We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel Bitacora to your Saves list
Spring Hotel Bitacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is our third visit to The Bitacora and yet again we had a fantastic time. So lovely to see so many people there again including staff members. Have nothing negative to report at this superb holiday destination.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for leaving once again a review regarding your stay at Spring Hptel Bitacra.

I am happy to hear your enjoyed your holiday, and look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future,

Best Regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    643
    204
    68
    32
See reviews for
884
632
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bitacora. This is a lovely hotel. It is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where I have found ALL the Staff to be really lovely. You felt as if they really wanted to help you when you needed it. We enjoyed the entertainment in the main bar in the evening. The first few days we found the service in the main bar really good until Cesar had days off then we found it took quite a while to be served and it wasn't particularly busy. The food was delicious and plentiful with a great variety. I will return to the Bitacora and would definitely recommend it. It's situated in a nice quiet bit of Las Americas but just two streets away, there's loads of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, we were on the forth floor which was a standard room with pool view and was ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your sty in Spring Hotel Bitacora.

I am so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and cannot thank you enough for your kind words toward our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soemtime in the new year.

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for once again leaving a comment about your holidays in Tripadvisor.

I am so happy to hear that this was the 4th visit in 2 years, and thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially toward our entertaiment team.

We look forward to seeing you sometime in the new year.

Best Regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Returned on 11/11/2012. we travelled as a family of four - 2 adults and two children 6 & 4 and we stayed for 12 nights. This was our 4th stay in two years and will most certainly be returning. The food choice and quality is fantastic. The staff throughout are cheerful and friendly and the entertainment team worked tirelessly - with a special thankyou to Tanya, Nene, Susana, Lucy and Marco each of whom were very enthusiastic and proffessional whilst hosting the day and night entertainment.
Looking forward to seeing you all again soon, and thankyou for making yet another memorable family holiday for us, from "Daddy" Dave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for once again leaving a comment about your holidays in Tripadvisor.

I am so happy to hear that this was the 4th visit in 2 years, and thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially toward our entertaiment team.

We look forward to seeing you sometime in the new year.

Best Regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from the Bitacora having spent last week there.

From start to finish the staff were lovely. Whether at Reception, Restaurant or Pool Bar, they were always friendly and had some banter. Table service in the main bar was slow but you can walk up to the bar and order rather than wait. We were told that we could only get 2 drinks at a time the first time we ordered but when we tried our luck again we got moe than 2. I think it depends who serves you.

Our room was massive with a huge bed, huge sofa (that has a pop up bed underneath), armchair and plenty of storage. The bathroom was spacious too. I did have to call reception to ask how the shower worked. The guy was up in our room (409) within minutes and solved the mystery. (You need to pull down the nossle of the tap to make the shower come on) We faced out to the front of the hotel with was fine but does not get the sun at all after 12 noon. Balcony is spacious with clean furniture and a drying rack for your towels. Rooms were cleaned daily and always before lunchtime.

The pool area is big. Sunbeds are crammed together though so love thy neighbour!!!!! ha ha We always managed to get beds together but I did notice that the same people were generally on the same beds everyday so they must get up thru the night to reserve them even though the hotel rules state that towels will be removed. I never ever saw this happen!!

We were All Inclusive and didn't have any problems. When we checked in we were given an A4 sheet with our instructions. My only gripe would be that Pool Bar food is not allowed for All Inclusive guests between 1-3 pm. You have to go to the main restaurant for lunch. Problem being that you then have to put your clothes back on over your swimmies when really you just want to sit, have a snack and get some time out of the sun. Drinks were all fine. Local spirits, no brand names that I could see.

The main dining room was clean and bright and we were always shown to a table. All self service with the exception of evening meal where the waiter takes your drinks order. Huge choice of food but signage isn't great. Beef, Chicken & Fish are about the only clues you get. I found the whole experience a little rushed by the end of the week though as there isn't much atmosphere in there so you just sit down, eat, then leave. Dinner was over within 20 minutes to half an hour. We ate out a few times to break this up.

Now for the only major downfall. The hotel public areas really do need modernisation. The seating area where the main entertainment is is not the most comfortable place to spend the evening.

But all in all we had a great week away.

Room Tip: If you like to spend time on your balcony in the sun then pay extra for the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Grant,

Thank you so much for leaving such an through and review regarding your stay.

In answer to some of your comments, all the rooms are being refurbished at the moment and the public areas will also have a facelift .

