware of hookers!!!!!!!!!!!!!thats all i will say about that.staff where fine,rooms clean, pool area clean and you get wot u pay 4..... we had a gr8 holiday.p.s no air conditioning,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay at the oro blanco and have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. After reading the reviews the 4 of us were apprehensive to say the least about staying here. We arrived about 1.30 am and didn't need to pay the security deposit which impressed us straight away. We had room 132, a 2 bedroom apt overlooking the pool, ok it needed modernising but was spacious and had everything we needed, more importantly it was clean.

Location is excellent, couple of minutes away from all the nightlife and a 24 hour supermarket next door.

Cannot write this review without mentioning jen our rep, too girl, really helpful and not in ur face at all, jen team irn bru love u!!! Overall we had a fantastic holiday and I will def return to the oro blanco!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

me and 5 of my friends came here in july for a girls holiday, not expecting a lot from the negative reviews. It was such a good holiday, the hotel was clean and the staff were so friendly! It is right next to a 24 hour shop and it was just amazing! we all want to come back and see barry the receptionist! I LOVE YOU BARRY! I LOVE TENERIFE I LOVE ORO BLACO!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just landed back from our stay at this hotel yesterday, there were 4 of us and we were there for a week and cannot fault it at all. Location was perfect just 5 mins walk down to the beach, hotel was clean and the rooms were very spacious. Maids were with us at least 3 times during the week and were all very friendly. Pool area was nice and clean. The food was superb and very reasonably priced too.

When we read some of the reviews on this hotel regarding Muggers Alley and Cockroaches etc, we were expecting to arrive to a right dive of a place, and were so shocked with everything when we got there, can't believe some of the bad reviews it's had!! We saw one cockroach all week and that was on our last day. Some of our friends were staying in a hotel down the road which was a 3* hotel and they said their rooms were plastered in cockroaches!

Really cannot fault the place and are already booking to return there next year :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

not very happy with this hotel saw loads of cockroaches and lots of noisy lads on stag hols shouting all through the bnight they nearly woke up srcurity. i would not recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We went to Tenerife just for the week. When we arrived at the hotel there was a 30 euro deposit charge but just for adults and at the end of our stay they returned the money. when we got to the room it was clean but there were a lot of ants around the bedroom floors. we had two bedrooms a bathroom, kitchen and room with a sofa and TV but you had to pay 1 euro every hour to use it. The cleaners only came in once during the whole stay and only changed the towels and made the beds but DIDN'T change the bed covers?!! at night it was quite noisy as we could hear the music playing from the night clubs just down the road. We sat on the balcony at night which was fine but there were a few loud groups of boys that would constantly shout and mess about until about 12 at night which was irritating and annoying to listen to while trying to sleep. There was a mini supermarket a tourist shop and cafe which was right next to the hotel which was handy. You have to pay for certain facilities in the hotel such as the mattresses for the sun beds and if you want to use the wash room, jacuzzi or sauna which is fair enough. In the day when we came back from being out if we wanted to relax for abit we just sat on the sun terrace for five as the pool was always over crowded. The hotel reception were friendly and easy to talk to. Overall I would say our stay was fine as we were out every day going places but I wouldn't recommend it for small children because of it being a night life area and abit loud when there trying to sleep or to family's that prefer a more quieter relaxed atmosphere. I wouldn't stay there again but the rooms were spacious and we were out most of the time so it was ok just for the week.

Room Tip: The rooms were fine just check around the floors maybe first because there were alot of ants and a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oro Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oro Blanco

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 12, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oro Blanco 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oro Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Blanco Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Oro Blanco Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Blanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.