We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel Bitacora to your Saves list
Spring Hotel Bitacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“3rd time at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

Had a great stay again at this hotel, things to be aware of is the sunbed situation this is far the worst hotel i have stayed at where this is the case, food ok rooms clean but now looking a little tired

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    688
    220
    68
    33
See reviews for
957
697
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

Me, my wife and 6yr old daughter stayed at the Bitacora from 17th August 2007 for 2 weeks. Before booking we studied the reviews in depth. I wish to add the hotel is very clean, there appears to be cleaners everywhere, however I think the maid could have cleaned our room alittle better but all in all it was satisfactory. The food was excellent and I never missed a breakfast, putting the alarm on especially. Before travelling we emailed the hotel and upgraded to a superior room which was worth doing. Also, we stayed in the sister hotel the Vulcano about 8 yrs ago therefore applied for a Springs card which gives you a 15% discount on all purchases. You need to apply and receive the discount card before travelling. We saved about 100 euro from our final bill. The bar prices within the hotel is about the same as local bars, a pint of beer 270 euro's. The entertainment is very good and worth staying in the hotel to watch. My daughter loved the kids club, which consists of a mini disco from 8.30pm - 9.15pm each night, followed by a movie. On a couple of occassions we ate in the sister hotel the Vulcano, we you can swap meals between hotels. We also swapped our evening meal for a lunch, which is worth doing if you fancy a meal out at a local restaurant in the evening. We visited the Loro Park North of the island which was excellent, we booked a packed lunch from the hotelfor this trip !!! The location of this hotel is good. I've seen a few comments about the sunbed situation, I agree the first week was extremely busy and I needed to get up at 8.00am each morning to put towels on beds, I think this is a general problem throughout europe. We stayed the last 2 weeks of the english school holidays, as I was saying the first week was busy but by the second week most kids had gone home and the hotel was relatively quiet, I didnt need to get up to reserve a sunbed ! I would definately book the last 2 weeks of the kids holidays again. I would definately stay at this hotel again. If I was travelling without children I'd stay at the Vulcano which is more adult friendly. Upon finishing this review, I really would like to stress how polite and friendly the hotel staff are, 100% positive feedback for them !!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the hotel staff.
  • Disliked — Very busy the first week of a 2 week holiday.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, Northern Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Just back from 2 weeks here and can't wait to go back again. This was, by far, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The food was excellent, the service was the same and the staff were brilliant with our 2 kids. Always carrying on with them or just passing a friendly smile. For those that have booked here and are concerned about most of the reviews putting them off regarding the pool situation, forget about it. These people are talking nonsense. Yes, like any circumstance, if you want a "ring-side seat" go early but we went down after breakfast (around 9.30) and there were still approx 50 loungers left. We preferred taking them to the grass as it was literally 5 steps from the poolside, but gave you much more room to manouvre as the sun moved and meant you didn't get splashed every time a kid jumped in. Someone mentioned in a review about the food being repetitive??? We were there 14 days and I never had the same meal twice so again, nonsense. Some other guest mentioned in a review about the hotel being a haven for Scottish and Irish Council estate residents. Get over yourself whoever you are!!! Anybody that we met were just decent people enjoying their hoilday and weren't there to ridicule everyone else. Vist this hotel. You will not be disappointed and If you are then you would be best to stay at home and not go on holiday.

  • Liked — Everything. Couldn't find fault
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at the bitacora for 2 weeks after been there before 6 years ago and loved it! We arrived there in the middle of the night and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly! the rooms were an okay size and there was enough for a family of four however we found that the beds were not that comfortable. the rooms however the rooms are seriously outdated. the minibar was not deer. the pool is a good size although very popular. you have to get beds around 7 am if you want to get good seats. there is a lilo pool and a water slide pool too. There is quite alot of children in the summer months. the bar staff and reception staff are extremely kind, funny and helpful and i think one of the best qualities of this hotel. the entertainment was not great and alot of people go out at night time anyway. the location was superb! not far from the safari shopping centre which is great and the parque santiago 3 complex. there is 2 superarkets across the road which is great for drinks and snacks. the food at this hotel is FABULOUS!! there is many different options of what to eat and then dinner area is lovely. once a week they have a themed dinner and you get your photo taken with staff in their tranditional costumes. there are daily activites for the kids including sports and a large ball area. this hotel is very clean although i seen a cricket in the toiliets which frighten the life out of me! i would reccomend this hotel.,

