We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quiet and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

have been staying here twice a year for several years and find it as good as anywhere elde on the island having called into several other hotels with the aim to try somewhere else just back and have booked for december

Room Tip: rooms on top floor facing east or facing pool ie floor74 and 94
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    418
    133
    43
    21
See reviews for
245
699
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel, very central close to all restaurants. fabulous breakfast. Clean rooms pleasant staff. we have stayed here several times and i would definitely recommend for couples. If you have a family the I would recommend the sister hotel ie the Mediterranean Palace.

Room Tip: there are four excellent lifts so whichever room you stay in they are easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I chose this place because it seemed to offer the most bang for the buck in terms of comparing pricing with the tripadvisor rating.

We enjoyed our stay; the rooms was clean and the maid very attentive to detail but also respectful of our mess (two males, what can you say !).

As others state, the breakfast is a little chaotic and takes some getting used to because its sooo busy, but I thought the food was alright and the machine-made coffee pretty good; the fresh OJ is indeed yummy !

The pool area is small but the Med Palace next door is much bigger and easily-accessible.

The reserving your sun lounger with your towel thing is utterly rubbish; the staff should pick them up if they're there for more than 40 mins with nobody using them, it was the one thing that really irritated me.

The piano/lobby bar was a nice place to have a quiet drink and chill at the end of the day.

Not sure its actually value for money but, if you want somewhere that's classy and nice to stay in Playa de las Americas, you don't have much option and this place is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location was the best we have had in Tenerife, our main critisim was the tired rooms which are in need of updating. Also we had to pay for the fridge this hotel is not cheap so we would have expected the cost of the fridge to be included in our room cost.
Cleaners did not clean until late in the afternoon. When you came back your room still not cleaned this was a bit annoying.

Room Tip: sea view 3rd floor, lower floors only view coaches coming in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Find it difficult to understand some of the more negative reviews on this complex. OK, there is a need for some updating of the rooms, but overall once again, everything was fine. Superior seaview room with plunge pool and pretty much 23 degrees plus every day. Helpful staff and great location.
Culturally Italy it is not (although the north of the island offers a great deal more in this respect), but to be able to get away in the depths of winter and enjoy the sun is what it is about for me.
Westfield with sun and beach? Sounds OK to me :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After october and november2012 we went back from 8 till 16 march 2013.
We had the same superior room which offers a very large private terrace..And is very comfortable(of course they are not brand new but that is reflected in the price !).
Reception staff is always very helpfull ,although sometimes they are very busy.
Breakfast is rather complete and product quality is very OK.We especially enjoy to take it outside !
We of course come to Tenerife 1/to enjoy the climate (~22°C,while in our home country it was -4°C !!!)
2/during our almost 30 year visits to Tenerife we tried a lot of hotels!An their are better places for shure.But for our use this hotel offers the optimal price /quality,since we like the environment (shops,beaches,Los Cristianos ,'promenade' etc.etc.
We prefer to come several times a year at this hotel than 1 time in a so cald top-hotel.
We will be back in october .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The prestige brochure billed this as playa del camison, no idea where that is but this complex is in Playa de Americas. The hotel is vulgar in its external decor in the extreme. It is surrounded at the front by posh shops so you could be in Westfield, dreadful. There were 4 pubs within walking distance, I think you get the idea. The hotel has no facilities, apart from a sterile pool and a piano n reception at night. Breakfast is broad in offering. The only other food was room service. They say you can use the facilities in the complex but the map is useless and there are no signs. We had a sea view room, dated but acceptable. The beach was busy so make a run for it after breakfast! Staff are really excellent and overall strangely not a bad experience.

Room Tip: You must have sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.