We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Cleopatra Palace and we were not disappointed! The room was a touch dated but was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was our Silver Anniversary when we were there so we decided to treat ourselves to a superior room with a plunge pool on the balcony, it was worth every penny! The balcony was MASSIVE, there were 3 sunbeds, 2 chairs and a table as well as a parasol , you could of easily sat 4 or 5 people in the pool, OBV its not for swimming in, just nice to chill in. The hotel staff were all friendly, nothing was too much trouble and on the day of our anniversary we came back to find a bottle of cava on ice with a tray of fruit, and rose petals scattered on the bed, in the sink and in the plunge pool! Even though I knew from other reviews that they did this, it still felt special. We also were given a cake at breakfast!
We stayed B&B and the choice was vast, and you could have omelettes cooked to order. The only thing for me was the bacon is streaky, I would prefer back bacon but that is the only thing in the whole stay that I could fault them on, There was even a salad bar at breakfast and on a couple of days I made a ham salad roll up for my husband to have later!
The pool area is just beautiful, non of the pictures I have seen do it justice and there were plenty of sunbeds at any time of day, but this was in June so I don't know what it would be like in high season. All in all I would recommend this hotel and definitely intend to go back there.
As others have said, the location is perfect. The beach is right on he doorstep and there are other beaches within a short walk.

Room Tip: The superior room is worth the extra as the balcony is enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Gillian_1175,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your impressions about your recent stay at the Cleopatra Palace.

I´m most pleased to know of your satisfaction with our services and facilities. To us, it is a honour being chosen for special dates like anniversaries, etc. and this is the reason why we like having little gestures to contribute to the success of the celebration.

I will ask our chef to check the bacon cooking process and its quality as well, just to make sure that we are doing things right. on the other hand I remind you that during the day time you can use the facilities of our snack bar Cleopatra and Vitamina´s bar if you wish to have something to eat.

For us it will be a pleasure to welcome you again whenever you wish. do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need regarding your next booking. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    418
    132
    43
    21
See reviews for
243
696
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have alwways wanted to stay in this hotel as the location is perfect and from the outside it looked beautiful.

When we got to the hotel the reception staff where very helpful and the service was geat, hotel is very grand looking but very tired it looks as though it was beautiful hotel - in its day.

We got to our room it was a nice clean room a little tired shower was fine and the only issue with the room for me was the terribly uncomfortable bed. This was a dissapoitment.

The breakfast was a basic buffet style breakfast with lots of choice but hot food was not very hot.

The entertainment wasnt very good for children and the mini disco(in the sister hotel) played foreign songs didnt really cater for english.

We went to the mediterainian palace pool on the last day and the water was quite warm, we wouldnt go to the cleopatra palace pool as we have a young daughter and there are stairs leading up to the pool so she would not be in view if she was in the pool whilst I nearby. The mediteranian palace seemed alot better than the cleopatra palace (its sister hotel).

I would personally rate the hotel as a 3 star. The staff were also pleasant and helpfull.

My sister in law was staying at the marylanza so we went there most days that hotel is stunning new modern with lovley food. We would not go back to cleopatra palace but we would go back to the marylanza which is only about 8-10 minuites walk from the cleopatra palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jodi e,

Thank you vewry much for your extended report.

I´m really sorry to read that in general terms you don´t feel satisfied with the service received. It is a shame that your first experience with us has been so dissapointing.

However your opinion is very important for us as we can detect where we are failing and take the necessary measures to improve our service and eradicate possible mistakes or service failures, and this is the reason why I thank you for your effort. I will have my team checking some of the points you have mentioned ( uncomfortable bed, food temperature, etc) to make sure that any issue is immediatelly corrected.

I appreciate your positive comments ondifferent aspects of your stay, like the cleanliness of the room, staff attitude, etc.

Although you have expressed your intention of not returning, I hope that you will enjoy any future stay in Tenerife with your family, and of course, if you change your mind, we will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel twice before this will be our third time and this time we have upgraded our room, we have had a lovely time previously you can not fault any thing about this hotel reading some of the reviews about in need of a re vamp I hope my room is beautiful i think having a lovely room set your holiday off to a good start and makes you want to come back like we are xx

Room Tip: sea view very quiet always sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear boltonAva,

Thank you very much for your nice words regarding your experience with us. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays and you intend to return.

The hotel is 18 years old now and during its life we have carried out different works to maintain its level up to our guests expectations. Of course we will continue doing so and I hope that you will have the chance to enjoy all the improvements.

