We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach Hotel For Fun In The Sun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach Hotel For Fun In The Sun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed in the hotel with my wife between 10-17 March 2013. Weather was Very Nice.

Once again we had a fantastic time at the hotel. We booked a last minute holiday and booked one day and travelled the next. I book directly with the hotel website EXPO who always manage to find us a room at a reasonable price.

We usually book a room on the top floor which are really big. They have huge balconies, outside plunge pools and a nice baths big enough for two. Due to the short notice of the booking we had to take a normal pool view room which was excellent.

The rooms are very clean and the housekeeping within the hotel can only be described as excellent. Our maid was great and addressed everything.

I think breakfast is great in the hotel with something to suit every taste and diet. I even noticed the hotel addressed the Gluten free diet requirements of guests.I must admit to being very fussy in respect of food and cleanliness and I state that I could find no problems.

The hotel is on the right on the beach. It is a holiday / beach hotel. Please do not expect a London style boutique hotel but you can be expect and guaranteed good quality and very clean hotel.
The rooms are very nice and very clean and the staff are just great. The reception staff manage everything so easily without fuss with check in and check out managed very quickly. The porters are a wealth of knowledge and always willing to assist.

The pool area is very nice and again very clean with ample sunbeds. The pool and surrounding area is quite stunning although I am not an actual swimming pool fan. The hotel is eye catching.

The hotel is located in a beautiful area right on the border of Las Americas and Los Chritianos. Great shopping, great bars and great restaurants all within five minutes walk of the hotel. The beach of Playa Del Camison is simply metres from the hotel.

In the Summer months the hotel has a huge carnival every week with live entertainment and drinks and foods from all over the world and BBQ style parties. It has free rides and inflatable activities for all children.
The live bands and music and laser show is great fun. They have a huge firework display that shakes the ground and lights the place up like mid afternoon.

Overall I really like this hotel and have enjoyed every stay we have had. I cannot imagine there being a problem that the management team could not fix out if you encountered anything that caused you a problem. There are some real horror story hotels and apartments in Tenerife.

After twenty years of travelling to Tenerife, three or four holiday per year, in my own opinion, I personally consider this to be one of the best hotels in the South of Tenerife when all the positive factors of the hotel are taken into consideration.

Remember that your holidays are just what you make them. If you have a problem discuss the matter. You might be surprised how easily what appears to be a huge problem can easily be rectified. Hotels want repeat custom and rely on recommendations from word of mouth experiences from their guests.
I cant imagine a problem that the management team at this hotel couldn't sort out for you if something just isn't right for you.
Happy Holidays
K & J

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very big with outside plunge pools are shower and large inside bath and separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    492
    160
    50
    25
See reviews for
299
846
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this beautiful hotel. Great location with a gate directly on to the beach. Standard room with huge bed and crisp linen. Lovely large bathroom with fluffy white towels cleaned each day. Great breakfast with everything from omelettes freshly cooked, freshly squeezed oranges, fresh bread and champagne to wash it down if you fancy it. All in all amazing quality for a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend it. Not sure if it would be great for kids as it is a bit sedate and seems more for couples but that made for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENERIFE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for a spa break in the sun for 3 nights last week.

I have given it a bad write up due to the simple lack of advertised facilities which were brilliant by their absence.

The hotel is big, clean, with nice rooms, although starting to look a bit dated in decor. The food was good, breakfast being much better than dinner. I wasn´t too pleased to see some of the russian guests helping themselves to food like the dried fruit and nuts with their hands, even though spoons were available.

The staff are all lovely, charming, helpful and professional. They cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

Our biggest complaint has to be with the management running of this resort of 3 hotels. Our hotel the Cleopatra had virtually NO entertainment at night. There is only one small bar area with about 40 chairs in the foyer of the hotel which opened in the evening around 7pm and closed at 12pm or earlier. At about 8pm a piano player appears and sings a few songs. He had a lovely voice......but was only there for about an hour or so. The main entertainment lounges for shows and so forth in the Cleopatra were shut all during our stay.

There is nothing else open at all during the day in the Cleopatra. No pool bar to purchase drinks, coffees or snacks. No vending machines either. Nothing. You could see that large sections of the hotel had been closed down.

