We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Iberostar Las Dalias” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Las Dalias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Las Dalias to your Saves list
Iberostar Las Dalias
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Gran Bretana, 38679 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Iberostar Las Dalias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked the Iberostar Las Dalias for our honeymoon and arrived on 4th Jan 2013, it was a 20 minute journey from the airport but went by quickly. When we arrived at reception we were greeted with a glass of champagne and thought this was because it was our honeymoon however we realised it was offered to everyone who was checking in. We had booked with another couple and after checking in we got rooms next door to each other (with interconnecting door) but when we had booked with Thomas Cook we had told them it was our honeymoon and we requested a pool view and in the brochure it said that honeymoon couples would receive a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine on arrival however this didn't happen for us even though our friends had told the receptionist that it was our honeymoon all she said was congratulations and went on to deal with the next person. (My new husband had also emailed them before we arrived to let them know this also). The room we got was overlooking the main road so I was a bit upset as our friends room was exactly the same as ours and I felt that as it was our honeymoon we should have been spoilt a little bit :(. My new husband seeing how upset I was went down to reception to enquire if they could move us to a pool view room and they at first wanted to charge him for this however in the end they gave us room 125, it is on the ground floor and a bit of walk through 2 long corridors but it was lovely having the pool view and a bigger than room 445 that we first got. The room is slightly dated and the 2 single beds are a nightmare as they are on wheels and with a tiled floor you can imagine it was like bumper cars when trying to sleep. The cleaner comes round everyday and leaves clean towels and makes up the beds and tidies round. However the walls are paper thin and you can hear the people on either side talking and snoring. We also had no fridge in the room so you couldn't keep water cool or anything. Up the upside the food is great and has a brilliant selection we had one member of our party who is a fussy eater however there was something for them every night which was great. The staff are all very pleasant and the waiter service in the lounge is excellent they never let your glass get empty. The animation team (entertainment) are all brilliant we had such a laugh all week with them and they put on some brilliant shows in the evening and they work so hard so a big well done to them. Our friends are bought different wee things every night to celebrate with us and thanks to them for that otherwise it would just have felt like a normal holiday. All in all we had a good time but not sure if we would go back to Las Dalias again as I did feel disappointed in our choice of honeymoon as it didnt feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    834
    377
    108
    55
See reviews for
793
885
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last may with my boyfriend, it was our first holiday on our own, the staff were really helpful, the entertainment was really good , we stayed to watch it most nights. The food was really good there was a lot too choose from. The rooms were very nice up too date and very tidy. The hotel is situated across the road from San Eugenio shopping centre ( our room looked out onto this which was nice) and with Siam park within walking distance. I would definitely give Siam park a visit and also lorro park! The beaches are within walking distance and there is plenty to do on a night if you don't fancy staying in the hotel. On a whole this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and are even considering going back this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Las Dalias, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Amy,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff which contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning, the amazing entertaining program and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back this year!

Our kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Iberostar Las Dalias in January and from the reviews I was expecting a very good 4 star hotel. I could not have been more wrong - I think some people either have the optimistic holiday bug and go around with their eyes closed or live in a tip at home. It is never 4 star unless you desire salons, gyms, squash courts and a big shiny reception more than a decent clean and comfortable room of a reasonable size.

On arriving we were given a room on the 1st floor and on entering the room it absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke - myself and my partner both being none smokers, we were coughing as soon as we walked in. We should never have been given this room - certainly not without asking us first. We knew the smoke was too strong and would not be cleared however long we opened the patio door and so we went back to reception straight away and was offered the choice of another 2 rooms - one of which on the 9th we would have to pay an extra 12 euros per night for. Anyway we chose a room on the 2nd floor which was no extra cost but was a long way (3 long corridors) from the lifts/main stairs which was just the same as the first room but didn't stink of smoke.

We were staying on a room only basis and we had taken a few sweets and snacks with us and put them on the side near the TV. Within no time we noticed ants crawling all over this area - not just a handful but loads of ants. From then on we never we rid of them - it got worse they were in our bags, in a small travel kettle we had taken with us, in the bathroom and on our bedside tables. We even bought a large bag of wrapped sweets in cellophane from the supermarket to take home which we thought were unopened. However somehow we found hundreds of ants had found their way inside the bag and were crawling all over the sweets and we had to throw them away. My partner felt itchy all the time and was constantly wiping everything over with sterile wipes. This is a problem the hotel should have dealt with beforehand but obviously they aren't bothered - they would have known about this and certainly right at the start of our stay when we did not realise about the problem, we found the cleaner had tied a bag of sweets up we had left on the side and we only realised why when we saw all the ants - so they obviously knew about the problem but did nothing. We thought it would be a waste of time complaining as they obviously knew about it and you just get fobbed off usually with "you get a few ants here" but this was not a few. They are small ants - smaller than those in UK but still a lot of them and very fast. Not good when you have to sleep in that room also. I was thinking that it would be more appropriate if maybe the hotel changed its logo from a "starfish" to an "ant."

