We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location but needs work on customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location but needs work on customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel complex is spectacular and its location is superb. If it was managed with attention to customer service then it could be great. The breakfast was really good with plenty of fresh fruit as well as breakfasts suitable for all nationalities and I was glad to find a machine which could squeeze oranges for fresh orange juice. Really the only let down for the hotel was its reception/customer service as the staff there did not seem to care about their clients and it came across loud and clear which put on an unnecessary dampener on our holiday. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis so did not try the evening dinner as it was quite expensive and did not look great (not the same quality ambience as other five star hotels we have stayed in but more like a buffet restaurant). The security cards that unlock the side gates give an air of safety and allow easy entry/exit along the beach front or towards the shops.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the nightclub if you prefer a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    491
    159
    50
    25
See reviews for
298
844
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I travelled with family for 14 nights bed and breakfast to the Cleopatra Palace. The price was very competitive as we returned on the 23rd December. The check in was quick and efficient, cases were taken to the rooms and a quick explanation of everything was given. The party were given rooms next to each other and as we were traveling with a 5 month old child a cot, bath and kids club towels were delivered to the room. A very nice touch.
As has been mentioned in previous reviews some tiding up of the bathrooms is required however they are spotlessly clean as are the rooms. Bed linen was changed every second day and towels could be changed daily if required.
The only meals we had in the hotel was breakfast which was the usual standard fare with a few additions that I haven't seen before for breakfast these included broccoli and carrots!!! however fresh squeezed orange juice was available.
You can use the facilities at the Mediterranean Palace which has a really nice swimming pool which is kept immaculately clean.
I am happy that we selected B&B as there are numerous good quality restaurants "across the road" from the hotel and in Las Americas as a whole.
The location of the hotel is right on the beach front. It is also close to some quality shops if retail therapy is required.
Usual extras like Wi Fi and safes were included in the price.
Overall this is a quality hotel a with very good service in an excellent location, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mediterranean Palace get the morning sun. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

having been looking 4ward to stayin at the clopatra we booked a supiriour room with plunge pool 4 3 adults we were givin a camp bed stuck in the corner there was no settee as shown on the pics the shower was old dated and rusty nothin like the supiriour room we expected , breakfast was awfull streaky bacon chips and sprouts good choice ov fruit and cereal the other guests were stuck up ther own arses wud not move or say sorry or speak spent most ov our holiday at the parque d paz the hotel its self is magnifacent but is nowere nere a 5 star hotel will not return also you have 2 pay for all extras gym spa is 16 a dAY not even a kettle in the room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed there with our kid (1.5y) - hotel staff war very friendly and helpful, they even had a bathrobe for our kid plus bath-toys. Room was located at the end of ta hall as far as possible form the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in a hotel that met all our expectations. I saw this place on some websites as a 5 star property, and that it is certainly not. For Spain however it is a solid 4 star. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The beds are firm but not hard like many on the Spanish islands. The shower was powerful and the water never runs out. There is a safe in the room which is free. We were in a standard room and this like all the others had a good sized balcony with table and chairs, which we enjoyed pre dinner drinks on. Some have mentioned a lack of tea making facilities, you can get these if you ask... We never bothered. We ate room service breakfast on the balcony in the sun every morning and at €4 for continental or €6 for a cooked + continental it was great value. Due to this I can't comment on the breakfast area. We never ate dinner in the hotel, but we did buy lunch from the snack bar and it was tasty as well as sensibly priced. The pool area had plenty of loungers and we had no problem Turing up every day and getting two. I have no idea what it's like at other times of the year. We found all staff in this hotel to be very well trained and good at their jobs, a big plus for the hotel in my opinion. I do have one complaint and it is the beach club associated with the mare nostrum hotels here. We ate lunch and it was just terrible. 2 different Pasta dishes which were not cheap, and were the worst we have ever tasted. If you just want a drink in a cracking spot beside the sea, it's great but seriously, don't waste your cash on the food.

The hotel is in a great location, giving you all that both pdla and Los cristianos have to offer, as both are a nice stroll away.

If we return to Tenerife we will surely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went here on the recommendation of friends and was not disappointed. I had wanted a superior room but none were available for the dates I was there but they offered to move us a few days later when one was...which I accepted. The normal room was fine, the superior room was just the ticket though...a large sun deck with three loungers and a (freezing) plunge pool saved traipsing down to the pool or worrying about getting a sun lounger. As it happens there would have been no problem with that anyway. The location is perfect for beach lovers and shoppers alike and there are enough restaurants and bars around for you never to have to visit the same place twice...although there were some in the vicinity that we liked too much not to go back. Room was cleaned every day and didn't have any of the problems a previous reviewer had. Some of the furnishings are probably a tad on the worn side but it wasn't really noticeable and to be expected. I have to mention the staff who were a real plus point for the hotel...from the reception staff to the cleaners to a person they couldn't do enough to help out and always had a smile and a hello for us...it makes a big difference and I hope that the management realise and reward that. One gripe? They turn off all the balcony lights at the same time and I like to read out o the balcony at night some times which I couldn't do...wouldn't stop me going back though.

Room Tip: There are three buildings so watch which side you choose. In my opinion higher floors were better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel would be very hard to beat! It has such a perfect location, right next to the beach one side and lots of shops the other side. I like it because it is so central, good for walking. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast was amazing! Something for everyone, from freshly cooked omelettes, hot and cold buffet, smoothies, fresh orange juice, champagne just too much to mention. Rooms were clean and well serviced. Staff were very good. My only slight gripe would be the pool is freezing! Went in it a couple of times but hated how cold it was. But for me it is the perfect hotel, and have booked for next yea already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.