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday, and look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

Best Regards

Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed there on a big family outing a few weeks back. The resort is excellent, really well looked after and absolutely spotless. My experience of the hotel itself is very consistent with that of earlier reviewers, especially pip207. It's a nice enough hotel and we had a good family holiday there but there are a few things which let it down. Key points:

Good:
1) Rooms quite big and generally clean if a little tired. Most UK channels are available, including Sky Sports, but this actually died on the Sunday just before a load of big football games.
2) Staff generally helpful, if a little overly process based - they cannot deviate from their routines even if it could make the guest much happier - lack of initiative.
3) Entertainment is a bit mixed; good for kids with discos etc, not too bad for the grown ups.
4) Food is OK, if a bit plain and samey. Occasionally brilliant (especially the fish). Would have loved to have had more Spanish dishes rather than various meat and 2 veg options. And I'd like a bit more detail on the food than just "Chicken" or "Beef"...

Poor:
1) Routine with sunloungers is insane; they are all "taken" by 9 am; all covered in towels, but noone there. They need to address this.
2) They've cut a lot of corners/costs around drinks... I accept they can't have the 15 year old single malts available on the all inclusive but when they only do one beer and a couple of cocktails, that gets very tedious. If you order a drink that isn't on the all inclusive, they bring it over and the first thing you find out about the fee is when you have to sign for it. Ordering more than 2 drinks is a big no no, you have to go and re-order. The staff can only do one thing, either take orders, or bring drinks - they can't do both, even if it's completely quiet in the bar. And even asking for water needs a proper order with a room card to be produced - when you've got a cranky year old you're trying to calm down, you just want the staff to pass over a couple of bottles asap. Finally, there is only one bar open at any one time which means you have to go wandering around a bit.
3) Pool bar food is very, very plain - would you like chips or chips with your chips? The burger is made of unspecified meat. Reasonably tasty in a cheap and nasty burger van kind of way.
4) The hotel had no real plan or ideas if it's raining (which it was on a few days during our trip). So loads of people hung around reception surfing the web.
5) The Cava that comes complementary with pool-view rooms is terrible.

So all in all, a rating of around 3 stars is probably fair; a few little things could really take up a notch, particularly if their staff are incentivised to use their initiative. And please have some variety on the food and drink front.

Room Tip: wifi only works close to main bar reception & bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for leaving such an extensive review regarding your stay.
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments , both positive and negative, and the latter which will be really looked into by our Managemet.

We hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Bitacora on a future occasion.

Best Regards

Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from the Bicatora (spring hotel) 1st and last visit to this tired hotel, no way is it a 4* it would be hard pushed to make a 3*, the room was a superior overlooking the pool on the third floor a large enough room but so tired looking furniture etc. The bed was like sleeping on the floor this should with food be the most important peice of furniture in your room we pay enough money why cant we have a comfy bed. The air con was very loud we had to switch it off at bed time. The shower was broken water leaked onto the floor and ran into the bedroom, we were locked out on the balcony for 30mins because the handle was missing from the outside door and as soon as you closed the door it self locked. During our stay we had very heavy rain the hotel leaked like a seive the staff had to put blankets with empty containers down to catch the water on inspection of the places where the leakes were coming in the wood around them was rotten so they have had this prob for a long time. Why when on all inclusive would a hotel not include a pinocolada in the list of cocktails when it was cheaper than some that were included and woe betide you if you asked for more than 2 drinks I think they thought you were selling them to the people who were on half board we were there with my wifes parents, the food was a good selection you could find something to eat on all occations but after a week it started to all taste the same. I tried to get a topper for the bed as it was so hard but that met a blank wall no help at all from the desk staff. the pool and area was good so was the caffee by the pool with very nice staff running it what a shame the hotel did not have a ban on putting down towels to reserve sunloungers some people crept out at dawn to put down towels by 9am most of the pool area was reserved. would I return to this hotel NO.

Room Tip: go to a five star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for a taking the time to write your review and share with us your disappointment.

We take on board all comments, both positive and negative, and understand you will not be visiting us again .

Best regards



Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just spent one week at the Bitacora and had an enjoyable time. Room was large and comfortable with a good sized balcony. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and a varied choice , in fact the best hotel food we've ever experienced in Tenerife. We like to eat out but stayed in the hotel for 3 nights of our stay. The hotel is in a great central position for shops, bars,beach etc. The only disappointment we found were the sun-loungers , they were never tidied up at the end of the day and the mattresses were always in a bit of a mess. A bit more pride and care in the pool area is badly needed. Finally a tip for the girls , take your own hair dryer, the one in the bathroom is rubbish. Overall a very good hotel that we would go back to.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review regarding you stay at Spring Hotel Bitacora.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time. We thank you for your lovely words on the hotel and the friendliness of our staff .

We look forward to seeing you sometime in the not too distant future.

Best regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel Bitacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.