We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remember this is an old hotel!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Save Saved
You added Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
falkirk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“remember this is an old hotel!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

back from a week at cleopatra/deluxe room with plunge pool/
check in with glass of cava very pleasant helpful staff/ explained the pool might not get much sun-she was right- we had large terrace with loungers /umbrella etc it was scorching but pool was cold.
large room welcome wine and chocs/fridge free safe but no kettle/ linens changed daily if you want and the room was spotlessexcept for the fact that she did not wash wine glasses.
baloons on door and chocs on bed on my birthday plus cake from restaurant.
there were a few worn tiles round pool and chips on furniture and it was noisy at night with band/singers at restaurants out side but we enjoyed sitting on terrace listening
beautiful main pool and public areas
buffet breakfast was plentiful always hot with an orange juicer and sparkling wine/only thing is it is self service so you fetch your own coffee pot
the property location is excellent with secure entrances/use your keycard
not enough parking but we got a space every day
we were worried after reading some reviews but if you remember it is not brand new then you wont be let down/would go back

Room Tip: top floor with own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    417
    134
    43
    21
See reviews for
252
709
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location, close to shops and beach. We were booked in B&B and the rooms are nicely furnished but disappointed that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (had to order room service which is at an additional cost) and you had to pay for the use of the fridge. Think they should review this, as this is not one of the cheaper hotels and very few people expect to pay for the use of a fridge in a 5 star hotel (understand the contents but not for the use). Apart from that the hotel was spotlessly clean, and secure, breakfast catered for everyone more than enough choice for even the most fussy of people. Only spent one day around the pool area, but didn't feel that there was much of an atmosphere so opted for the beach for remainder of holiday. The hotel is an ideal location if you want to walk to Los Cristianos (stroll of approx. 15-20 mins) and the same if you go in the opposite direction to Costa Adeje. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but didn't feel we were getting value for money so have booked a different hotel for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just got back from a week at this hotel half board. This hotel is in a great GREAT location, it is just steps away from the lovely beach and minutes walk away from restaurants, bars, shops. We had a pool view and after reading many reviews I would say this is definitely the most quietest part to have a room so I would opt for a room with pool view. We found our patio door would not look and although I was not too worried about it I felt the need to ring down to reception.as I didn't want them to think we had broken it! Within a few hours a maintenance man rang our door, walked straight in and fixed it there and then within about 30 seconds, great service! The food as most people are saying is very much the same sort of stuff but was tasty! I was impressed with the breakfast, you can have omelettes and eggs cooked however you like there and then in front of you. Plenty of choice too! On the Monday evening we watched a show called "Time Of Your Life" this was free and included a free drink by the Roman pool. I thought this was a fantastic show and was put together by the staff! I thought all the staff were extremely friendly and would do their best to help you whenever possible. I thought the Hotel could do with updating a little but was very very clean and the maid service was excellent. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Gentleman- ONLY long trousers when you eat dinner in the evening and get a room by the pool for peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall the hotel was fairly good. There was a good range of items on the breakfast buffet although some of them were a bit strange eg spring rolls, broccoli, spicy sausages, Chorizo sausages and even Brussels sprouts!Room was nicely furnished and laid out and reasonably clean although the one I stayed in was moving towards needing a refurbishment (8307).I thought that the reception staff were excellent and the room cleaning staff friendly and generally efficient. Breakfast team were a bit on the dour side but efficient enough and the pool area cleaning team at the Mediterranean Palace definitely on the grumpy side (maybe that was because I was always down there by 8am when they were trying to clean - so perhaps my fault!). Pool area was good with enough sun loungers and hotel was making a good effort to stop people reserving them hours before they were going to use them.People seemed to be enjoying the Music and Aerobics at the pool and it was not too intrusive if you weren't interested. Some of the older sun loungers were a bit uncomfortable and need replacing but plenty of tables and parasols. Public areas were bright,attractive and clean. Overall an enjoyable stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA17 5JB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hi we stayed at this hotel from the 2nd Nov to the 9th the hotel was great spotless room service daily our room for the money good but no tea or coffee making facilities! we had to ask for kettle and if you asked room service they would charge us 5 euros after buying tea bags sugar they could charge for using a fridge the best is still to come breakfast what a bad joke the water for a cup of tea or coffee never hot enough the actual breakfast never hot enough to eat the last two mornings my partner had cereal and fruit! by the time we got our plates back to the table everything was cold lovely food wasted!

Room Tip: rooms near main street too noisey we had to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here in Oct for a week, nice place but what a smell from the plugs in the sinks. Im sorry but its not worth the star rating. We went for breakfast one morning and the table was absolutely disgracefull, butter smudges, spilt suger and crumbs all over. We went b&b to Golf Del Sur in Tenerife last year and it was half the price and much nicer, in fact we chose to back there in April. We would of went back to Cleopatra Palace but to be honest between the 2 I would choose the 1 in Golf Del Sur all day long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The only plus point about this hotel is the location. Very central to restaurant bars etc. Our negitives are that the hotel is dated, net curtains should be binned - or at least taken down and washed! The beds are SO uncomfortable. There is no atmosphere around the pool area. The staff are 'just' about pleasant. We asked for an adaptor - had to call 3 times for one- eventually received one 6 hrs after the 1st phone call. For the star rating it is given we went into a number of other hotel and the difference was remarkably different. first time in tenerife and Would we stay at this hotel again ? no. Over priced and dated.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort)

Address: Avenida de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront hotel of classic elegance in a fantastic setting right on the world-famous Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, it offers guests comfortable rooms with antique Roman touches, spa relaxation with thalassotherapy and perfect tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Cleopatra Palace
Cleopatra Palace Tenerife
Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort) Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Palace Hotel (Mare Nostrum Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.