We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SUPERB HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Cleopatra Palace Hotel in two years. It is a super hotel right on the Beach. Directly across the road from what must be 7 of the best restaurants in Las Americas you could not get a better location. Breakfast is excellent, the rooms are quite large with air con and free use of the safe. Pool is great and also has a Jacuzzi at the pool area and always has a lifeguard on duty during opening times. Rooms are cleaned daily, staff are amazing very helpful and friendly and we will be going back in December this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rabmary,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

It is always a pleasure receiving such positive feedbacks and we will continue working hard on the research of new ways of offering our guests the best services.

We will be happy to welcome you again in December. Please, feel free to contact us for any special request, we will do our best to please you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    492
    160
    50
    25
See reviews for
299
846
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from one week stay at the Cleopatra Palace Hotel. This was our first time staying in Playa de Las Americas and we throughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very impressive and staff very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is just perfect. Lots of selection for breakfast and pianist added to the atmosphere. For the first couple of days we actually felt as if we were the only ones in the hotel as it always seemed very quiet (maybe the time of year), although we did see people around at breakfast time. Like other reviews, in relation to the standard of the rooms, they are absolutely fine, but are in need of updating. One wee tiny criticism - mattress - so hard. We heard that upgrading will commence soon. We took the opportunity whilst there to have a look at the Sir Anthony Hotel, which is part of the Mare Nostrum Complex and the standard was excellent with upgrading having taken place over the past couple of years, so if the Cleopatra Palace gets the same standard of upgrade that would be great. We would like to thank all of the staff for our relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room with a pool view and sunny balcony, absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sandra S,

It is you we must thank for your kindness sharing here your positive report.

I am happy to read that your first visit ended with a positive balance and hopefully we will continue offering the best of ourselves in future occassions.

As you have explained, we have had the chance to carry out a total refurbishment of one of the hotels before the beginning of the financial crisis, with outstanding results. We intend to do the same with the rest of hotels, bringing them back to the level we like them to be.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need regarding your next booking, we´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago so apologies for the late review.....better late than never! This holiday is up there as one of my favourites, and I have travelled to many amazing destinations as Australia and the USA. Awesome location right on the beach, most rooms have pool view rooms as did we.
Very clean, and bright hotel.
Loved the choices of pools and the relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast room was exquisite, surrounded with water fountains and statues, I almost felt I was first class on the Titanic!
I had suffered sun stroke on my last day and was given a private room after check out to to sleep it off, my friends were able to put luggage in the room with me. Very helpful staff. They even provided a cake with candles for my friends 21st...delivered to the room along with singing staff members.
Free sunbeds and towels at the pool was a treat.
Can't wait to return to be honest!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best and I enjoyed being on a higher floor due to the views and sweeping dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Katie M,

Thank you very much for your late but very welcome comments.

I can see that you keep very good memories of your experience at our hotel, which is something we really appreciate. I am pleased to know that we have been able to offer you such a good holiday and, as you, we can´t wait to welcome you here again to share with you our new services and facilities.

Don´t hesitate to send us your preferences and we will do our best to meet your requests.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

You will be impressed with this hotel, we were there on a bb basis, the breakfast is excellent, lots of selection and choice,fresh orange machine, coffee/tea pots, espresso and various other types of coffee machine, bottled water, champagne...you name it cannot fault!! there is even a Piano player every morning!
The hotel from the outside in is imposing and impressive in its style and decor , the reception with the black/white flooring, spiral staircases and the massive hanging chandeliers, make you realise ASAP on arrival that you've made a good choice
The hotel is peaceful and the service good. for a Large hotel it wasn't too busy and had we wanted beds by pool we would have had no problem at any time. Pool beautiful too.
Key cards Are used to enter hotel gates/doors and rooms, at one point ours went 4 times in 2 days and had to be reset At reception which is easy enough
The rooms yes are a little dated decor however still really nice ,they are very clean, bedding and towels clean and soft , good size balcony, double sinks,robes and slippers in rooms which are ideal to use, complimentary shower gel shampoos conditioner, shower cap etc and also a small fridge in your room which you can use, this contains water small bottle At 2 euro a bottle.
The safe and air con is free with no extra charges as is the wi fi ,this is good, as all other hotels you usually pay for safe/Internet!
Hotel is a perfect location for safari centre with fab restaurants and the prom walk.
You will not be disappointed with this beautiful hotel...enjoy!

Room Tip: All views seem ok, sea view worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear happytimes23,

I must thank you for the long time you must have taken to share here your detailed feedback about your recent stay. Your effort is much appreciated, mostly when your positive words are also an encouragement for us.

Although we are not perfect, we always try to improve our service and offer our guests the most relaxing and complete holidays. This is the reason why we keep analysing each suggestion or complaint.

In this case I am most pleased to know that your stay has been pleasant and I expect to continue offering you the best service in the future.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came home a week ago having spent 2 weeks here. I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at the Mare Nostrum Resort, but obviously they are doing something right as we return twice a year.

The location of the resort doesn't get any better anywhere as it has everything on the doorstep. The top floor rooms with private pool are a godsend as they are so private, and the ones with the sea view at the front of the hotel are a sun trap as they get the rays all day.

Being able to use the facilities of all the other hotels in the resort is a plus too. Whilst the Med Palace pool can be very busy and noisy the one at the Cleopatra is the opposite, being quiet and relaxing.

The staff in ALL the hotels in resort are amazing, most helpful and friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. They are to be applauded.

My only 'gripe' is that all of the hotels, bar the Sir Anthony, need some TLC and some serious money spending on them to bring them back up to par. it won't deter us, for the time being anyway, from going again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Pat B,

Thank you again for your complete and detailed reports on our resort.

As you described, the Cleopatra offers a more relaxing and personalised holidays, focused on those who are looking for peace and quality. This, together with the outstanding service provided by our staff and our location, is the main credit to this hotel.

We will hopefully soon be able to carry out the so demanded refurbishment and bring back our resort to the top of the hotelier pyramid.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 9 nights in the /Cleopatra from 16th - 25th April. We were upgraded to superior room on top floor which was just idyllic - a balcony to die for! We stayed on B&B basis and breakfast was great - no trouble with queues. The hotel itself and the pool area are very quiet but if you want a bit more life the Meditteranean Palace is close by. The Cleopatra is beside a lovely promenade, where you can walk for miles. It is also in the middle of the shopping area and beside lovely restaurants. The staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: When requesting room ask for morning or afternoon sun - whichever is your choice - as some balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Tereva,

Thank you very much for sharing here your positive feedback, much appreciated.

I am glad to read that the general balance of your stay has been positive and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again sometime in the near future.

I also thank you for encouraging other visitors to make requests on the type of room and location they wish, as this helps us offering a better service and more suitable rooms for everyone, which means a great advantage.

Do not hesitate to make the same for your next booking, we will be happy to meet your requests.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to the Cleopatra, it doesn't disappont. The hotel is well kept, the staff are great and the location cannot be bettered. There are more lurious hotels, but I think the location, an easy walk to Playa or Los Christianos can't be beaten, and for that matter, nor can the prices they charge. The pool area and breakfast more than make up for the fact that technically and being rather picky, the bathroom in our room could do with a little TLC. Overall, we had a great time at the hotel for 2 weeks and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Davidofwatford,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. Your loyalty is also very appreciated.

We are aware of the advantage of our location and we try to keep our services up to standard so that our guests can enjoy a complete and quality vacation.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.