We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately improved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel Bitacora to your Saves list
Spring Hotel Bitacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Biggar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definately improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent a fortnight here at Easter and just back from another fortnight on 12th November 2013. Food as good as usual with a huge variety every night.Only problem as I'm sure I've said before is the cramped sunbed situation!!! Animation team is brilliant, Carlos is a wee star and are all very professional!

Room Tip: As I'm in a wheelchair room 38 was ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    690
    220
    68
    33
See reviews for
958
699
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Returned last week from an 11 night half board holiday. Had an absolutely fantastic time! I only have one major complaint which i will get out of the way first!!! As i have 2 children aged 12yrs and 9 yrs,the pool was a major attraction when booking here(we've been once before 4 years ago and had no problem), You literally couldn't breathe without being told off!!! Lots of families were constantly arguing with the vile lifeguards....particularly the woman!! No balls,no lilo's,no diving,no jumping,no anything!!! Even tiny babies in little boats were being told to get out of the pool...the only time any fun can be had is before 11am (before the lifeguard starts!) I had an argument with the female lifeguard as my son had dived in and she told me i was horrible...cheek speaking to guests like that!!! In my opinion it is health and safety gone mad....such a shame as i cannot fault the rest of the hotel!!! Rooms were gorgeous,cleaned daily...food was amazing with such a huge choice,staff friendly,entertainment staff were absolutely unfaultable....they work so hard and my children loved them!! If the management could resolve the pool situation and rude lifeguards this would be a ten out of ten hotel for me!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations. Regarding Pool and Lifeguard there is a strict regulation per health and safety , specially during school holidays , when a lot of children and parents are using the pools , out of school season Lifeguard is less strict as there are much less " lifes " to protect .And also I have to say that thanks to the lifeguard there are 2 children alive which were left unattended by their parents and she had to rescue 2 on the same day ...

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive holiday to celebrate our silver wedding. We had an amazing time. The Bitacora Hotel was excellent in every way. We had a pool view room which was spacious, very clean and it had all the amenities that we could ask for. All of the hotel staff were extremely helpful and appeared very happy in their work. Put us Brits to shame!
The restaurant for breakfast, lunch and our evening meal served high quality and a good selection of food for all.
During the day the entertainment staff offered types of activities for all ages. Carlos and his team had us laughing throughout the day, Bingo Bongo was especially good.
Evening entertainment as varied, some better than others, but you can't please everyone all of the time.
Some people have commented on the sunbed availability, we did not find this a problem.
We found that having to use your room card to order drinks was not a big deal and only ever had to queue for a short time if at all.
We would like to thank the Hotel Bitacora and all its staff for our brilliant stay and one day would like to return.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent two weeks, would tend to avoid school holidays as lots of children about on our first week especially if you are looking for a quiet time. A new updated playground has been built since last we were here last year but now is very noisy for anyone who has a room overlooking these facilities. All the staff give excellent sevice and the food was excellent if you could not find anything that you liked to eat for breakfast and dinner then all I can say is that you must be difficult to please. The entertainment was also excellent, especially the tribute bands and the group that played on the 60s 70s 80s night. If I had one small thing, that was not so good to say, would be that, we had a late flight from gatwick and did not actually book into the hotel until 01.30hrs, exhausted after a long journey. We had to purchase a bottle of water from reception but it would have been nice to have been left something in our room to eat and drink. We did have a packed lunch on one of the days that we went out, which was again excellent, its just a pity that something was not left in the room for guests that arive in the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms over-looking the pool area have the sun most of the day. childrens pool area can be noisy duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It was not a great start to our weeks holiday, my husband, myself, two sons (aged 17 & 24) arrived at 7 pm on the Monday only to be told that there was no room for us for that night and that we would have to stay at the sister Hotel the Volcano. Not great news, especially as when we got there we found out that the average age of the guests was 70+ and as you can imagine we stood out. We felt that we had been provided as entertainment to liven things up a bit as all eyes were on us. One guest told us that the Hotel is known as ‘Gods Waiting room’. Entertainment that night was ball room dancing!! So it was an early night for all of us.