The rooms are very small and basic. They are also quite dated and not well cleaned - we have stayed in other 2 & 3 star hotels and apartments with larger, better rooms that are better cleaned. The corridors are the same and the carpets in the rooms/corridors are filthy and stained - you did not want to walk on them in bare feet. The cleaners do change bedding, towels and toilet rolls regularly but that was about it from what we could see. It was only a "superficial" clean and we found in corners, under beds, wardrobe shelves and the TV unit were dirty and had not been properly cleaned for some time. We went over some of it with wet wipes and they were filthy.

The beds are terrible and hard to sleep on - not comfortable at all and you have one flat as a pancake pillow per person to sleep on. We have slept in more comfortable beds in 2 star apartments in the past. We didn't sleep well because of this and due to thinking about all the ants that may be crawling all over you during the night.

The air conditioning is also very noisy in use and is not very good. It is the only one I have known where you cannot regulate the temperature. This is automatically set to cold during the day and warm at night (in January when we went) by the hotel. You can only regulate it by 3 fan speeds or off. We found it too warm at night and so couldn't cool the room so had to leave it off. We couldn't leave the patio door open either as the 2nd floor was on the ground floor at our side of the hotel.

Another complaint is that the hotel had recently brought in a policy of not allowing you to spend any cash in the hotel on anything such as drinks or food - even at the pool bar. You have to have it all charged to your room and then pay for it on checking out which we did not want to do. Hence we did not spend anything in the hotel as we like to know what we are spending and also how do you keep track of it? Another review I read said drinks had been charged to their room that they hadn't had. How do they know other people aren't charging stuff to your room - your plastic room card does not have your number on it and you are only given a small white piece of card with your room number hand written in pen on it. (Ours was scribbled out and changed anyway by reception when we originally moved rooms.)

All in all the only good things about this hotel are its great location in San Eugenio, Costa Adeje, the outside areas such as the pool and public areas such as reception and the bars which we saw but never used. Can't comment on food or entertainment as we never ate or drank in the hotel as stated earlier due to their policy of charging everything to room. Overall the hotel is way overrated in my opinion as the room standards are not acceptable and that is the most important thing and not the number of beauty salons or gyms the hotel has. Expected better of a 4 star hotel.

OBVIOUSLY WE WOULD NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN EVEN IF IT WAS FREE!

Room Tip: DON'T BOTHER - choose a room in a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Las Dalias, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Steve,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Las Dalias. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations, and we are grateful that you shared your experience, as this will guide us to adapt our services to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.

First off all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the exceptional difficulties with the ants. However, we would like to inform you that we do have in place an established infestation treatment plan and we have been working intensely on this specific problem of ants. We have in fact largely resolved this problem now. Given the vast expanse of gardens which provides our guests with a huge internal open space and the climatology of Tenerife, the presence of insects is unavoidable. In the punctual event of localizing an infestation in a room, our housekeeping department undertakes an in-depth cleaning in conjunction with an adequate treatment to minimalize the inconvenience.

Regarding the size of the rooms we would like to point out that we have different types at disposal and for your next holiday we would be more than happy to assist you in our call center to choose the accommodation that best suits you, as in Iberostar we offer many different types and rates.

For Iberostar thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case any lack is encountered. As to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area we will be enchanted to adjust any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

Also, we lament your deception regarding the house rules which prescribe charging additional costs to the room. As this is a company policy, we have passed your remarks to the headquarters in order to study the possibility to establish alternative ways of dealing with the extra costs.

Further, we regret you didn´t find your bed comfortable and we lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a suitable solution. We wish to offer a satisfactory night rest and therefore we have softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed.

On the other hand, it is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know that you were satisfied with our emplacement, facilities and common areas.

