We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Faultless!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel Bitacora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel Bitacora to your Saves list
Spring Hotel Bitacora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Faultless!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have to say prior to me and my Fiancée going out to the hotel Bitacora I was somewhat dubious after reading some of the reports posted on here, however from start to finish it was fantastic and though we have never once in all our holidays returned to the same place twice we will definitely be back next year! The staff were excellent and friendly and always happy to help. We found the food excellent, very nicely presented and variable, also the wine and beer was to a higher quality than expected.
Most people were incredibly happy and had returned to the hotel for many years and understandably. The location is superb as it’s just a short walk from the lovely shops, bars, restraunts and beach.
I have come to the conclusion that some people enjoy moaning especially brummies’ who are not happy unless they have something to moan about. Ok it might not be ideal if you can't extend your room after 12noon on your departure day this is because it's a bloody good hotel and it's full plus you get 30 minutes to shower and change in a freshly cleaned courtesy room which you book on your last day so what’s the problem? Your stay ends at 12noon so does your all inclusive so what it's still cheap in the hotel and even cheaper if you go and have a mooch about and have a lovely meal by the sea for god sake you can get a pint of beer for £1.50.
A Holiday is what you make it and the Bitacora has HIGH STANDARDS OF CATERING CLEANLINESS AND SERVICE!
Last year we stayed in a 5 star Hotel in Egypt and the food was crap the service appalling and the surrounding area a dump but we enjoyed ourselves because we were on holiday. The Bitacora isn't full of ignorant tourist it's full of very happy holiday makers and a very very small number of whinging Brits who love a moan!

My advice is to go with an open mind have a lovely breakfast enjoy part of the day by the pool do the aqua aerobics( its hilarious we did everyday) have a venture out and get your bearings get back for a lovely early evening swim a quick change for dinner watch the sometimes naff entertainment but sometimes breath taking with a drink or three and then head on out to the strip and watch the brilliant rock band at the last bar or the folk music in the hole in the wall or get a few more drinks and sing your head off in the karaoke bar.If you fancy a more up market bar try Harry's but saxophonist who I expect is Harry is a bit pants. I'm from Manchester originally and love curry and the Indian resaurant The Blue something or other in the lovely bar complex rocks! ENJOY

A very pleased and contented and soon to return,

The soon to be Mr & Mrs J Grundy from Hereford!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    688
    220
    68
    33
See reviews for
957
697
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our 10th holiday to the Bitacora - very sadly, it will be our last. We have always raved about this hotel, it's staff and it's service but this years experience has forced us to change our opinion. The usual welcome at reception was no longer there-we booked to go with our daughter and husband and paid for superior rooms - not only were we not put on the high floor as requested, we were not even put into rooms next to each other and the sad thing is that the reception did not even care, despite when I went in January the staff then made a note on their system of our request. worse still for friends of ours, they were sent to another hotel for their first night as the Bitacora had overbooked-we later found out that this had happened to many arriving guests.
Whilst staff from prior years were still very nice, too many new ones were unhelpful and one in particular in the dining room (Euginia) was extremely rude.
Many tiles on the balcony were chipped and so too was our bath.
Of 8 lights on the bar patio, only 2 worked all holiday and the "customary" candles on the table were no longer there.
Service in the bar was slow and when you went to the bar to try and get served you were told to sit at a table and wait.
Whilst sitting in the bar at 10.45 p.m. the air conditioning was switched on making it uncomfortably cold.
All in all, a sad experience for one that has returned year after year, encouraged family and friends to book to come here-and they have.
I hate writing a negative report about a hotel we had come to call home (and raved about for so long) but the warm welcome and service have gone. It has gone from being wonderful to being past complacent through to "dont care" - if you dont like it, you can leave - as was heard being told to another guest by reception.
Sorry bitacora, up to this year you have been great but for whatever reason, that has gone.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking pool have a wonderful view, but sadly now, even paying the extra does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just got back from a week at bitacora thought the hotel was lovely we are a young couple with a 2yr old. Rooms were spacious with nice big balconies. Staff very friendly and helpful, great with kids especially Laura! Our son was besotted with her : ) great location very close to shops bars and beach. Could get beds round pool easily kids pool is great for young kids and older kids.

The food is a bit bland so we got tickets to eat over at the sister hotel Vulcano just over the road evening meals there are much better and more of a restaurant rather than canteen. We went half board so this was free and well worth it eatin in the same hotel all week is boring.

