We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue and lovely food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant

Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant
Paseo Tarajal | C.C. Compostela Beach, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 78 94 66
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Barbecue, Tapas, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: With christmas 24th and 25th and new year 31th we do not have our regular menu, but a special set menu. You can find these set menu's with prices and more details on our Facebook page. When booked, please come by the restaurant when arrive on Tenerife to confirm your booking by paying a small deposit.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely venue and lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Friends has a lovely location which has a nice view of the beach. The staff are all very pleasant and not constantly harassing you whilst you enjoy your meal. The mixed meat paella was superb and had some great flavours. Had to wait a while but this was no problem at all as the food was beautiful and obviously cooked freshly as we were promised. Definitely the best paella I have ever had and I will be definitely back for another meal during the holiday. Highly rate Friends and would definitely recommend a visit, as it stands way above the standard of most other restaurants which are around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan v, Owner at Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello, the only way to make a good Paella is to cook it on order and with fresh products.
Good you enjoyed it!

Arjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    96
    26
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Bar & Restaurant in Tenerife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited "Friends" on 5 occasions with my wife and 3 grown up children. Service was always excellent and the food was amazing. All the staff worked to make our evenings very enjoyable and made us feel very welcome. Would recommend without hesitation. 5*

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan v, Owner at Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you FRIENDS!

Arjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great wee find the food was very good and a bit different. The staff are also very friendly and helpfull. They are not long open. But have a well thought out restaurant and the cheapest meal we have had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan v, Owner at Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Formula FRIENDS: Good quality for a good price and a friendly atmosphere...
Thank you!

Arjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Wish we had found this restaurant earlier on in our holiday! Food and service were absolutely great. My daughter is vegetarian so it is not always easy to find a restaurant who actually understands what she can eat apart from pasta and pizza. The stuffed peppers she had were described as amazing, my chicken skewers with peanut sauce were spot on. Presentation is clearly important to the chef and is a credit to the establishment. Would return without question, lovely setting and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan v, Owner at Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Persons with some kind of special diet are very welcome here and we´ll do everything to prepare them a good meal, even when its not on our menu.
Thank you!

Arjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The setting of Friends is lovely, overlooking the seafront. The food is average, More expensive that the other restaurants but the prices aren't reflective in the food. The presentation of the dishes is beautiful but the quality is lacking. Was very disappointed with my langoustine starter as it was coated in spice powder, took away from the simplicity of the dish. No mention of this on the menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan v, Owner at Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanx for your revieuw,

I´m sorry you did not enjoy our Langoustines starter.
We wanted to take the simplicity out of this dish by marinating the Langoustines with Tandoori herbs. It is 1 of our favorite starters, and our guest realy love it.

That mistake in the english version of the menu will be fixed today!

Arjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Lounge Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.