I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty trroughout the latest years, much appreciated.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel. The staff are lovely and the pool is amazing. The only down side is the rooms are ready for a revamp. If they get this sorted this will be the best hotel in Tenerife.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Glen32,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I totally agree with you that a room refurbishment would turn ours into one of the best Hotels of Tenerife and we intend to carry it out as soon as possible.

I hope that you have enjoyed the rest of facilities and services provided during your stay.

Please, do not hesitate to ask for anything you need during a future holiday. We´ll be happy to meet your requests.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cleopatra Palace is part of the Mare Nostrum resort in Playa las Americas tenerife. Hotel is architecturally beautiful, situated on the sea front and within very easy walking distance to a wide variety of shops, restaurants and bars. Service in this hotel is excellent, nothing is too much trouble for them ( we questioned comfort of beds after first night and toppers were added on top of matresses which resolved the problem within a few hours). Safe is free, wardrobes have plenty of space. Rooms are spacious and clean, with well appointed large bathrooms, with double sinks and an amazing shower. Balconies are great for sitting out in early evening. The only disappointment was the breakfast. The choice was wide and varied, but quality of some of the food was poor and it was often cold despite us being early risers and at breakfast well before 9am most mornings. Beach, as well as being on the hotels doorstep, is well catered and clean. This hotel is very quiet, with residents of an older demographic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Aisling P,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I am glad to read that the general balace of your stay has been positive, in spite of the few negative points you have mentioned.

I will verify that the food temperature at breakfast is up to the level expected, as well as the quality of the products. Sometimes a non detected failure may be detrimental to the quality of the general service, which is something we want to avoid. Thank you very much for letting us know.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again sometime and hopefully with an improved breakfast temperature.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

ust spent 5 days here with my wife on her birthday and had a wonderful time, We had a third floor room with a sea view which was a bit extra but well worth it to look out over the ocean and hear the sound of the waves,
If you are a beach person the beach is just outside the front of the hotel but the swimming pools are just as nice within the hotel grounds.

The breakfast offers everything you could think of and many that you would not think of but all fresh and beautifully cooked.
The hotel ask if you are celebrating a birthday and go out of their way to help you feel special including a very nice birthday cake and a special preparation of your room on your birthday
We have stayed in hotels all over the world but this one is a match for most that I have ever stayed in very very highly recommended - Well done to everyone at Cleopatra Palace

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Richard SFC,

First of all let me thank you for your kindness sharing here you comments about your recent experience with us.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our services, specially those destined to celebrate your birthday. Whenever we have the right information, we enjoy surprising our guests on those special dates.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us for anything you need regarding your next booking. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week in the Cleopatra.

Check In
As soon as we got off the bus the staff were there to collect our bags and give us a class of champagne. Check in was quick and staff friendly.

Room
We were on the 2nd floor, room 8225 with a pool view. View was great. Room was a good size - king bed, bedside tables, table and chairs, luggage rack, drawers, desk, wardrobe which had a safe free of charge. Room also had a fridge but you had to pay to use it. Bathroom was a decent size, plenty of storage and decent hairdryer so no need to take your own. Room wasnt to dated, very clean, spacious and comfy so couldnt complain.

Food
We were on a bed and breakfast basis. Food was a buffet, plenty of choice but can get repetitive as like any buffet. Food by the pool was fine. Didnt have evening meals so cannot comment

Pool
Lovely pool. Plenty of sunloungers. Your towels may get removed if you try and reserve the beds as we learnt. The main pool is bigger than you think. Has a little jacuzzi pool and shallow pool for the kids.

Location
Perfect! You can also use the Mediterranean hotel next door for food, pool and activities. Straight in front of the hotel is the beach and the safari food area which has lots of good quality restaurants including mexican, chinese/tappenyaki (must try), indian, italian, british etc. Supermarket just outside the hotel. You can walk anywhere from the hotel.

There is a spa at the hotel aswell as tennis courts. At the med hotel there is a gym, football pitch which you can also use.

Cant fault this hotel. Free wifi in the hotel. Will def be returning! The cleo is quieter compared to the med so depends if your a couple or family and what you prefer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jenhuni88,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and for sharing it here.

As you wrote, staying at the Cleopatra Palace has many advantages: those related to any good hotel and those coming from the fact of being part of a bigger resort. To these, you must add a first class location and plenty of facilities in the area.

It is then in our hands to offer you a good service and a warm welcome that completes the equation resulting in a good holiday.

We are glad to read that in your case we have been right.

Thank you very much for sharing here your positive comments.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.