On the second day after having a moan to one of the managers we were told that we could go to the 2 other hotels in the Mare Nostrom resort, although in fact unless you are a guest in the Sir Anthony your access key won´t work. Ours certainly didn´t, and after asking other guests it appeared that neither did anyone elses.........not that it mattered much as being the smallest of the 3 hotels in the Mare Nostrom Resort it was probably worse than the cleopatra for entertainment and bars.

During the day the Mediterranean Palace Hotel had a pool bar that served coffees, drinks and a few snacks and salads. In the evening the Mediterranean hotel had entertainment focused on the mainly elderly guests who waltzed around. One or two of the singers were rather good, others dreadful - it reminded me of being at Butlins in the 1960s.

The pool area in the Cleopatra was a disappointment - lots of towels on beds in the morning but no guests. If you don´t join in the "reserve my sunbed" game, you will find that after breakfast there is nowhere to lie down. We ended up in the hotel next doors! They had a better pool too.

The Spa treatments were good and the spa staff excellent. The installations need an overhall in the pool area of the spa as the ceiling has damp bubbles in the cement and looks like it might drop off any moment. The robes were rough and well worn. Not as nice as the La Quinta Park Hotel & Spa in the north of Tenerife, which is much cheaper with a newer spa area.

The manager I spoke to assured us that there were fewer facilities open as it was low season, but honestly folks!!! One bar for 5 hours in a 4 star hotel??? Please. Surely you can afford to employ a few more staff and open a pool bar during the day in the Cleopatra at least. Having to go from one hotel to the next just to get a coke is simply ridiculous.

Overall we enjoyed our short break but were glad we weren´t staying for more than a few days as frankly it was rather dull......and we are both in our 50s. We won´t be going back either as we felt we´d been conned by the publicity and advertising issued the Mare Nostrom Resort. Next time we´ll be going back to Puerto de la Cruz in the North and staying at either the Garoe Hotel or the Botanico Hotel, where you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went for a week starting 5 March.I liked the hotel,breakfast was fine,the room and the hotel are spotlessly clean.I would say this is a hotel for couples over the age of fifty.
No entertainment except for a guy that played the piano morning at breakfast and again at night.I began to feel like I was in 'one flew over the cuckoo's nest'.The pool was not heated and we couldn't use it,far too cold.Now you might think these are all negative comments and it might put you off going.If u want a week in the sun in a quiet place then go for it.One thing you MUST REQUEST is a room with the balcony that has the SUN ALL DAY.Our room was constantly in the shade,no good.Plenty of restaurants and cafe's about.We liked the Oriental gardens the best.Enjoy.Last thing,not suitable for kids,too boring.

Room Tip: You must ask for a balcony that has the sun all day as one of the bulidings is always in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My daughter and I booked a twin room at this hotel - on the beach and the main street but very quiet. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a suite with it's own terrace (with plunge pool, shower, sun beds and umbrella). It was all wonderful. We only went down to the pool to have a swim in the evening but it was a well laid out area with a huge pool (we could do proper lengths in it) plus jacuzzi and children's pool.The breakfasts were amazing - everything you could wish for and more plus eggs cooked to order. We had our lunch and dinner in the town. We loved the town as it has great restaurants, all good value for money from basic cafe style to top restaurants, and wonderful shops. The hotel itself is huge so is lacking atmosphere and is a bit tired re decor and furnishings. However all the staff were unfailingly helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. My daughter has visited this resort four times, twice to this hotel and I would be very happy to go back there in the future.

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't pay extra for a sea view but many people do and say it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the moment you enter the cleopatra palace hotel, you feel relaxed! It is the perfect hotel for all ages, young and old, from families to couples. We went b&b and the breakfasts each morning were lovely, lots of choice and very filling. The pool area is clean and tidy, and gets the sun all day. The staff are all very friendly people and cant do enough for you. The bar by the pool is great too if you don't want to head out during the day. Overall, loved this holiday and the hotel. Will definitely be back for a holiday this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The position of this hotel can't be beaten. Lovely sea view & direct access to the beach. A very
efficient check in & a clean & spacious room. Have stayed previously & like to be able to mix the accomodation by having lunch outside at the Meditteranean Palace & also some breakfasts there. Hotel spotless and staff very pleasant. Did not see a cockroach anywhere! ( despite looking!) Handy parking abvailable at the hotel with no charge. Food quite varied with very busy breakfast times after 9.00.

The smarterr part of Los Americas with some decent restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.