Hoping to may receive you again in the future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A good place to stay. Excellent choice of food, five minutes from the ocean. Personal is very good and helpful. The drawback is that rooms might require some renovation. In addition they charge everything they can: internet, locker in the room. If you do not have all inclusive they will also charge drinks at the dinner. Anyway these were minor problems and I did not pay much attention to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Las Dalias, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Alexander,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Las Dalias was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

It is unfortunate to hear that you got the feeling that we just want to make money from anything, so please allow us to explain why these extra charges exist. We want to be able to offer a wide choice in disposable services, but as we have studied the needs and desire of the average guest that visits us, we know that not all of them are willing to spend on items they consider unnecessary. Therefore, we established the method and policy of adjusting the price to the basic needs, while offering the possibility to amplify according to personal wishes and preferences. Like this everybody is welcome to decide for themselves which services they want to enjoy and pay for. We hope that this explanation clears the doubts you had, but we stay at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you might have on this or any other issue related to the planning of your next holidays with Iberostar.

On the other hand, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed many of our services and we will certainly congratulate the staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to meet our demanding quality standards.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tenerife.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just returned from the Iberostar Las Dalias. Have to say this was our best ever trip to Tenerife and we have been going for the last 18 years safe to say we love this island. The Hotel Las Dalias was fab, everything about it was beyond our expectations. The food choice and quality was of an excellent standard, the room was on the 7th floor but it suited us perfectly, all the upper floors are carpeted so no disturbance from stiletto heels, luggage trolleys, etc, just perfect relaxation. The pool area, the bars and entertainment offered were all first class. The hotel is located in San Eugenio which has an excellent shopping precinct almost opposite the hotel, but it doesnt impact on the quality of the hotel at all. I would definetely recommend the Iberostar Las Dalias to anyone, we are both age 65 but found that all ages were catered for, we will be returning to the Las Dalias very soon.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter location get a room on the 7th floor overlooking the landscape it was lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Las Dalias, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for describing with so much details our complete services and facilities. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Las Dalias, as it is very pleasant to see that with you we have made our goal to offer a really good and relaxing holiday.

Further, we feel proud and glad that you have enjoyed the prime pillars of our company. In Iberostar Las Dalias we find it important that you can delight your palate with local and international culinary highlights, that you feel comfortable in your room, that the surrounding areas are attractive and over all that you feel well attended by our staff. Client orientation and satisfaction through a personalized and individual service is for us the clue to surpass guest expectation and it is wonderful to read how much this contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “I would definitely recommend the Iberostar Las Dalias to anyone, and we will be returning to the Las Dalias very soon. “indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here in December 2013 as a birthday treat from my lovely partner.
The hotel is in a lovely location, very central and yet far enough away from all the busy disco type bars in Playa de las Americas. Bus stops are close to the Hotel for any pick up points to many Island trips or the wonderful Loro Parc which is a must to visit..
The staff in the Hotel are very Friendly and helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them to help with. Have also stayed with Iberostar Bouganville here too & that is another fantastic hotel in Tenerife, they are very close to each other & the main pick up point for trips is outside the Boganville. lots of nice walks along a safe beach and wonderfull all year round weather still wishing we were there...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here in June & enjoyed it so much we have just returned from another stay. We arrived late on 1st Jan to a very warm welcome from Anna on Reception, we had a quick check-in & directed to our room. We had a lovely pool-view, the room was clean, spacious as was the bathroom, just as I remembered. The A/C worked fine. We stayed on a B&B basis, the restaurant is lovely and bright, very clean & the staff are always very pleasant, the breakfast is of a good standard, everything from a cooked to continental, the pastries were delicious!! The pool area is kept very clean & there were always sunbeds to choose from, I did chuckle when I seen residents queuing up at 8.30am to get a sunbed!! There were a lot of all-inclusive holidaymakers staying but its not an option we would consider, we like to go out and explore the area. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, we will definately be back, see you again soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 3rd & 5th floors, the 3rd floor was thro from reception and the room was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Las Dalias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Dalias

Address: Gran Bretana, 38679 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Best Value Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Dalias 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Dalias is an all-inclusive hotel in the heart of Playa del Bobo focused on fun-filled, entertaining family holidays where guests can kick back and have a good time. On the island of Tenerife, a mere 550 yards from the Costa Adeje's pristine beaches, our welcoming family hotel features 404 All Inclusive accommodations in addition to a gym, children's activities, salon, reading room, conference room, and the most stylish and relaxing restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Las Dalias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Las Dalias Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Iberostar Hotel Las Dalias
Las Dalias Iberostar
Iberostar Las Dalias Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Las Dalias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.