We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prijs / kwaliteit onovertroffen ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rumst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“prijs / kwaliteit onovertroffen ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

In 2003 first visit ..till 2005 ....since also experienced Sir Anthony (2006till 2011) Back to Cleopatra in 2012 and from there 3 times a year (march,october,december)
Last visit was from 9-17/03/2014;
The quality and service where even improved !!!
Breakfast:TOP choice and perfect improvement of the routing (of course it is self service,of course it is anonymus:but price/ quality SUPERB)
Housekeeping:more than perfect !Turn down service impeccable;
Reception :super pro and efficient.
Probably the rooms need an update in the coming years....But at this moment our 4th floor room with a tremendous terrace is our dream location ! (and more accesible than in Sir Anthony =stairs!)We can only look forward to our next stay in october and hope the tripadvisor ranking will be more realistic (It is worth to be in the top 5 of playa)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    540
    184
    52
    28
See reviews for
319
936
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Returned from a stay in the Cleopatra with a group of 60 people. The hotel has a fantastic entrance and great public areas. Check in for our guests was quick and efficient. The pool area is great and kept very clean. The breakfast had lots of great treats to try. If you go early there is no problem with seating or getting served, could not believe the foods that were on offer,you really could have anything you desired from a continental to full english.
The downside maybe could be the standard of bedrooms..some were dated and a little tired and could maybe do with an update buy hey everything else about the hotel was fantastic and the location cannot be beaten.The staff were very very good and helped with last minuet changes either with meetings, gala dinner or room changes for our guests. Overall I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

I´m glad to know that our services and facilities have been up to your expectations.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for more information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

stayed at the cleopatra for 2weeks what a super hotel breakfasts were amazing plenty of sunbeds round pool area and very clean friendly staff and very good room service.would highly recommend this hotel and would return

Room Tip: room 9304 has a side view with late afternoon sun you can also see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting here your short but positive review.

I´m most pleased to know of your satisfaction and hopefulle we will have the chance to welcoe you again soon.

I suggest you to visit our web page, where you will find more useful information for future bookings.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Cleopatra is in a great position right on the sea front, with a level walkway stretching out in both directions for miles. The beach in this area is white and sandy unlike some areas of Tenerife.
The hotel itself is large with many open public areas so it never feels crowded inside, and outside around the pool even though it was busy there were always beds available; this was despite the fact that people were down putting their towels on the sun loungers before their breakfasts. (There was a note asking people not to do this but it was not policed).

Breakfast, what can I say, it was fantastic, anything and everything you could wish for was there,
one area looked like the deli counter in Waitrose with all the cooked meats, another was piled high with champagne, strawberries and chocolates, bear in mind this was breakfast. Bowls of almonds, walnuts and nut brittle to scatter on the many flavours of yogurts. Juices were freshly squeezed, there must have been 6 different flavours, creme brulee, assorted breads and croissants + all the usual bacon/egg etc.

The only downside to the above was that the coffee machines ran out every single morning we were there, 8th to 15th March 2014 and apparantly this also happened the previous 2 weeks according to other guests and the waiting staff were too busy clearing tables to refill them for quite a while. On the plus side the coffee that was put in the machines was a good quality (Lavazza)

We stayed in room 9211, it was nice and quiet and the bed was huge, fantastic. Not sure if the hotel will still be as quiet in future as the Saturday we left was the official opening of the Hard Rock Cafe which is attached to the hotel. It will be a shame if it is not as this will prevent us going in the future as I am sure it will others because I am sure one of the reasons people choose this hotel is because of the peace and quiet (also no children running around.

Taking into account the above we will return and would have no hesitation recomending this hotel
to others

Also Chris who works in the bar is a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive and detailed report and for posting it here on Tripadvisor.

I´m very happy to read that you have found most of our services satisfactory and I will take good note of your suggestions on how to improve our breakfast.

I would also like to inform you that our new Hard Rock Cafe is open from last December although we have recently celebrated its oficial Grand Opening, as you have noticed.

Nothing could please me more than welcoming you again in future visits to the island.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for more information about prices and availability.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Cleopatra after about 3or4 years. I love the hotel as I have been there about 12 times, the location speaks for itself.
This time I felt there was not enough staff at the important times, breakfast for instance, there were queues for the toast , hot water , eggs etc..
Tables were not set quick enough, also there was not as much food as previous times, I counted as many as 6 canned fruits, why not fresh.?
The housekeeping staff worked flat out, but struggled to do to get rooms done . Ours was not done once by 17..00 .

But still the hotel is great, Chris in the Cleopatra bar, and the young Spanish guy in the pool bar were just great.
I will be returning in August , so I hope these niggles are resolved..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in spite of the few points where you find we need improvements.

Regarding the breakfast, it is difficult to get fresh fruit in winter so we increase the number of canned options although we still offer local fresh fruit. We maintain the same number of staff as in your previous visits. However the big affluence of guests at the same moment can cause temporary delays.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

We will be happy to welcome you again next summer. Please, feel free to contact us through our web page for anything you need.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here from 26 Feb to 7th March 2014. What a super holiday, no need to rush to get a sun lounger there were always plenty available and not squeezed tightly together either.
The pool was lovely and often you would have it to yourself despite the hotel being fully booked. The Cleopatra seems to attract the quieter couples who are looking for peace and quiet, perfect if you want to relax in the sun and read your book. For families wanting more activity, you can access the Mediterranean Palace via a walk through, an entertainment team awaits with daily activities. Peace and quiet however was perfect for us.
The hotel location is fantastic, right on the beach, and surrounded by lots of nice shops, restaurants and bars.
Breakfast was second to none, with something to suit everyone, even cava was complimentary each morning, sometimes with Strawberries or Chocolates, one day even Caviar.
One thing I would have changed though is the plastic lined mattress protector, although it was under a nice sheet, it would get wrinkled resulting in hard creases to lie on. This really irritated me and I had to keep stretching it out to flatten them all the time.
I must mention how good the reception staff are, especially a lady named Sandra, nothing was too much trouble for her, and all requests were carried out while wearing a beaming smile.
We would return to The Cleopatra Palace without hesitation, I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are away from the pyramid, nearer the beach. Part of the pyramid is now home to Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive report.

I´m happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and location, as well as the service provided by Mrs. Sandra Romanillos, a great asset to this hotel. I will pass her your congratulations.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

During my half term break from school in February my husband I visited the cleopatra palace hotel.we have visited this area a few times and decided to splash out on a good quality hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location, opposite the beach and near the shops, restaurants etc. our welcome was good, we were offered a glass of bubbly, and taken to our room which was a bit dated, but large, lovely balcony, large bathroom and bed. The service was great, food lovely, but every day when we settled down to relax by the pool, and that is the main reason most people need to get away in an English winter, the drilling started by the Hard Rock Cafe steps area and at the side of the hotel. We are tolerant people, but it was every day all day. We moved next door to the meditteranean palace to sunbath, but what is the point really when we had paid for the cleopatra. My dilemma is that we are looking to book next year and are bringing a couple of friends who will not accept this sort of noise on holiday. Do we book at the cleopatra, as we had no prior warning to the work being done, or do we choose another hotel for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

I´m glad to read that you have enjoyed most of our services and facilities and I´m sorry to know that the works at the Pyramid of Arona have annoyed you while in the resort. Luckily you can always use the other pool area, as these facilities are common for all our guests.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us through our web page for any information about rooms, availability, etc. We´ll be glad to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.