The whole of Tuesday was spent living out of a suitcase waiting to move and we had no access to drinks as this was not an all inclusive Hotel, although we had booked all Inclusive with Bitacora.

In the afternoon we headed over to the Bitacora to see if we could get some All Inclusive bands and we managed to get them and found ourselves some sun beds whilst we waited to unpack. We got to our rooms about 4.40 pm – after unpacking the holiday began. But we of course were cheated by one day which is disappointing when you are only staying for a week.

ROOMS

We had upgraded rooms, overlooking the swimming pool, they were big, well appointed, very modern, comfortable and clean.

ALL INCLUSIVE

We agree with what others say about this, very frustrating trying to get drinks, long queues each time as they have to swipe your card and tap in the orders each and every time on the till, this is even if you just want bottled waters. Other Hotels we have stayed at have a sepearte area for you to pour your own Hot Drink and a separate fridge for you to acess water any time.

Also please note that on an all inclusive, drinks etc. finish at 12 noon on your day of departure, even if you have a late departure, this did not affect us, but we thought it a little unfair especially if you had not arrived until late evening at the beginning of your holiday as you were not getting full value for your money.

FOOD/RESTAURANT

The food is very good, there is always something for everyone at each meal time. The snack bar was very good too.

SUN BEDS

We agree with what other says about this, the sun beds in the best locations are reserved from 6 am (I witnessed this on many morning from our balcony). I refused to play this game as I was on holiday to relax. We had the last laugh though as on the Sunday it poured with rain from about 8 am and all those people who left their towels out at 6 am, ended up with very wet towels. You could always get a sun bed when you went down, it may not be exactly where you would chose (because the most of the Hotel at different times of the day was in the shade).

I agree with others, action needs to be taken by management to deal with this issue of reserving sun beds.

ENTERTAINEMENT

What a great team, day and night, they all worked very hard. We don’t ever expect much from a Hotel’s entertainment team, so we were pleasantly surprised at how good they were.

LOCATION

A great location within walking distance to the shops, bars/The Strip and the beach.

STAFF

All were very hard working, helpful and friendly.


We don’t normally come back to the same Hotel as they are so many to chose from, however we have been offered compensation for the room mess up and so we will be back, another part of the season and we will do 10 nights. Also in addition we particularly liked this Hotel due to the age of the guests as we found adults our ages and our 24 & 17 year old found guests their ages which helped to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel animation team made it for us, the effort they put in to keep everyone smiling was excellent, they also put on a Halloween show in which they involved the children and it was very well received by the audience. I recommend the Bingo with Carlos, 5pm on the pool terrace, very funny! The quality of the evening entertainment at times was poor and I’m referring to the acts brought in by the hotel NOT THE ANIMATION TEAM. Some of the professional singers could not hold a note, or sounded like they were singing the same song continuously. The children’s play area was very good but not always supervised and regular visits were required to check on the children. The process for obtaining drinks when you were ‘all inclusive’ was not the best, as they requested that they swipe your card key to process your order. This resulted in queues and also delays when you were being waited on by bar staff. This does not detract from the staff that were very efficient and smiley but it would appear that the new management of the hotel have made cut backs and my in-laws who stayed there last year, were disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanybydder, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our second stay all inclusive at the Bitacora as a family. The outside of the hotel has been almost entirely refurbished since our last visit. The location of the hotel is perfect, a few steps away from a nearby bus stop which regularly runs buses to both Siam Park and Loro Parque as well as other tourist attractions. There were enough pool-side sun beds, although the reserving of seats was an issue.
Carlos and the team of entertainers were fantastic and hosted a number of activities for both children and adults which are enjoyable to participate in. My OAP of a father thoroughly enjoyed the archery and bingo. The buffet available was outstanding, there is a variety of food to choose from and a seperate buffet for the kids. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Playa de las Americas. High floors for best views from 5th floor up.
On the downside evening entertainment was poor standard compared to last year. Waiter service was slow due to staff shortage and sometimes we had to wait up to 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Pool view high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel Bitacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.