We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Tenerife finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel Bitacora to your Saves list
Spring Hotel Bitacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
nottingham
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“One of Tenerife finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

2 weeks 16th - 30th august 09 me, the wife & 15 year old son, my daughter and boyfriend booked just across the road in the Hotel Best Tenerife


The Bitacora is an L shaped eight floored building with rooms to both sides, one side overlooks the 2 pools and a panoramic view of the sea (which is classed as the superior rooms cost £210 extra for 2 weeks) the other side overlooks the Optimist hotel and a massive abandoned building called Tino’s which looks like it was once a pub/club/restaurant/ funfair/ swimming pool/crazy golf at one time, I was told it has been derelict for over 15 years? An eyesore to most but I found it fascinating, but I had a pool view.
We had room 612 overlooking the 2 pools the room was large and very clean , with a free safe (11 euro returnable deposit) mini bar (chargeable) and pool side towels with you could exchange for fresh ones daily , the was cleaned everyday , the double bed was massive (see photo) TV with English channels

There are 2 pools a shallower one with slide for the kids, with lifeguard, sun beds there was loads available, there was even a stack of about 50 waiting to be used (see photo)

Dinning room you where showed to your table, can’t really fault the food bit repetitive, but if you where to eat any same place for 2 weeks it bound to be, loved the salad and steaks, did eat out once in the blue Bombay Indian restaurant , very nice .


Not one for staying in the hotel for my evening entertainment, but there was various entertainers on every night, which strangely enough was inside in a massive area, but the few that where there did sit in the outside area, we did stay in the hotel on our last night due to flight times, and we where the only ones watching the entertainer (see photo)

The Bitacora hotel is two streets from the beach from the left and from the right due to the hotels position, it’s also in the better part of Playa de Las Americas.

The veronicas area is 10 minutes to your right (if your loaded , you’ll not miss it because you will be mobbed by PR’s trying even carrying you to there empty bars) and Los Cristianos 15 minutes to your left (once you have found the short cut).

All in all a very good time had by all , my only tip would be watch what bars you do drink in outside the hotel it can be very expensive and also very cheap , you could pay 9 euros in one bar then 32 euros (Buda bar just outside the hotel/linkers)for the same round !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    643
    205
    68
    32
See reviews for
884
633
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We have just returned from a fortnights stay at the Bitacora, we were two families staying with young children, despite it being our first time during school holidays where the numbers increase daily we had a great time. The hotel is very well maintained, with constant cleaning going on in all areas, the rooms are large and although I can understand some peoples 'old fashioned' comments, they were perfectly acceptable. There is a very good kids club open all day from 10 until 6 where there are activities all day, plus a mini disco each evening. The food was very good considering it was catering en mass, one point on the dining room though for the gents, long trousers must be worn in the evenings, this is despite the fact children and ladies are allowed to wear shorts, the hotel doesn't quite have the dress code right yet as it seemed ok to wear tracksuits and football tops but not smart 3/4 length trousers. Drinks are a bit on the expensive side but not much more than anywhere else at the moment with the Euro being as it is.
We had a car for the golfing so were able to tour the Island, I would recommend a trip to Los Gigantes which is a lovely nearby village where the boat trips will take you to see dolphins and whales and the views are spectacular, Jungle park is also worth a visit.
Weather was lovely for the full two weeks so the sunbeds were full each day, as with most overseas holidays you need to get up early to secure your place! One positive thing, at 11 o'clock each day the lifeguard removed towels from sunbeds when thay had been reserved but no one came to them!
Lastly before you go, get yourself a Spring card online, this will save you money at the bar and restaurant, you can get one when you arrive but you may miss a few days discount.
Any questions, send me a mail!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUNTY DURHAM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Excellent hotel, cleaniness, food, helpful and friendly staff -10/10.
As a family we could not fault anything, rooms very spacious and well maintained, hotel and pool/pool area immaculate. Food spot on-excellent selecion, well cooked and to a very high standard.
Would and will recommend the Bitacora to anybody wanting a holiday in Las Americas.
Our family holiday was made up of 5 adults, 2 children (11 & 8) and baby (1), and we throughly enjoyed it and all of us would go back.
We would like to thank all the staff at the Bitacora for helping us have a great and relaxing holiday

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the Bitacora, rooms were good size and cleaned everyday. Food was fantastic I could'nt think of anything they did'nt have at breakfast - the omelettes were superb, supper was also lovely, you could'nt fault the food. No inflatables were allowed in the top pool, only the lower one. We visited Siam Park & Loro Parque which were fantastic days out. There is a Sunday Market in Los Cristianos, don't accept thier first price be prepared to barter! The shops at the Safari centre are worth a visit especially in the evening when the light and sound show is on at the fountains. I would definatley visit Tenerife again and would recommend the Bitacora.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Me and the rest of the family of 4 spent two weeks at this hotel, and honestly it was the best holiday we have ever been on! The reception staff were brilliantly proffesional and friendly, as were all the waiting staff. The food was simply outstanding with the all you can eat buffet offering a great variety every night. The rooms were no fabulous and we had a few problems with them, however the reception were very good about these and had them sorted very quickly. The pool was unbeleivably well kept and were extremely safe. There was so much for everyone to do, including : Soft Supervised Play area, games room, as well as activities run by the hotel free of charge every hour (which, if you won, you would get a prize at the evenng presentation). This was a brlliant holiday and i would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

rooms are very dated !! not family orientated in a lot of guests eyes we spoke to during our 2wk stay.. very very strict at the pool with children , having the whistle blown at them for meerly playing !! , entertainment apsalutly horrendous apart from the odd 1 - 2 nights we was so bored on the eveings it was unreal - apparantly speaking to other guests that were there & had been before said the hotel had gone downhill over the years , previously it had good entertainment , better food and so on, we had no problems at all with the restaurant side it was amazingly clean with lots of choice too . this hotel is very pricey too ie. i smirnoff ice is 5e 30- compared to the shop across the road which most of the hotel was buyimg from was 1e 15. childrens cocktails which is pure juice's was 5e 50 apsalute extortionate !! also not keen on how childrens play area which is good but no security on signing them in & out they can just leave on there own accord which is not good !! had great days out at loro parque & siam park- both wicked !! we will therfore never use this hotel again & again the other guests we spoke too agreed that they will not be returning either . HAPPY HOLIDAYS .....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Enjoyed the hotel very central,good food. Only downside we asked for a pool view which we did not get and to upgrade they wanted 9 euros PER PERSON per night.
Also you were not allowed to use mini bar as fridge,but they will hire it to you. Best to cool your drinks in it at night and then change them in the morning or they will leave you a note saying you can hire the fridge.It was a good hotel and if you are looking for a good supermarket turn right outside hotel then left 200 yards uphill there is a new large supermarket. If you are looking for good pubs THE STRIP is nearby turn right outside hotel turn left turn right just after vulcano hotel 300 yards you are there.Another great karaoke bar is the star bar if you are looking for it get a taxi to the bouganville and it is acrooss the road, great bar you must try it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel Bitacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.