  • Liked — The staff, food, cleansiness and location
  • Disliked — rooms need modernising
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed at the Bitacora for two weeks, this was our second visit in two years. We were all looking forward to returning after having a fantastic weeks holiday last year and moreso because we were staying for two weeks this year. All was great for the first week (except the shocking sunbed situation as per usual) however the second week was awful. Main problems being that there seemed to be a massive influx of guests most of which were very rude and arrogant. These idiots would put their sun loungers right at the entrance of the pools (both pools mind) making it very difficult to enter and exit the pool and yet they moaned when you dripped water on them when trying to get out, or you accidently splashed them whilst playing with your children. we were also so crammed in during the second week around the pool you couldnt even walk up and down some isles of sunbeds - getting to the loo was a joke and so was trying to get food or drinks back to your sunbed! The resturant became a disgusting feeding frenzy, people would push and shove you out of the way so that they could get the last chip or bit of icecream, and if you took time choosing your food you'd get tutted at! I dont think that i will ever return after this years experience or even stay in a hotel ever again (especially half board) we paid an absolute fortune to go to the Bitacora and i feel really disapointed!! Please dont let me put you off going there though, the staff are really friendly and responded very quickly when our 2 year old locked us all out on the balcony on the 5th floor!!!! (thanks to the lovely lady who raised the alarm you are wonderful - i still cry now when i think of what happened!!) The hotel is very clean but dated (it could do with a major re-vamp) the superior rooms have lovely views we could see both the pool and the sea. The food is bland and repetative but there is a great choice for all. Its location is great - far enough away from veronicas if you dont want the noise but close enough to walk to for a night out. The Parque la pas is a great little strip with lots of bars (english irish scottish) and two chinese resturants great for a night out and lots of entertainment! The only downside is the continual pestering from the chinese women selling 'cheapo flashing tat' that stops working the next day. if you have children BEWARE they are relentless (the same woman came back to us every two minutes despite being told no thank-you and we were trying to eat our meal, even my children started to say no thanks!!!!! The lucky-lucky men also hound you but at least you can have a laugh with them. Try and see Los Christianos if you can its like a different world its much more spanish and traditional than Las Americas and if you dont want to get harrased by the chinese woman go to the bars in front of Los Vistas beach at night the view is beautiful and you can watch the sunset - i would recommend Players Lounge (stairs are a bit steep though) they have some lovely cocktails named after players wives - two for 6 euros - a bargain!

  • Liked — LOCATION AND ROOM VIEW, VARIETY OF FOOD
  • Disliked — SUNBED SITUATION EVERYDAY AND CERTAIN RUDE, ARROGANT AND GREEDY GUESTS
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGOR NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

just back for staying at the hotel bitacora, superb hotel with very high standard , rooms cleaned daily, fluffy towels were great., food just incredible, the choice was amazing food well cooked and the desserts were the best , so much choice i leave dinner stuffed every night, the pool was good and the staff were great, the entertainment could have been a bit better, but the kids were well looked after evry night, we went on a few trips but the highlight for me was a trip to mount teide on the cable car 24 euros adult and 12 euros kids, looking down on tenerife from 2i/2 miles up is superb, weather as usual fantastic, be prepared to get up at 8 in the morning if you want a sunbed , but there is enough for everyone as there is two pools, but we found walikng to the vistas beach 5 mins from the hotels better as the breeze there was lovely, i have benn to tenerife 4 times and this is the best hoetl i have stayed at,

  • Liked — the food and location
  • Disliked — 8am sunbed rush
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Just spent the July fortnight at this hotel,yes food was good,rooms were clean but sunbed situation was a joke with grown men pushing women out of their way at 8.00am to make sure they got the spot they wanted no matter what.Manners were few and far between.Although the hotel was good we wont be going back to Tenerife,its a bit of a ripoff ,got a lot of taxis' and no two cost the same to the same destination,price of the drink in some bars was scarey(hugo boss for one),shops were not that good(all the same old crap).If you feel you have to go dont book with Thomas Cook they are rip off merchants and could'nt organise a booze up in a brewery.Make sure you miss the Abba tribute band and the Bee Gees if you liked these groups and make an effort to see Frank Sinatra.Seek out the Drifters(they were across the street when we were there)they really are good.Good place to eat all day long is Harrys American Pie, staff there are polite,quick ,speak English and the food is great. Dont forget "If you want to book it dont Thomas Cook it"

  • Liked — cleanlyness
  • Disliked — sunbeds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel Bitacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.