The niggles are
no kettles in the room for a cup of tea first thing.

No iron so you have to rent it 3 euro an hour

You have to rent the fridge

These are very small issues and would not put me off booking this hotel again . Overall we had an very relaxing week the resort is great and the beach was so relaxing and the weather was between 30 and 35 everyday !!! Can't complain at that at all ! !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 wk stay at the Bitacora, I was a bit apprehensive as some of the reviews have not been very good. We arrived before the room was ready and were quickly checked in and our wrist bands put on, so we could get a drink while we waited. The rooms are very roomy with plenty of storage, and I loved the bathroom. We were in room 319 which overlooked the front entrance, it could be a bit noisy with buses arriving but cant say it bothered us.( I always take ear plugs ) The meals were very good and I thought the breakfasts especially were excellent with a chef making omelets, and every thing else from bacon , sausage beans hash browns tomatoes to continental breakfasts. The cappochini out of the machine is great. Evening meals every night chef carving a different joint, plenty of fish. pasta, veg, chips, salad etc. It actually is about the only hotel I have stayed in that the food is reasonably warm. They have loads of different icecreams, cakes, tiramasu. rice pudding and cheese and biscuits. As we went AI the choice of drinks were wine, beer, soft drinks and water.
Lunchs similar to dinner or you could get a snack at the pool bar. We didnt use the pool so cant comment on that, but can say it looked very crowded with all the beds very near each other.
The evening entertainment was ok, nothing special although we enjoyed the Bollywood dancers and the magician. It is about 10min walk to the [prom, where you can walk to Los Christianos. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk up slight hill you can catch local bus to Adjece on one side of the road and Christianos on the other 2. 90 euros for two of us. We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and we didnt experiance any trouble getting drinks in the evening as some other reviewers have said, in fact we ordered coffee and the waiter asked did we want to order alcoholic drinks at the same time. The weather was brilliant which always helps, but we enjoyed our stay at the Bitacora and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms facing the pool are classed as premium rooms and cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We returned to the Bitacora this August after a gap of about 5 years since the last visit. I can't believe it but the food is even better than I remember - anyone who complains about the food is being extremely picky. So much on offer - roast meat every day, show cooking, English, Spanish and German dishes and good choice for kids. The hotel and room is kept very clean. Pool closed for a while on our last day there but that was because a child had been ill in there. They were very quick to clean up and and disinfect. Had the usual early start to get a sun bed on the first few days but after day 5 seemed to get better and there were spare beds to be had as long as you weren't looking for poolside. Think we were the only half-boarders there and we did not use the pool bar as the queues of all-inclusives getting their moneys worth was not worth the wait. Apart from that, the Bitacora is a brilliant hotel in a great position - loads of bars surrounding with a range of excellent entertainment and a lovely shopping area especially in the evenings where the area near the Strip comes alive in a flood of music and colour.

Room Tip: We preferred the room over the front of the hotel rather than the side which we had previously - if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The Bitacora is a lovely hotel situated in a great position. We were a couple, my daughter and grandson. Lovely pool for my grandson who is 3. No problems getting sun beds this time of year. Food is wonderful and the choice is brilliant. Staff are all very friendly. I can't understand how anyone can complain about this hotel. Remember if you do have a complaint it's the way you approach it. If you are rude to staff expect them to be rude back. We did not have one thing to complain about. We were all inclusive and I would highly recommend this for the Bitacora as eating out can be expensive. Reception staff are all very helpful. You can change your towels daily if you wish. There is a lovely play area for the little ones and some great evening entertainment for them. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Bitacora.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your Excellent review,

We feel really proud when receive comments as yours.

We always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience in Tenerife unforgetable.

Thank you so much!,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our first visit to hotel, really enjoyed it after a few issues to start with, paid extra for pool view, which we did have pool view, but room was right in corner where there is no privacy if you sit on your balcony, as you can see into the peoples next door plus it is not a great pool view..But apart from that was brilliant holiday, hotel nicely situated, staff very friendly, food a bit repetative. but you get that anywhere if you are there longer than a week..Now hopefully looking to book for next year....would recommend it to anyone...did not find the sunbeds an issue at all, always found one whatever time of day.... Liz and Mel

Room Tip: Not corner rooms due to lack of privacy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Recepción at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time in sending us your review of your stay
at the Spring Hotel Bitacora

It is a real pleasure for all Bitacora staff to receive comments as yours. We are very proud to have succedded your expectations.

We hope forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel Bitacora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.